We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tons of Fun!”
Review of Amigos Del Rio

Amigos Del Rio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to Amigos del RioSafe, Unique, Reliable and Intense Adventures in Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica!White Water Rafting in Costa Rica or Kayaking along the Manuel Antonio's coast will make your Costa Rica family vacation unforgettable! Enjoy all the water sports that Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica has to offer you. From world class whitewater rafting at just 30 minutes from the famous Manuel Antonio National Park, in Savegre and Naranjo rivers to Ocean Kayaking along the beautiful Quepos coast line or Mangrove Kayaking at the Damas Island estuary, we will provide you with safe and unique fun, cause we love what we do. Please browse through our site and let us know in which way we can help you enjoy your stay in our beautiful Costa Rica.Pura vida, and see you on the water!The Amigos del Rio Team
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We had a great day rafting with William as our guide. Even though this is the dry season we still had a lot of fun. Our boys are 22 and 25 so William challenged them a bit which they enjoyed. Breakfast was good, the pineapple and iced tea at the waterfall was wonderful, and lunch was delicious. William was very fun, knowledgable and hardworking. Our photographer (I think her name was Christine) was great too. The photos were good and she was friendly, helpful, and interesting. Our driver, Jodi, survived our help loading the raft on the van at the end. We definitely plan to come back. Pura Vida!

Thank LucyB2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raftercr, Manager at Amigos Del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hola LucyB2013,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your rafting trip with us!

We're happy that your entire family enjoyed their experience on the Savegre River, with William as the guide, and Christine the photographer (she takes great pictures!)

Thanks for helping Yeudry (the driver) with the rafts, he definitely appreciated it :)

We hope to see your family again soon, and maybe next time you can try out the Naranjo River!

Pura Vida,
Fabian Ramirez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (786)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

513 - 517 of 786 reviews

Reviewed April 8, 2014

Amigos Del Rio provided us with an enjoyable white water rafting experience from start to finish. We were a little nervous about taking our seven-year-old and our nine-year-old white water rafting, but given that it was dry season and the rapids were relatively calm, we decided we would try it.

They loved it, and we all had a great time. Our guide on the one-hour drive to the river, Jorge, kept us entertained by explaining quite a bit about the local culture. And our river guide Tony did a fabulous job of helping us navigate the Savegre River. He was also extremely entertaining and friendly. The scenery is beautiful, and the pictures they took during the trip (which we purchased afterward) were worth every penny.

The breakfast they served us before the tour and the lunch afterward were both delicious (they even offered hot dogs to the kids). We would definitely go on a tour with them again.

1  Thank Ohiowanderer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raftercr, Manager at Amigos Del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 9, 2014

Hola Ohiowanderer2013,

Thank you for writing such a great review of your white water rafting experience with us!

This time of year, the Savegre River with Class II and III rapids is a great option for families with kids, and we're so happy to hear that both of your children enjoyed it!

Thank you for the wonderful comments on Jorge (the driver), Tony (river guide) and the food - I will be sure to pass along all of the compliments to each of them.

We hope to see you again in the future on another of our adventures in Costa Rica!

Pura Vida,
Fabian Ramirez

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We chose the most challenging adventure and had the best time! The guides were professional, courteous, and fun. We felt safe and well equipped for the challenges of the rapids. YOLO!

Thank Klburgu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raftercr, Manager at Amigos Del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hola Klburgu,

Thank you for the review of your rafting trip with us down the Chorro section of the Naranjo River!

It's great to hear that you enjoyed your experience, and you're right, YOLO :)

Come back and see us soon!

Pura Vida,
Fabian Ramirez
Operations Manager - Amigos Del Rio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

Our family of 5 (kids ages 7, 11 & 12) recently took the class II/III Rio Savegre trip with ADR. All the guides/drivers/employees were so nice, helpful and funny. I wish our Spanish was a fraction as good as their English!

We began with breakfast at ADR's office - beans, rice, eggs and fruit (and the yummy Lizano sauce we came to love in CR!). The drive to the launch area was bumpy (Costa Rican massage as they called it!), but we got interesting info along the way.

Despite being from Colorado, our family had never been rafting before. It was so much fun! Our guide was Aaron (from Wyoming) and he did a great job with us newbies. My husband and 2 sons fell out of the boat while on the river, but we felt totally safe and weren't worried at all! We loved the stop at the waterfall along the way.

Post rafting we had a snack of fruit & cookies before heading back to town. We then had lunch back at the office (more beans and rice, plus chicken and veggies - good and easy for tired kids).

All in all, it was a perfect activity that our entire family could enjoy!

1  Thank Amanda N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raftercr, Manager at Amigos Del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 8, 2014

Hola Amanda N,

Thank you for writing such a nice review of your rafting trip with us!

Families with kids have been loving the experience rafting down the Savegre River (Class II and III rapids) and it looks like yours was no exception! Thank you for your comments about your guide, Aaron, he's excellent and we are so happy he is a part of our team.

Thank you for your comments on the meals as well, I will give your compliments to the chef!

Now that you tried and loved rafting in Costa Rica, hopefully you can enjoy some of those amazing rivers that Colorado has to offer, and come back and see us soon!

Pura Vida,
Fabian Ramirez
Operations Manager - Amigos Del Rio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

Our hostess booked this tour for us, and we are so glad she did.

From the moment they picked us up to the very end of the day, everyone involved was professional, courteous and fun.

Two of us had been rafting before, the third this was his first time. The bus ride was educational and fun, the guides were clearly all experienced.

The raft ride was amazing - exciting, fun, a bit dangerous at times, we laughed a lot, jumped off a cliff, floated in the river, and got some amazing pictures.

The only downside was when our raft flipped and one of us hit his back on a rock pretty badly. As soon as it happened, the staff were on top of everything, making sure we were all okay, taking extra care of the injured person, getting him safely down the rest of the way, then transporting us to the local hospital where one of them stayed with us for the entire time til it was clear everything was okay. Then he drove us home and bought us lunch. He even called the place we were staying to update our hostess.

Their care and attention to detail, and their response and support during the accident made a bad situation so much better. It was clear we were in very good hands - and we will recommend them to any friends who end up visiting the area.

Thank AlternaDaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
raftercr, Manager at Amigos Del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Hola AlternaDaddy,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent white water rafting trip with Amigos del Rio.

We are happy that you enjoyed your trip down the Chorro section of the Naranjo River (Class IV and V rapids)! The scenery, the guides, and the river make for an exciting rafting experience!

On any rafting trip there is the potential that a guest can fall out of the raft or that the raft can flip over entirely. At the beginning of the trip, everyone was given a "safety talk," and during that talk we do mention what to do incase of falling out of the raft.

I am glad that no serious injures were incurred due to falling out of the raft, that we were able to provide first aid treatment while on the river, and that we were able to seek immediate medical attention after the trip.

All in all, it's great to hear that you enjoyed your rafting trip, and we hope to see you again in Costa Rica!

Pura Vida,
Fabian Ramirez
Operations Manager - Amigos Del Rio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amigos Del Rio also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Amigos Del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing