We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazingly fresh Asian food in Manuel Antonio!”
Review of Ngo - CLOSED

Ngo
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Asian Take out and Delivery
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
137 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Amazingly fresh Asian food in Manuel Antonio!”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Keep in mind that this is an "express" restaurant, their business concept is FOOD DELIVERY, therefore they only have 2 or 3 tables for those who want to enjoy their food right there and DO NOT USE PLATES, only to-go boxes, and the place is located right beside a busy road (which is the ONLY reason why I gave them a "4" on Atmosphere), but on the other hand the owners ate extremelly friendly and a good chat is guaranteed! It was a very, very positive surprise. The food was certainly the freshest asian dish I had in months and the portion was HUGE and prices very reasonable. They have Vietnamese, Chinese and Singaporean dishes (among others) but no Japanese food.

Congrats to the owners, if you keep cooking such great food you have the potential to grow a lot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank J_Guilherme_R_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    38
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
43 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great chinese food”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Khang and Susan deliver fresh chinese food and some great smoothies. Friendly service and inexpensive. Limited menu but get everything right! Take out is a good option. If you want a change of pace from Casada's, stop by NGO!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San José, Costa Rica.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food & service”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

nice people, delicious food and great location. What else? oh right, inexpensive. Does anything else need to be said?

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tourism_reporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level Contributor
165 reviews
110 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Perfect place for tasty inexpensive meal”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

We stopped by here for lunch one day and really enjoyed the food and the company!
Small operation run by husband and wife team. The menu is very limited—but that’s a good thing—they do what they do well and they stick to it. Only one inside table. This is not your standard junk food Chinese take out, the chicken was very fresh and delicately fried almost like tempura--the sauce tasted authentic and freshly made. I wish I had known before our last day that they delivered to our hotel! Prices were around $7-8 per person, which was nice relief to our wallets. The owners could not be nicer and we enjoyed meeting them and hearing about their journey that has lead them to open this place. If you’ve had your fill of rice and beans, this is a great place to get a taste of Asian cooking.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rockmama12052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fantastic takeout”
Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

This is a refreshing place. The food is very good, the Asian food is uncommon in that area so a nice refreshing experience, and the owner is talkative and friendly. There are only two tables, this is mainly a takeout place. Very nice

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2opinionated_guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngo also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing