We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chill place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Chill place”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay for the same reasons as everyone else- it's a clean, nice-looking place with a friendly staff. They are apparently going to have a pool and whatnot sometime in the future, so that would bump it up to a 5-star. Howler monkeys hung out for an entire day right in front of the rooms. The beach and the park are a short walk away. We wouldn't stay anywhere else, honestly. No pretension, just pura vida.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonoraryTica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, June 2, 2012
It's nice to hear that you would recommend us. Our location is great if you want to be within walking distance to the beach and the Manuel Antonio National Park. And yes, we are definitely working on some upgrades to the property in the very near future so please check back with us. Thanks for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    127
    70
    10
    6
See reviews for
103
158
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, Costa Rica
1 review
Reviewed May 20, 2012

My friend and I stayed two nights at Jungle Beach Hotel at the beginning of the green season and were very happy with our experience! We traveled bus so we wanted to stay close to the beach. If you don't mind walking a bit, it takes about 5 minutes to walk downhill to the beachfront strip. The staff is very friendly, the young man at reception is the person to ask if you want to know what's happening nightlife-wise. Breakfast is minimal but satisfactory. One morning while we were having breakfast on the little balcony outside reception, a group of monkeys jumped through the branches of a tree right over our heads. It was such a sight that even the young lady at reception came out to see. The rooms themselves are colorful and the decoration is aesthetically pleasing. The murals on the walls are very charming and just add to the good vibes. The bathrooms are clean and the tiling is a very nice earthy red color.

JBH was definitely a great experience! If you're looking for a resort experience go elsewhere, but if you want a friendly little hotel that covers the essential necessities, is decorated with taste and personal charm, and is also walking-distance to the beach, then this is the place. Really good vibes.

Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank bougainvilleas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, May 22, 2012
Thank you for the review. We have made a lot of changes in the past year and it appears that our guests are noticing. We have more plans in store in the future based on our clients suggestions. We are pleased that you were able to see the monkeys playing in the trees and that you enjoyed your stay here at Jungle Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2012

During our entire trip to CR, Manuel Antonio was the only place we did not have a hotel reservation. We stopped here by chance and really lucked out! We stayed 4 nights in Room 5-right at street level with a view of the beach and monkeys!! Every day we would watch squirrel, capuchins, or howlers start across the street and travel across the rope to the hotel's trees. Huge bonus was one evening walking out and seeing a sloth at eye level on its way back up!

This hotel is a very easy walk to the beach, main stores, and national park. Great room (with a/c!) for not much at all. Very nice staff. I would absolutely stay here again!!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katiemae1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, May 17, 2012
Thank you for staying at Jungle Beach Hotel. We have had a lot of animal activity lately, possibly because it's beginning to rain in the evenings. We still have a lot of sun in the day though. We look forward to seeing you back here again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
quisinequeen
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Jungle Beach Hotel and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We payed $65 for a king-sized bedroom which was spotlessly clean, very aesthetically pleasing, and oh so comfortable. I loved the little details such as the wall murals. The staff is exceptionally friendly and the surroundings are beautiful (very close to the beach). We often saw howler monkeys in the trees nearby. Breakfast is basic but perfect for a light bite. (My only wishes are for a pool and common cooking area.)

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quisinequeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, May 12, 2012
It's nice to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to have a pool sometime in the not too distant future. Thank you for staying at Jungle Beach Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hennef, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed May 9, 2012

The hotel is simply beautiful. It is very well sized and the details of this hotel are just what makes it so great! Everywhere on the buildings are beautiful paintings and also inside of the rooms.
As others wrote the beach is only two minutes away and can be seen from some of the rooms. The park can also be reached very well and ending the park visit with a beach walk was a very nice ending of the day.
The breakfast is a lot better as described before and there was more than what we could have eaten. Additionally, there is a little balcony next to the reception where you can sit down to have your breakfast.
The monkeys were jumping forth and back inside the tree and the howler monkeys woke us up in the morning.
I would recommend this hotel to anybody who is looking for a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. Its charm and passion for detail is overwhelming.

Room Tip: A room upstairs to watch the monkeys!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, May 11, 2012
It's nice to have positive comments from our visitors from Germany. The monkeys playing around in the trees sure are entertaining and we are happy you were able to experience that. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 2, 2012 via mobile

Very clean hotel and awesome staff. They can help you out with anything. The breakfast is simple but nice (fruit/toast to be picked up at reception)

Its very close to the beach and the manuel antonio park (dont book guided tours, park is crowded with tourguides and groups in the morning) walking time is 10 mins. Closest parking opportunity is also 5/10 mins so dont bother going by car.

Nice porches with chairs and view on the trees with monkeys, which will wake you up in the morning by howling :-)

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoHabets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, May 4, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding the hotel, staff and location. We are within walking distance to the national park. For anyone who does not wish to rent a car, we are also close to a bus stop for anyone who wants to go into the town of Quepos. Sounds like you were here during a busy time at the national park. Some people do like to hire a guide, especially if they are interested in the plant life, animals and especially birds as the guide has a trained eye and special equipment to see these things better. During the rainy months, it's a bit cooler in the morning and one is more likely to see animal activity at that time. We have been receiving visits from the monkeys (howler, white face and monotiti) at the hotel and it's nice to sit on the deck and watch them play. Thank you for staying with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed April 27, 2012

Just returned from a 5 day stay in Costa Rica. My Brother lives in Atenas, but my family took a drive to Manuel Antonio to go to the "must see park". After looking at about 6 hotels, we decided to check this one out. We couldn't be happier that we did. The rooms are spotless, nicely decorated, with large beds. The bathroom has a very nice shower area. There are several levels at this hotel, and you feel like you are in a treehouse, Most of the rooms have a very nice balcony to sit out on, the hotel is completely encircled by trees, including mangos and others that hold all the right food to attract monkeys. Upon check in, we already had small capuchon monkeys playing in the trees, and allowed us to get very close to them as they played. Around 5am, we awoke to the loud call of the large black howler monkeys, we all sat on the deck, as well as other visitors, and watched as howlers, and white faced monkeys ate in the trees, the babies got very playful and were swinging and playing all around us on the roof and on the balcony, literally feet from us. The monkeys were around for several hours, so we could enjoy the view while having a free breakfast of fresh fruit, coiffee cake and fresh coffee from the office. There were also several large iguanas in the trees as well. The staff is very accomodating and friendly. When I visit again soon, I will definately stay at this hotel, it is only a short walk to town. If you really don't need a pool, and want to see the monkeys, don't pass this one by.

Room Tip: ask for a room high up with a balcony if possible, to be near the edges of the trees and roof where...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cookenup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
junglebeachhotel, Owner at Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio, responded to this review, April 30, 2012
It's nice to hear all of the wonderful comments about the location, the staff, the rooms and the monkeys! It is so fun to sit on the balcony and watch the monkeys play while enjoying the free breakfast of fresh fruit, fresh coffee or tea, toast and coffeecake. Sounds like you will be back to Costa Rica often so we will definitely see you again. Thank you for choosing us! We really do appreciate it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.4 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
903 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Verde Mar
Hotel Verde Mar
#24 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
549 reviews
0.4 mi away
El Faro Beach Hotel
El Faro Beach Hotel
#22 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#11 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
968 reviews
0.7 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
995 reviews
0.3 mi away
Karahe Beach Hotel
Karahe Beach Hotel
#26 of 46 in Manuel Antonio National Park
467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio

Property: Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio
Address: Main Road | 200 Mts From Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park 60601, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Pura Selva)
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio 2.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel with 12 rooms featuring tropical murals. Just a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 15 minute walk to the Manuel Antonio National Park. Our proximity to the National Park, Pacific Ocean, and the lush jungle that surrounds us make our hotel a perfect daily visit for the three different species of monkeys in the area, including the Titi (Spider), White face, and Howler monkeys. We offer free buffet-style breakfast, WiFi, private parking with surveillance, 24 hour access to reception, daily room cleaning, and laundry services. All of our rooms are equipped with a refrigerator, cable TV, air conditioning, ceiling fan, safe box, hot water, bathroom set, and towels. Additionally, the studio room comes with kitchen appliances. A 5 minute walk from our hotel you have restaurants, supermarkets, shops and other recreational areas. Manuel Antonio offers a large variety of activities and tours for people of all fitness levels and ages, including wildlife viewing, white water rafting, zip-lines, countless water sports, horseback riding, fishing, among many other excursions for you to enjoy. We are more than happy to help with booking any tours or activities of your preference, as well as make transportation arrangements. Welcome to Jungle Beach Hotel, an ideal resting place between the tropical jungle and the pristine beaches of Costa Rica. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Jungle Beach Hotel at Manuel Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungle Beach Hotel At Manuel Antonio Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing