We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Lunch after Manuel Antonio Park Tour”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Manuel Antonio
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Backpackers Paradise Costa Linda
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, California
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Lunch after Manuel Antonio Park Tour”
Reviewed June 15, 2012

Food is great ! The owner was very helpful. The price was great . It is conveniently located outside the park. We did not stay here . The review is only about the restaurant. Please, ignore the ratings on sleep quality, rooms, swimming pool and the fitness cneter.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank campbell95008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    79
    22
    11
    14
See reviews for
9
66
21
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2012

There's a fair bit to be said for this place. Free coffee, free wi-fi, a nice courtyard, great location, and the breakfast for 2000 colones is worthy of its legend. Oscar the owner seems like a really genuine guy, but there's a couple of things which let this place down. Firstly, the shared toilets could benefit from some locks (and a bit of TLC as well - it's like they've been left to fend for themselves). And secondly, the room we had needed some kind of insect control and some soundproofing. There was no net provided, no fan, and the walls could well have been made out of paper. I'd happily recommend this place as we enjoyed our stay here and the location was excellent, but it's worth bearing in mind the minor drawbacks

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mugglesworthy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2012

We did not stay in the hostel as we had already booked another hotel in town, but we discovered this place while out looking for a reasonably priced breakfast one morning. It was 2000 colones for two huge, delicious plates of food with coffee or tea, eggs, gallo pinto, fruit and pancakes. Just awesome! We were only in MA for two days, but ate most of our meals here because you just can't beat the prices. I also loved the staff that worked there, as they always had a smile on their face.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hughsie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Austria
2 reviews
Reviewed May 13, 2012

A friend of mine and I stayed at this place for 2 nights. We stayed in a doubleroom. The rooms were very very simple but had at least a fan which is more luxury than expected. We would recommend to bring your own mosquito net. The condition of the mattresses in some rooms we have seen were horrible, but there are also rooms with acceptable ones. If you look for a room to do more than sleeping please refer to another hotel. The lavatories were not dirty, one toilet had a broken seat, but overall satisfying. Please remember, it's a 10$ hotel not a five-star luxury hotel. There is no kitchen in the hotel where you can cook your own meals or cool your drinks. But the restaurant in front of the hotel is one of the cheapest in town and the food is very good.

Now to the real highlight of our stay: the staff (the boss included, because someone mentioned he isn't that friendly before) and the meals, notably the breakfast. The owner of the hotel is very anxious and helpful.The day we left we could store our bags in the hotel and even take a shower before leaving, although we werent no longer guests of his house. The breakfast is not included in the 10$ charge for the rooms, but costs only 2000 Colones. For that you get one plate with fresh fruits and a pancake and one plate with gallo pinto, eggs and bread. Coffee and tea is for free the whole day.

The location of the hotel is perfect for people with no car. Its only a 3 minutes walk to the public beach and the resaurants and supermarkets in the town, and 5 minutes to the park entrance of Manuel Antonio National Park. Other hostels and hotels are located on the road to Quepos, where you have to go with the bus to the town and the beach.

Room Tip: Room number 11 had a quite good matress.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna_K190454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2012

This hostel is situated near to the entrance of the National Park Manuel Antonio and also rather close to the "center" of the town. The dormrooms are small, but clean. Even with the A/C on, it gets incredibly hot, so that sleeping in longer than 8am is virtually impossible. Bathrooms are a bit dirty and the showers do not really have much water (I doubt that much better in other hostels of this type and price). This all costs 10$ a night. The hostel seems safe and we didn't have any bad experiences. Furthermore the hostel sells excellent breakfast for 1'500 Colones, don't miss it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pazifico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Uvita, Costa Rica
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

We did not stay at the hostel but we spent a lot of time at the restaurant here during our 2 days in Manuel Antonio. The drinks are 1/2 the price of most places in the area and they have awesome margaritas, pina coladas, etc. (1,500 colones each). We also tried the salads and the zombie burger. Both are recommended.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christopher T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

So glad we were lucky enough to get the last room. It was only a 5 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park and to the beach. The beds weren't that comfortable but the rooms were clean. I loved the tropical garden that separated the rooms from the lobby/restaurant. The breakfast servings were enormous and could easily be shared with two people. Not to mention the food and bar drinks were delicious and prices were the best deal in town! Staff was very friendly!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SequoiaBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
336 reviews
0.1 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel San Bada
Hotel San Bada
#13 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
844 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Villabosque
Hotel Villabosque
#20 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
280 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#25 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers Paradise Costa Linda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers Paradise Costa Linda

Property: Backpackers Paradise Costa Linda
Address: Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 38 Specialty Lodging in Manuel Antonio
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Backpackers Paradise Costa Linda Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Backpackers Paradise Costa Linda Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing