We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for people with Celiacs Disease!”
Review of El Arado

El Arado
Price range: $7 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: If you are looking for an Authentic Costa Rican meal El Arado is your place! We have no hamburgers or pizza on the menu. Only traditional home cooked meals. Tell your taxi driver we are located on the old road to Manuel Antonio 100 meters south of the hotel Villa Teca.
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great for people with Celiacs Disease!”
Reviewed January 10, 2013

This place is right next to Hotel Villa Teca and has excellent food! I ate there everyday that I was in Manuel Antonio. The couple that own the restaurant are very sweet people and the wife who cooks most of the food is aware of gluten allergies and Celiacs. She mentioned that she has removed flour from her sauces. I had the vegetarian platter and the arroz con pollo there and did not feel sick at all and I am fairly sensitive. I definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    28
    11
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Fantastic and off the beaten path”
Reviewed December 23, 2012

This small, open-air, family-run restaurant is a wonderful experience for those who want a relaxed, delicious home-cooked meal. Rather than a printed menu, you can tell the owner/cook what you want and she will make you a complete meal with their fresh meats and ingredients. Secret tip: stay around and ask when the families of spider monkeys are expected - it's a wild experience.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SeriouslyEnRoute
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
28 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Best Costa Rican food and best food in last 5 years”
Reviewed December 14, 2012

Great authentic experience - great food and very reasonably priced. That's the way me and my wife felt yesterday visiting this place. It's not on the main road, but this place was reccommened to us and we decided to try. If you enjoy GREAT food go here, it's only 100 m off the main road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio NP. Holesome food, organically grown on their own farm. It's family own restaurant and the owners Ana and her husband are very friendly and warm people. We felt like we were eating delicious dinner at our friends house. Very simple decor, you seat on home built furniture right next to their vegetable garden. It was highly reccommended and we are happy to pass it on. Must try!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank yk387
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Local dining”
Reviewed November 28, 2012

You will not find white table cloths, air conditioning or fancy bar service but you will get terrific food in a very casual setting. It is basically home cooking in a slightly rustic atmosphere. Very limited selections but all seem to be good and prepared while you wait and watch the prep in the open air kitchen. They may not have everything on the menu but what you get will be fresh and local.

They do take credit cards now and the prices are still very reasonable even by local standards. Go and enjoy a local meal and just relax and enjoy it.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank teemor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off the beaten path but wow is it worth it”
Reviewed August 7, 2012

Bring cash, they don't take credit cards...this is a rustic hole in the wall where the husband and wife team do all the cooking. it is not tourist-y at all, the food is simple and so delicioso.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Arado also viewed

Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Arado? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing