We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Excellent Service”

Falls Garden Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
Cuisines: Fusion, Seafood, Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Waukesha, WI
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Food and Excellent Service”
Reviewed February 10, 2014

We stayed at the Falls Resort and ended up eating at the on-site restaurant for most of our meals and were not disappointed. Everything was wonderful and great service!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank lovetheflkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

367 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    84
    23
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice option in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've been to the Falls a few times and enjoyed breakfast, lunch, and dinner on different occasions. The wait staff is very friendly and attentive. They have a nice salad option (which is sometimes hard to get in Costa Rica) and I love the sweet potato chips. My family all ordered the hamburgers last time and said they were good. I have also heard that the pork tenderloin on the dinner menu is delicious. I hope to go back and try it soon!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaLovinLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
86 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Great value for breakfast”
Reviewed January 30, 2014

We stopped into this restaurant for breakfast based on location to the villa we were staying. They have a breakfast buffet for $8 and you basically choose a few items to go with the laid out buffet. We chose to order skillets but since they cost $8 we were able to help ourselves to the buffet which had juice, coffee, pasteries, toast, and cereal. The bacon is not your typical American bacon and resembled more of a ham steak. Though, it was quick, service was great, and a decent breakfast for a decent price. The fried plantains were delish!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ERCLADY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not What We Hoped For..”
Reviewed January 28, 2014 via mobile

We arrived at Falls Garden with great anticipation based on a strong recommendation from a friend and the many enthusiastic reviews on TA. Unfortunately, we were disappointed. The room, itself, is open, pleasant and not too crowded. Tables were busy which led us to believe we were in the right place. However, we soon noticed that only one server was working the entire room and the busboy was doubling as the bartender. We are confident it was not the other way around because of the poor preparation of two out of four drinks ordered, including a disastrous preparation of "Mojito Madness", a frozen concoction and one of the restaurant's signature cocktails. It was served as a liquid with crushed ice and not the "slushy" consistency of a " frozen" cocktail. In addition, the mint had been run through the blender, too! The finely chopped mint leaves floating on top of the liquid drink looked, according to one of our group like "pond scum". The Frozen Daquri was also poorly prepared, more liquid with crushed ice than of shlushy consistency. No matter how much we tried to explain our concerns about the drinks, we were assured that they were as described (not) and no effort was made to repair or replace them. This was compounded by a lack of coordination between the kitchen and the bar so that appetizers (gazpacho and tuna sashimi -- both very good) arrived long before the mangled cocktails. Of the four entrees ordered, two were very average, one was served in error and had to be corrected, and one -- shrimp tacos (actually a second appetizer selected as an entree) -- was deemed "outstanding". Towards the end of the meal, our beleaguered server, Louis, recognized we had a difficult meal and so provided us with a single dessert to share --- vanilla ice cream covered with chocolate sauce and served over a warm blonde. It was a very nice dessert and a nice gesture on his part. Overall, we left disappointed. A nice room, an attractive menu, reasonable prices marred by inadequate staff and an inconsistent kitchen. Maybe we just hit a good place on a bad evening.

Helpful?
1 Thank Jack L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Amazing food & awesome service!”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

We ate several meals at the hotel and they were all great! The staff is among the friendliest staff I've ever encountered. They were all outgoing and would point out various animals that were on the grounds to see. Our son ended up getting sick with an ear infection and Luis (a waiter) knew our son was ill and asked about him every day and on our last day he even prepared a "magical" tea from scratch to help cure his illness :) This was the only restaurant on the entire trip that had a separate children's menu. Would highly recommend this restaurant because not only is the food excellent you can not beat the staff!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marci P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Falls Garden Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Falls Garden Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing