We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food and awesome owners!”
Review of Ngo - CLOSED

Ngo
Price range: $2 - $7
Cuisines: Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Asian Take out and Delivery
Detroit, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Loved the food and awesome owners!”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

My husband and I ate in at Ngo once and ordered takeout another night while travelling in December. We loved the spring rolls- very fresh and the peanut dipping sauce was amazing. We also loved the spicy chicken. The owners were very friendly and gave us some great travel tips and were knowledgeable about the area. We would highly recommend trying out this great place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ryan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    38
    7
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Vietnamese Style”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

This is a local take-out place. There's only one table, so plan on taking it back to your vacation rental house or hotel room. The Chop Suey and Chicken Wings are my favorites. They open at 11:00 A.M. and are closed on Thursdays.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Evelyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vallejo, California
Level Contributor
135 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Great food and owners”
Reviewed February 4, 2013

We had a great meal and the owners were very nice. They came to our table and gave us a sample of a smoothie which was yummy! The place is very small with three table. We eat by the street and were meeting many people which was fun.

The sandwiches are tasty and we will be back for sure!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Don B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Great price!”
Reviewed January 31, 2013 via mobile

Small little spot with limited seating. We got our food to go. I got the spicy chicken and my wife got the orange chicken. We also got an order of spring rolls. Everything tasted great and was very inexpensive. The owner was super friendly and we enjoyed chatting with him. Highly recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank dpleogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
120 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Fish dessert”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

The owner is a very nice person and received us very well.
We ordered the dish he recommended (a fish with citric sauce) and could not eat that because it was so sweet that it tasted like a dessert! Can you imagine a dessert made with fish??
Well, that's it. Next time, we will try a ChopSuey and maybe we can change our minds.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lilian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Susanheatherj, Owner at Ngo, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
I am so sorry your expectations were not met. Our sweet and spicy sauce is our best seller, however maybe it is not for everyone's palate. Had you mentioned it was not to your liking we would have happily changed it out for a chop suey at no charge to you, as we want everyone to leave our restaurant pleased with what they had to eat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ngo also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing