We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great pick” 5 of 5 stars
Review of El Faro Beach Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
El Faro Beach Hostel
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pick”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Stayed 3 nights in June 2014 and was a plesant stay close to national park entrance and short stroll to the beach, it was cheap for costa rica, lots of packbackers and the restruant out the front had epic breakfast deals plus 20% off for all hostel guests!! Bonus

Room Tip: Pay more for Aircon you will not regret it! very humid
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank felicity c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    32
    29
    25
    28
See reviews for
2
48
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Good value for price!
Close to the park and the beach.

Very nice atmosphere in the communal areas of the hostel. The swimming pool was very clean and with plenty of sun beds around.

Bathrooms were pretty ok. Sizeable shared kitchen with the basics, although people's food in the fridge was stolen all the time and somehow I doubt about the guests itself (who knows).

They've different types of rooms the more you pay the more you get, but it's still pretty ok if you're on a budget.

Thank you very much :)

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desirete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ciudad Colon, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

I decided to "book" this place because the other recommended hostels were already booked for private rooms; I say "book" because by the time I arrived we had no reservation in the suite I called twice to confirm. They only had a private room with shared bathrooms, as a courtesy the front desk lady gave me a $5 discount... my mistake, I should have gone to another place.

Pros of this place: nice pool, nice common areas, very convenient location towards beach and park, free wi-fi.

Bad: The rooms are terrible!!! The walls, if you can call them like that, are really thin. You can hear absolutely everything from the other room.... EVERYTHING... when they are having a conversation at 12 am you can join them, when someone snores you can hear it right next to you, when people are partying at the pool at 2 am you can hear that too. The room floor has stains of paint, beds are bunks like in the army.

Definitely not a good choice

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Piscataway, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

This was our least favorite hostel of our trip. We don't require much and thought that we could skip the AC and just have a fan, but since the room was on the second floor it was like a sauna. It was impossible to stay in the room while the sun was up. Maybe if we were on the first floor it would have been more bearable. The bed sheets looked old and dirty. Bathrooms were ok although there seemed to be a lack of toilet paper. Luckily we brought our own. The outside area was cool and had a pool. The plus about this hostel is that it is right at the entrance of the National Park.

Room Tip: If you stay here get AC.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

My husband and I like simple, cheap hostels, but even we had a horrible experience at this hostel. I received email confirmation from someone about my booking, and when we arrived they had "no space for us on the second night". The receptionists are sweet but very unprofessional, and unable to problem solve.

The beds are VERY uncomfortable, and more expensive private rooms have no perks for the price. The bathroom was not clean, and needed many repairs. Any time I made a comment about something lacking, I was met with an indifferent attitude.

The second night we were moved to one of the new luxury apartments (because they had no other space) and were woken up at 6am by the construction workers. Again, there was no competence when I mentioned this to the staff.

The pool is nice, and the location is great, but we would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Our room did and I have heard that all of the rooms have terribly uncomfortable beds. The only nice...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gillian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
Dear Gillian,

First off, thanks so much for staying with us. Second, I want to apologize with you about the service you received from the front desk (where by the way, we´ve made some staff changes already)...

We have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during your check in due to an human mistake we were overbooked for the next day, however we solved you this issue with a free upgrade to a room with ocean view, AC, private bath...

I would like also to mention these aspects that this particular guest forgot to mention in his review and we hope our future guests can understand:
Our hostel is located door to door to Manuel Antonio National Park, and its privilege location is a great plus to spend comfortable vacations walking to the Park or to the beach anytime. The hostel has also a great pool, communal kitchen, free and fast WiFi, and nightly movies.

Pura vida!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmares, Costa Rica
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

We stayed two nights in the dormitory for women, and we loved it! Of course it is an hostel so our expectations were not high. They had a lot of bathrooms and showers that they cleaned all the time so that made us feel so much more comfertable! The atmosphere were great with an open and well equilped kitchen and a big pool were people were hanging all the time so you could get to know people easily!
And the location was amazing!! Close to everything! Whatever you do, do not live on the way between to manuel antonio from quepos! Its a mountain between the villiges so choose either to live by the beach like this hostel (because there are stores and nightlife on the beach all the time) or in quepos with more stores and nightlife (but less atmosphere). There are buses between these villiges all the time so you wont have a problem getting around! And its really hot here so you want to live close to the water!
This hostel shows big screen movies over the pool that all the guests look at, and great movies to, which really bost the whole experience!
The only minus could be that the beds are a little bit hard, but hostels are not for sleeping in anyways ;)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sofiafiaia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We truly appreciate your comments about the hostel. It means a lot to us that you noticed how kind our staff is, our facilities, our closeness to the main beach ( walking distance) and of course to Manuel Antonio National Park, the cleanliness (housekeeping service), the free communal kitchen...

There is nothing more motivating for us than receiving feedback like yours to continue providing services beyond our guests’ expectations!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leiden, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

This hostel had the dirtiest beds we have ever seen. The sheets were covered with stains. Because it was after 10 pm, we had to get the guard to come and have a look. He brought us new bedsheets, which had holes in them and were too small (for one person only). The mattress itself was disgusting. After complaining again, the guard showed us to a new room, which was better (a larger room with clean bedsheets). However, due to very thin walls, we didn't get any sleep at all. There was just too much noise. The day after we went to a different hotel because we could not stand another night here.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dutchiesrule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diego E, Manager at El Faro Beach Hostel, responded to this review, February 24, 2014
We apologize that we were not able to satisfy your demands!

We are now taking actions to buy new sheets.

I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacations at this incredible and wonderful country!!

We want to tell all our Tripadvisor readers that if there is a way we can make your stay better, we kindly ask that you inform us while you are in the hostel, as we are more than happy to accommodate you in any way that we can.

Warm regards!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#23 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 272 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#10 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#27 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 stars 498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 stars 688 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#14 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 stars 1,301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to El Faro Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about El Faro Beach Hostel

Property: El Faro Beach Hostel
Address: | Next Door to Manuel Antonio National Park,300 Mts from Restaurante Marlen, Manuel Antonio National Park XQP, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
El Faro Beach Hostel is conveniently located within steps from the entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park and only a short walk to Playa Espadilla (the main beach). We have an outdoor swimming pool and several common areas which provide a great place to relax and have fun with fellow guests from all over the world. We offer both private rooms and dorms with hot showers and a fully-equipped guest kitchen. Manuel Antonio is a mecca for the adventure seeker whether it is sportfishing, ziplining, whitewater rafting, sea kayaking, horseback riding, ATV tours... our friendly staff can arrange it all. It is also a haven for nature enthusiasts with all the flora and fauna and wildlife in the park.On-site we have our restaurant, the "Funky Monkey", which serves both local and international flavors from 6am to 10pm daily... including beer, for a great price. Also, we have a nightly poolside movie feature (and yes, we will take requests on what to show). We are the only hostel in the area with our amenities AND a great location. Please feel free to contact us with any questions or if there are any special arrangements you should need. We are here for you and to ensure your time spent in Manuel Antonio is the best it can possibly be. Other amenities:• WiFi • Swimming pool• No curfew• Lockers• Nighttime security guard• Free parking• Tour information• Snacks and beverages for sale• Fully-equipped kitchen area• Pura vida!!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your El Faro Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
El Faro Beach Hostel Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing