We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Learned a lot”
Review of Mountain Adventures Canyoning - CLOSED

Mountain Adventures Canyoning
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Canyoning is a multi-sport adventure where you move through a canyon finding a good stream or waterfall and sliding down it! Rappeling, Jumping into pools below waterfalls! Having a great time in the canyon!
Denver, CO
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Learned a lot”
Reviewed June 24, 2012

You don't spend a lot of time actually rapelling. Only four rapells and swam at the bottom of the waterfalls which was awesome and refreshing. We spent more time driving to and from the rappelling area then actually the tour itself. The lunch was one of the best meals we had while in costa rica and the guides also gave us a mini spices tour when hiking in between rapells (oregano, anise, lemongrass, henna, vanilla, cocoa) which was really neat. It was a great tour but I don't know if it's worth $80 per person... We went zip lining near arenal for $65 for which was in our opinions way better.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank SaraMaeZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
40 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“A wonderful adventure”
Reviewed May 12, 2012

We were a bit nervous about this on, both of us in our 50's after all, but it turned out to be an amazing trip. The drive up is bumpy, but the scenery and small villages takes you closer to the real Costa Rica. The guide, Jido ( I am sure I am spelling it wrong) was great. Safe, smart, and always asking if we were okay and enjoying the adventure. We do wish we had brought a waterproof camera or even our phones in plastic bags! As the photos would have been wonderful to have and there was no photographer as the brochure advertised. We did go in May and were the only two on the trip, so that could have been why. Also, the lunch that was served was wonderful and traditional. One of the guides Mother cooked us fresh fish, order the fish! And made us traditional pineapple juice with rice.

If you like adventures and trying new things this is it!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Khakijo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mountain adventures is the one!”
Reviewed November 24, 2011

If you want to do some cayoning in Costa Rica, this is the one to choose! They are experienced and they love what they do. The difference is that they really enjoy watching you having fun!

Visited January 2011
Helpful?
Thank Claro6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tubac, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best time in Costa Rica”
Reviewed September 6, 2011

I can't say enough about this experience. First off we were picked up at our hotel in a banana truck. We were then driven through the jungle on a 4x4 Indian Jones style road. That in itself was adventure. We then hiked through the jungle and started rappelling of waterfalls. The guides were excellent, friendly, knowlegeable, and professional. It felt very safe. After our rappelling adventure we were taken to a tree house style restaurant where one of our guide's mother cooked a delicious meal for us. After lunch we were driven back to our hotel on the same road. This is a must. I will definitely be back. Worth every penny.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank nacuna82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AWESOME!”
Reviewed August 8, 2011

... the scenery, the rappells, the guides... AWESOME! I've done this tour twice and I will surely go again! Muchas gracias y hasta muy pronto!

Helpful?
1 Thank Fuemse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mountain Adventures Canyoning also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing