We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Book this fabulous house NOW!”
Casa Mono Congo
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Casa Mono Congo
3rd floor Terrace Wheelchair accessible
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Casa Mono Congo
3rd floor Terrace
Wheelchair accessible
lush gardens
Handicapped Bedroom
Handicap accessible bath
Bedroom 2 (also wheelchair accessible)
Bath 2
Bedroom 3 (jungle view - with ocean thru trees)
Bath 3
Master Bedroom Ocean view
bath 4
Terrace Bar
View from Terrace Bar
Living Room
Kitchen breakfast bar
Dining Area
Dining Area
Private 27' x 9' pool
Pool and main floor terrace
Pool terrace view from jungle bedroom
Water Fountain and Zen garden/sand box
Stairway view watch monkeys play daily
Adventure Tours - guest photo
Family gathers around pool
Friends and family dine on terrace
Guest wedding on beach
Bride getting ready
Kids love our pool - sitting areas in and around
Mono Congo (from stair window)
Howler monkey from terrace
World class Sport Fishing rated 2nd best world wide
Fresh seafood at all restaurants
Two-toed sloth from pool terrace
Armadillo in our garden
White-faced monkeys visit daily (from bar terrace)
getting a drink from our pool
Endangered mono titi (squirrel monkey) drinking rain water around pool
Mother with baby on our railing
playing at the pool
Who's here - checking out the neighbors on our railings
Out for a stroll
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
4 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lois M
Cincinnati
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Book this fabulous house NOW!”
Reviewed April 8, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

If you want a great house manager, a fabulous house and an entertaining monkey show every day, then definitely visit Casa Mono Congo. While some people we met had their first sighting of monkeys and other wildlife at Manuel Antonio National Park, we saw them pretty much every day when they came to drink at our pool.

When we arrived, howler monkeys were hanging out near the house, and in the following days, we had visits from both squirrel monkeys and capuchin (“white-faced”) monkeys. We saw a wide variety of other wildlife at the house as well, including many geckos, several toucans, a woodpecker, bats, a raccoon and a beautiful yellow flycatcher – not to mention more insects than we can count (some of us weren’t thrilled by the insect variety, of course, but bug spray was very effective in keeping the biting bugs away…).

The service from Maykol, the house manager, was excellent as well. When one of our tours did not pick us up on time, we called him. He drove to the house and personally took us to the driver. He booked all of our tours for us (including horseback riding, white water rafting, ziplining, a mangrove tour and a catamaran tour) we had a good time on all of them. Of course, hanging around the house was fun as well – the pool was the perfect size for our seven- and nine-year-old.

We would recommend getting a car, as it is a long, steep walk up from the house and then down a windy road to get to the beach. There is a bus available, but it would have been a bit of a hassle with two young children. The drive to Quepos from the San Jose airport is actually pretty easy (and only about 3 hours) if you have GPS.

In a nutshell, we would return to Casa Mono Congo tomorrow if we could, and we are definitely recommending it to our friends. This vacation is going to be a hard one to top.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the daily monkey shows
Liked least: the mosquitos (which were of course everywhere in Costa Rica, not just at the house)
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jusyt2
Greenacres, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“magnificent. 20 on a 10 point scale!”
Reviewed February 26, 2014 for a stay in November 2013

what a marvelous place
the whole house opens in both the front and back if desired (a garage-like-door for nite)
no bugs. but a perfect view of the jungle, the ocean and oh those monkeys!
beds were unbelievably comfortable as was the rest of the house. each bedroom had a very large bathroom, a deck and a flat screen TV (which we never used as there was so much to do!
there was a maid/handy-man and another fellow available to help you get where you needed to go. Absoutly a no stress vacation
PLus: we met the owner, which i was dying to meet and see who was the person who designed this wonderful place!!~He was charming and so full of tales to tell.Made my trip!

Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
solardiet...
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love, love, love!!”
Reviewed December 10, 2013 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

What an amazing trip we had to Costa Rica and Manuel Antonio! Our stay at Casa Mono Congo certainly made that happen! My husband and I have been to CR 4 times, and this is the first time we brought our children. We have a 4 year old and an 8 month old and couldn't have pulled it off without the wonderful accommodations at Casa Mono Congo!
It was so nice to have a place to call home! We shopped for food in San Jose and Quepos and were able to stock the kitchen for the entire week we were there. Of course, going out to eat is part of the Costa Rican experience, but eating in was so easy!
Not only was the house beautiful, the views were breath taking and the monkeys were more fun than we could have imagined! By the other reviews, I assumed we'd see a few monkeys in the trees each day, but that was not the case! On a daily basis, around 3pm we would be visited by the Titi (squirrel) monkeys in droves! We counted at least 20. And oh, no, not only in the trees, but all over our open air balcony! It was amazing!
Mykol, the manager warned us not to leave the doors open if we weren't around or the monkeys would steal our bananas, so true! We went upstairs for a short time, came back and banana peels and little monkeys were all over! We learned our lesson!
The Capuchen (white faced) monkeys would also come by daily, but were a little more low key. They would walk around the railing, dip in the pool and just watch us. Even though they didn't, I believe they would certainly steal our belongings if we left them unattended!
We heard the howler monkeys in the mornings, but were only able to spot one up in a near-by tree.
The house itself was so nice! The four rooms were large all with king beds (very comfortable), walk in closets and full beautiful bathrooms with walk in rain showers.
The location was at the top of the hill on the road into Manuel Antonio, so the view was absolutely breathtaking! We made a point to sit and have a drink on the upper level of the house every day!
Mykol, the caretaker is very helpful and will assist with any questions you have or with setting up tours. There is also a housekeeper, groundsman and night security present daily.
We had a car and found that the best way to get to the beach. The main beach in MA is only a five minute drive, but a pretty long walk. Plenty of free parking along the side streets (don't get conned into pay parking, it's not necessary). I walked home from the beach one day, it is do-able, but quite a hike uphill with no real sidewalk and some crazy drivers!
The beach is absolutely breathtaking, one of the most beautiful in the world. The main section of the beach is filled with people trying to sell you items and food. If you walk down the beach either direction, you can be free from saying "no gracias" the whole time!
We did a canopy tour, which is always fun and explored the National Park one day. If you are big into bird watching, you may want a guide, but we found that we saw much more wildlife outside the casa than those on tours did. There are two gorgeous beaches within the park, so be sure to bring beach gear for that!
I could certainly go on and on about how wonderful all of our vacations to CR have been! Feel free to email me with any questions, I'd love to help!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Monkeys and the view
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AR
Reviewed August 23, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta
Reviewed March 4, 2013 for a stay in January 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Minneapolis
Reviewed February 11, 2012 for a stay in January 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Luxury-minded travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
MN
Reviewed October 26, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check in / front desk Service
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 45-54
Would I recommend this vacation rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing