We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Perfect Spot for our Family” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Perfect Spot for our Family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

This was a true find for us. It was inexpensive compared to everything else in Manuel ANtonio and was absolutely perfect. The breakfast was simple fruit and bread but the troop of monkeys and huge iguana that came every morning made it perfect. The A/C was nice and cold which was a nice break from the heat we had been staying in. Beach is right across the street and was beautiful!

Room Tip: All the rooms seem great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hcarone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    113
    61
    10
    5
See reviews for
84
145
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

This place has several rooms overlooking a courtyard contained in beautiful greenery . Squirrel or howler Monkeys often pass through at dusk . Breakfast is simple with a resident iguana. You can buy a beer or coke at reception and get your washing done. It's a nice place to be close to beach and restaurants almost better than the park which is a ten dollar bush walk at best

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moriarty6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

The Jungle Beach Hotel is not fancy, but it had everything we needed and the price was right! Each room is decorated differently, but they have a TV, AC unit and a small refrigerator. The hotel and rooms are clean. They set out a nice little fruit, bread & beverage breakfast. One morning we had breakfast with 5 Howler Monkey’s. The hotel is a 4 minute walk to the beach and there is plenty of dinning/bars and shopping in the area. Eric, a gentleman at the front desk, made all the reservations for our activities while we were there. Eric was super helpful and had great recommendations. We loved everything we booked, but I think the very best one was El Santuario Canopy Tour, it's a must do!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lj-OnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
As, Belgium
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and would loved to stay longer. Great place! We had room 12, which is upstairs with a nice balcony. We woke up every morning by the monkeys and saw them lots of times. Good room with nice beds, good shower, fridge, tv and very clean. Nicely painted! On the other side of the road is a nice beach and the national park is just about 15 minutes walk (just buy an entrance ticket and ask for a map, no need for a guide; there are so many groups with guides that you can't miss where they stop to see wildlife). Breakfast was okay with toast and jam, fresh fruit, juice, coffee, tea and cake.Private parking.
When we come back to Costa Rica we definitely will stay here again!

Room Tip: Upstairs room (2 doublebeds) 12 is great (11 next door also; same kind of room)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MayaTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

I stayed here for 3 nights last month. There is a nice balcony area for viewing wildlife but unfortunately I did not see any monkeys while staying here although I did hear them in the middle of the night. I did see them in the national park though. I did see a lizard on the driveway one day. The rooms were ok with safe and fridge and tv. The room I was in had burning hot water and cold water but it was hard to get it just right. If you turn off the heater, it will be ok for 5 seconds while it cools down or vice versa. There were 4 settings on the heater and 1 was burning, 3 were cold. I think I had room 25. The beds were not uncomfortable but I didn't like the rubbery feel that they had. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk to the beach and 15 minutes to the national park. It is on the road going out of town so you have to watch the traffic when walking into town and back. To reserve in advance, they require a copy of your credit card and passport. The front desk staff was friendly enough. They can book tours for you. I did the national park with guide on my own because it worked out to be $30 with guide vs. $40 if I had booked through the hotel. The guy at the front desk called Interbus for me after they drove by me waiting on the side of the road and I do appreciate that. The breakfast was adequate, fresh fruits with bread and rolls with coffee and juice. The toaster was unreliable. I didn't try to use it after the first day. It would be nice if the hotel had a swimming pool although the beach is not too far away. Overall, I would recommend it if the price was $50 but find it was not worth the $75 plus tax I paid. They do accept credit cards without surcharging!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adventurer42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spokane, Washington
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

We stayed here last year and couldn't wait to get back this year. I love the location, laying in bed and watching the monkeys in the trees, we love the way the rooms are painted and how clean they are. Hot water was plentiful, and breakfast sufficient before heading to the beach every day. I can't wait to go back next year and for sure we will be staying at the Jungle Beach Hotel

Room Tip: There is no pool but the ocean is one block away as we as any kids activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmdursti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights near the start of our trip in Costa Rica. Friendly staff and not too far at all from the beach! We loved seeing the monkeys at breakfast and thought the room and bathroom were very comfotable

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SXD515
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#11 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 840 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Vela Bar
Hotel Vela Bar
#9 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 224 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Costa Verde
Hotel Costa Verde
#15 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 927 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#28 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
1.1 mi away
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Buena Vista Luxury Villas
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Property: Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Address: Main Road | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with 12 rooms featuring tropical murals. Just a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. Our proximity to the National Park, Pacific Ocean, and the lush jungle that surrounds us make our hotel a perfect daily visit for the three different species of monkeys in the area, including the Titi (Spider), White face, and Howler monkeys. We offer free buffet-style breakfast, WiFi, private parking with surveillance, 24 hour access to reception, daily room cleaning, and laundry services. All of our rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe box, hot water, bathroom set, and towels. Additionally, the studio room comes with kitchen appliances. A 5 minute walk from our hotel you have restaurants, supermarkets, shops and other recreational areas. Manuel Antonio offers a large variety of activities and tours for people of all fitness levels and ages, including wildlife viewing, white water rafting, zip-lines, countless water sports, horseback riding, fishing, among many other excursions for you to enjoy. We are more than happy to help with booking any tours or activities of your preference, as well as make transportation arrangements. Welcome to Jungle Beach Hotel, an ideal resting place between the tropical jungle and the pristine beaches of Costa Rica. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing