We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Knowledgeable and great for families” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Costa Rica Jade Tours

Costa Rica Jade Tours
Manuel Antonio | Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica
2777 0932
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Jade Tours is a local tour company in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We offer the best activities and tours to help make all your vacation dreams come true. Contact us so we can help you discover the most exciting adventures and exotic treasures from this spectacular land. You may never want to leave!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable and great for families”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Mario was an all-around excellent guide. Upon emailing him, he was great in responding quickly to me and helpful in arranging transportation, tour, etc for Manuel Antonio National Park He picked us up from our villa which was about 15 minutes from the park. He was also upfront and honest about the best time to go and see more animals (12:30 afternoon tour). Our group was 12 people, ranging from ages 10 to 50 but we were all equally impressed. Mario would dart from tree to tree, spotting animals and hurrying us to see them with his high-quality telescope. We were really pleased that he was so enthusiastic about us seeing the animals, as that is the main reason we booked a tour with him. He showed us monkeys, sloths, raccoons, deer, and a huge spider (he had a crazy trick he performed with the spider, I don't want to spoil the surprise though!). We were also provided delicious fresh fruit and snacks towards the end of the tour (we opted out of the meal option). Make sure to bring a camera! If you want good pictures, ask Mario to take photos with your camera, he will usually take the photo through the lens of his telescope so you get really up-close images of the animals that are way up in the trees. He was also very knowledgeable, provided us with lots of cool and surprising facts about the national park and its wildlife. He knew how to give a tour that was appropriate for everyone, from the youngest to the oldest. He had us laughing and enjoying the whole time. You can't go to the Manuel Antonio National Park without Mario!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank fres21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    570
    21
    3
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Best Tour of the vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

We used Jade tour for a night hike through a rain forest and it was awesome!! They are the only tour guide that are allowed into Rainmaker at night. Mario and his wife Crystal were very personable, professional and knowledgable. They found numerous frogs, toads, spiders, wierd insects and snakes!!! Plus the park has hanging bridges that were lots of fun at night with flashlights. You cant go wrong with this tour and bring your camera, Mario will help you take great pictures!!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shannon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Two tours at night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

We did the two evening tours this week with Mario. One in the rainmaker rain forest and the other in the mangroves. Mario does an excellent job spotting and providing in depth information about every animal found. The rainforest tour includes transversing 5-6 hanging bridges in the dark with just flashlights which was exhilarating. We saw and avoided poisonous snakes, toads and spiders. It is labor intensive with the entire 2 1/2 hours spent walking. The mangrove tour revealed many native birds, plants and a credible that was caught and brought on the boat.
Mario brings excitement and exuberance to two very interesting tours. Highly recommend both, the more adventurous will greater appreciate the rainforest tour.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
61 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A passionate well informed guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

I did two guided tours with Mario. One in Manueal Antonio National Park during the day, and a night time tour looking for frogs and snakes in the rainforest in Rainmaker Park.

Mario is enthusastic, very knowledgable and completely committed to making sure his clients have the best possible experience and share his love of Costa Rican flora and fauna..

The night time tour was exceptional. It was a real adventure walking trails in the rain forest including hanging bridges, looking for frogs, snakes and more. Mario and his wife (who came along to help spot the frogs) led us on a truly magical nearly 3 hour walk through the forest in the dark. We each had a torch. At the end there was a cool drink for us.

Wear good walking shoes and long pants for the night time tour.

I can´t imagine a better guide - he has a great sense of humour and loves sharing his knowledge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixiefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
52 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Mario is so excited about his guide work that it is almost infectious. You can not go wrong with him guiding you through a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. He is so knowledgeable of the area and its many inhabitants. He has several tours so its best to clarify what you would like to see. A very pleasant and professional person to spend time with as you tour the jungle.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Jade Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Jade Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing