We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Holiday at Jungle Villa”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jungle Villa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Jungle Villa
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Holiday at Jungle Villa”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

First I'd like to say that we really enjoyed our stay here. This was our second time to Costa Rica but our first in the Manuel Antonio area. We came for the holidays with our kids ages 23, 22, 19 and 18.
We celebrated two birthdays while here as well as Christmas. We enjoyed the area and the house. It was definitely in the "jungle" and we had so much fun the with monkeys everyday. It really is a nature house so if you are looking for Ritz accomodations it really isn't the place for you. We enjoyed hanging out on the verandas and the pool area. We were walking distance to many restaurants (even though we did a lot of our own cooking) and the sport bar was right across the street. We were over there quite a bit. We used the bus for getting to the beach area which was very close by.
We would go back if we travel this area again...enjoyed being outside.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Beth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    7
    2
    2
    13
See reviews for
20
4
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

while manuel antonio can get overwhelmingly touristy, the jungle villa is both close enough so that you can be part of the action and secluded enough that if you actually feel like youre in the jungle. The place is extremely animal friendly, and we were lucky enough to be visited by monkeys 3 times during our 1 week stay. The rooms were clean and spacious, and Ad went out of his way to make sure were were comfortable and safe during our entire stay. I sincerely hope I get to come back to manuel antonio and stay At the Jungle villa again!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Лиза К
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgewater, New Jersey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2014

Our family stayed there for four nights. This is the second time we visited Costa Rica. I booked this place through airbnb.com and paid it in full (over $110 per night) in advance and was not refundable. It took us over 30min to find this place after we drove (with the exact coordinates on our GPS) there because there is no single sign on the gate. We asked a realtor to locate this place for us.

After check in, Ad took us to the room downstairs. On the way to the room, we were greeted with piles of junk. My 8 year old asked me if we had to stay there. My wife was really upset and accused me why I booked this place. After getting into the room, we smelled the bad odor immediately. The bath rooms were even worse. The towels were torn. Luckily we brought our towels for the beach. So we used our own towels for both indoor and outdoor, never used the towels from the villa. You can see for yourself from the uploaded pictures.

The next day, I checked the property and took some pictures. After seeing the sign (Villa for sale), we know why. Since they are trying to sell property, they don't want to spend a penny and just want to make as much as possible. They do have three pool (two tiny ones and one a little bigger), but my kids refused to swim there since they are too dirty (see photos). During our 4 days there, we didn't see anyone swimming in the pools.

After this unexpected experience, we tried to spend as much time outside this villa (we call it ABANDONED JUNK YARD) as possible. The surrounding national parks and beaches are beautiful and it helped us recover from the initial shock.

I was going to make some suggestions to Ad before I saw the On-Sale sign. If a little more maintenance is done, junk removed and better towels provided, it could be a good place to stay. I am not complaining ants in rooms or mold in the corner because these are expected in a jungle.

On the last day, we did see many monkeys on the property and we consider it a happy ending. I absolutely DO NOT recommend this place to any one unless you want to donate some money for the owner's retirement.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatureLover2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Every day we asked these guests, like we ask all other guests, whether everything was ok. Robert and his family never had any complaints.
The villa has plenty of towels so just one question had been enough to solve this. Not something you have to wait for till after you leave the villa.

Every guest gets before arrival the website address of our location with aerial pictures, GPS coordinates, Map location and text description how to drive to the villa
from San Jose airport. This is public information and can be found by anyone searching for Jungle Villa location.

Since 1999 we never had any burglary in the villa because we do not have signs!! No other villa in Manuel Antonio can claim this!
But indeed you have to check our location page to find this very privately located villa.....
No other private villa in Manuel Antonio has a 80.000-gallon pool which is cleaned 3 times a day.

Our biggest problem with these guests was the language problem. This family spoke Chinese and only the father and 1 child spoke English very poorly.

It would be very stupid not to maintain a house anymore because it is sold. A well-maintained house sells a lot faster than a non-maintained house!!
And the extra maintenance are easily recovered by a higher selling price.

In short, had the communication with this family been better during their stay, they would have had a much better experience in this unique villa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels

Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We were booked to stay here for a few days.we never stay.the rooms smell and the only good thing I could say about it was we had a chance to look at the rooms 1st..and also the owener said he didn't have a dollar to change for his 49.00 a night stay so the price would be an even 50.00.a night.and yes the owner was very rude

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Arthur H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
margaritacr, Owner at Jungle Villa, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
I can only repeat what guests told me who stayed the past days and 2 more days in the Jungle Villa and who I read this strange review: If you visit Costa Rica for its nature and animals, you will be missing out on a great experience by not staying in the Jungle Villa.
Such a remark has more value for me than the opinion of a few people who only stayed in this beautiful and unique villa for 5 minutes and never stayed here......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just returned from two weeks in Costa Rica, traveling with kids and friends (8 people total). The Jungle Villas was our favorite place. The kids spend every moment we let them in the pools, and the grown-ups enjoyed both swimming and chilling out on the veranda. We made most of our own meals in the open-air kitchen, and when the kids went to sleep we stayed on the veranda and emailed pictures back to our jealous friends.

And then there were the squirrel monkeys! Adorable, endangered, irresistable. They visited nearly every day. There were also sloths, howler monkeys to wake us up in the morning (who needs an alarm?), little lizards and snakes, birds and more birds -- much of what you visit Costa Rica to see, just buzzing around us at every moment.

Ad is a lovely host, always available but never intrusive. We enjoyed every minute at the Villa and are grateful for his hospitality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MsMaryQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashua, New Hampshire, United States
Level Contributor
86 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

Ad makes his beautiful jungle home a welcoming haven for families, couples, or anyone traveling.
The house has an interesting unique layout that allows for easy mingling or quiet thought. The pools are truly beautiful with 3 levels and a waterfall.
We saw more wildlife in the jungle surrounding the villa than we did while hiking in Manuel Antonio.
Ad, himself, is usually around not bothering anyone but easy to approach. If you ask he can direct to any activity that may interest you. He can tell you where to find hand rolled cigars, a pharmacy with a doctor for a child with swimmers ear, and the best place to get glasses/contacts after you loose them in the surf. A cook an be arranged for you, shopping can be down for you. There is daily maid service and a functional kitchen. Ad will tell you about the 3 grocery stores, 1 for the people that live there and is the least expensive, 1 that is also mostly local but has some nice extras and one that is mainly for tourist and has (at tourist prices) all the comfort foods of home.
The pizza place directly across the street will deliver or you can walk and eat there,the pizza is excellent! El Avion the airplane restaurant is also walking distance, pricey but very good and a must see. We walked to several other place but the there are no sidewalks - be carful

in short every member of our 2 families consistently picked Jungle Villa as the best place we stayed

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Jungle Villa is absolutely gorgeous. The pool is large and was great for the kids in our group. Every view from the hotel is either of jungle or ocean. Monkeys come through the open deck and community kitchen area periodically, which was amazing and fun. The most beautiful place we stayed in Costa Rica. The owners were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Baileymcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Manuel Antonio National Park
0.7 mi away
Las Cascadas The Falls
Las Cascadas The Falls
#18 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel California
Hotel California
#29 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 405 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
Tabulia Tree Hotel & Villas
#6 of 18 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
MyCasa's B&B
MyCasa's B&B
#3 of 18 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hostel Q' Tuanis
Hostel Q' Tuanis
#9 of 26 in Quepos
4.0 of 5 bubbles 87 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Flor Blanca
Hotel Flor Blanca
#4 of 18 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Villa

Property: Jungle Villa
Address: | Pacific Canyon Drive 1, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 34 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Very private rooms in a great villa in Manuel Antonio with ocean and jungle view, visiting monkeys, 3 pools, airconditioning, wifi, cable tv, 4 rooms, 2 staff.Paradise resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio where Ocean, Jungle and Western comfort meet. Truly the Pearl of Manuel Antonio. You love nature, you like to wake up with the sound of the monkeys in the trees around the house and with the smell of fresh coffee. You like to hear the sound of the jungle and its many inhabitants. This is the only villa in Manuel Antonio with 2 full-time staff members in daytime to maintain the villa and pool area and to keep it clean. If you love pure nature, this villa is the perfect place for you. You will never live and sleep closer to Mother Nature than in the great Jungle Villa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Jungle Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Villa Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing