We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A passionate well informed guide”

Costa Rica Jade Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Costa Rica Jade Tours is a local tour company in beautiful Manuel Antonio. We offer the best activities and tours to help make all your vacation dreams come true. Contact us so we can help you discover the most exciting adventures and exotic treasures from this spectacular land. You may never want to leave!
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
179 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“A passionate well informed guide”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

I did two guided tours with Mario. One in Manueal Antonio National Park during the day, and a night time tour looking for frogs and snakes in the rainforest in Rainmaker Park.

Mario is enthusastic, very knowledgable and completely committed to making sure his clients have the best possible experience and share his love of Costa Rican flora and fauna..

The night time tour was exceptional. It was a real adventure walking trails in the rain forest including hanging bridges, looking for frogs, snakes and more. Mario and his wife (who came along to help spot the frogs) led us on a truly magical nearly 3 hour walk through the forest in the dark. We each had a torch. At the end there was a cool drink for us.

Wear good walking shoes and long pants for the night time tour.

I can´t imagine a better guide - he has a great sense of humour and loves sharing his knowledge.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pixiefairweather
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,038 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    980
    47
    7
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Cod
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Knowledgeable Guide”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Mario is so excited about his guide work that it is almost infectious. You can not go wrong with him guiding you through a tour of Manuel Antonio National Park. He is so knowledgeable of the area and its many inhabitants. He has several tours so its best to clarify what you would like to see. A very pleasant and professional person to spend time with as you tour the jungle.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
145 reviews
70 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Mario is awesome!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Booked a morning tour of Manuel Antonio with Mario. We were a party of 4, joining 6 others. Everyone in our group had a good time, with Mario pointing out all the critters, birds, monkeys, insects, etc. His telescope allowed all of us to see up everything up close. There were a number of groups in the park the day we went and I was impressed with how well they all worked together and made room for everyone to enjoy the sights! Many of them know each other and seem to help each other out. The walk in the park turned out to be longer than I thought....it was approximately 3 miles. About 1/2 way one of our party couldn't walk any further, and Mario graciously found someone who could drive her back to the entrance. WOW! Mario made sure everyone got good photo opps, and helped them know where/how to get the best photos. He is really, really good!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank travelj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pleasanton
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Incredible Day!”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

Could not ask for a better experience at Manuel Antonio. Mario was incredible; his passion, knowledge, friendliness and overall love of the park and it's inhabitants was extraordinary. This was our 2nd visit to the park. This time we took our adult children and they LOVED it.
I can't imagine using anyone else.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank mike d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“one-of-a-kind night walk”
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We were lucky to get a private night walk with Mario, and right at the beginning he grabbed a toad covered in poison with his bare hand. On our walk through a forest which we had all to ourselves we also saw the most dangerous spider in the world, just sitting there minding is own business. We walked on bridges very high up in the canopy, with only the sound of nature around us and stars above. Mainly we saw frogs, spiders and bats, were well-entertained by Mario (who was passionate), and enjoyed a walk in the woods at night that we'd never dare do alone.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeremy8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Costa Rica Jade Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Costa Rica Jade Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing