We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Experience and super friendly and knowledgable guide”

Nature Specialist Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: I am an artist and a self employed, free lance, certified nature guide with 15 years of experience working in Costa Rica base in Manuel Antonio. I am passionate about painting, birding, conservation and sharing Costa Rica's rich wild life and habitats with others. I am pleased to offer you a warm welcome to a country of peace and friendship.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience and super friendly and knowledgable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2012

Me and my girlfriend visited manuel Antonio in the 2nd week of December. We booked a private tour with the Nature Specialist to view Manuel Antonio Nation park. It was a great experience. He was knowledgable about everything including the wildlife, plants, fauna, and flora. Super friendly and really helped make our experience worth while. He carries around an ipad to show you more detailed photo's of what you can see through his telescope. Not to mention he will help you take up close pictures of the wildlife through his telescope! I would definitely recommend the Nature Specialist. He's the only guide I know, that carries mini speakers and animal noises on his iPod to help lure out hiding wildlife!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    5
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida
1 review
“You must use Roy!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2012

My husband and I took our first trip to Costa Rica in October. We booked a tour with Roy ahead of time and we were extremely glad we did! Roy met us on time at our hotel. He took us through the park and we were able to see the most wonderful animals, which included 3 different types of Monkeys and both types of Sloths. We would have missed the majority of the animals if it was not for Roy. He also brought his own high tech standing binocular for us to see the animals up close and clearly and he helped us take perfect pictures of the animals to help us take the memories home. Roy also brought material with him and was able to give us extra details regarding different animals and plants which we requested additional information on. Roy was extremely knowledgeable and takes pride in his job. You can tell that he loves all parts of nature. He also gave us excellent advice of other activities for the area and restaurants that we should not miss. We used multiple guides throughout our trip and by far Roy was the best. You must use Roy for a guide, and while visiting the park a guide is a must!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ash11112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
60 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Excellent experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

We visited the Manuel Antonio area in July - sorry for this late review. I found Roy on Trip Advisor and was not disappointed that we booked with him. He took us through the park and helped us to find the most incredible animals as well as helped us to get wondeful photos of them. I do believe that he has a 6th sense in finding just about any animal in the park. You could not be disappointed with any tour with Roy. His knowledge of and love of his land is incredible. In addition to the Manuel Antonio tour, Roy also scheduled a tour of the Mangroves and an ATV tour.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank qtpi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Take a guide!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Manuel Antonio is a national reserve, so the entrance fee is relevantly low. So, I suggest to come early, opening time, and hire a guide for a 3 hour tour. The reserve is small and you see lots of wildlife! In addition, there's a beutifull beach, safe too- no dangerous currents- paradise. Bring a pineapple and eat it on the beach. Watch your stuff at all times- there are monkeys that steal everything.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank OrenRaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friendly and knowledgable guide”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

We really enjoyed our tour with Roy. He took extra time to make sure we saw everything we wanted to see. He even lead us to a troup of Cappuchi monkies after the tour was supposed to be over. It is clear that he loves his work, his family, and life in Costa Rica. We took him for lunch at his favourite local restaurant Marlins and it was delicious. We saw pictures on his phone of his artwork and he is very tallented!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca_dason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
naturespecialist, Owner at Nature Specialist Tours, responded to this review, August 26, 2012
Rebecca, thanks a lot for you review, here there will always be open arms for you and your husband. I Love nature and will always love to share ours with you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nature Specialist Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Nature Specialist Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing