We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value in Manuel Antonio”
Review of La Cantina BBQ

La Cantina BBQ
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Barbecue, South American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Special occasions, Kids, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Ladera Ranch, California
Level Contributor
493 reviews
322 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Good Value in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This restaurant was within walking distance of our hotel. It had a jungle view.

The food was good and the portions were on the large side. Price wise, it was similar to most other restaurants we ate at in Manuel Antonio.

The menu has a wide variety of dinners to choose from. Members of our group had: Pineapple Chicken dinner, a Shrimp pasta dinner and fish dinners. Everyone liked their meals.

We went early and the service was good.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

460 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    154
    80
    32
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Don't waste time with so many other places”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Food was okay but nothing memorable. With so many other places to try, skip this one. Live music was nice but so loud, we couldn't talk (and we sat in a different room).

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank lisa c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Phenomenal Nachos - great barbecue”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

This is a great place - the nachos are amazing and everything coming off the grille - from fish to ribs - is delicious. The portions are very large, and by the time we had finished the nachos barely made a dent in our dinners. Would order less next time, but would definitely put this restaurant at the top of the list!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Horrible ribs, very slow and inattentive service”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

was recommended by a cab driver and our hotel staff to come here for 'Best bbq ribs.' Let me tell you: Don't waste your time! It took forever for our drinks order to be taken and even longer for the food to come out (pretty cold by the time they were served). The ribs were baked and tasted horrible- no flavor whatsoever. The bbq sauce was like water and did not even have enough salt. The meal was absolutely tasteless. Food here is not very expansive but sure is not worth the price. Recommend Garden Falls or Agua Azul for a romantic dinner with amazing food flavors and service.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NYCtime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
366 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
“horrible service”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

We came here because we stayed at the hotel across the street and it was raining, this hill area is all owned by the same place at the hotel Costa Verde I believe. The place looks good nice design big wood fire for cooking! The problem here was the 2 servers one male and one female
( the only 2 we saw there) whom were both very rude and unattentive! Short in taking the order never came back to qheque on us, when the food came mine was good, however my traveling partners was half cold! Then when finished the female finally came to take our plates we asked for take out boxes neither of us finished,she had attitude when I asked for 2 boxes so we didnt have to combine each of our leftovers! When she brought the boxes we asked for an after dinner drink, the bar is upstairs she went up and down 3 times and never borught ours at this pointe we were very frustrated we finally got her attention to come over and she said do you want something else..she didnt even acknowledge that she bever brought our drinks! Now more irritated and frustrated we just asked for bill and left! It was disappointing , the food itself was not bad the atmosphere was good its just both servers there really spoiled everything this night!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travelapple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Cantina BBQ also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Cantina BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing