We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury with outstanding views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Luxury with outstanding views”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Los Altos appears to be a luxury condo tower that was converted to a hotel. I visited with my family (7 people including small children) and it was perfect for us. The condo is 2,500 sq. ft. and luxurious. The service is very friendly and helpful. The location is close to town and Manuel Antonio Beach and National Park.
However this hotel is not for everyone, some caveats:
- The private beach is not worth the walk (or ride in their golf cart), and there are no facilities down there.
- You need a car. As a home base for a family that wants to explore, it is perfect. However for a couple or two without a car you are paying for things you'll never use, like 3 bathrooms and a real full size kitchen. You are also sacrificing beach access and, in some rooms, ocean views.

Overall we were impressed with Los Altos, just keep in mind that it's more luxury condo than resort.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LosAngelesRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. As always we appreciate our guests' feedback as it relates to all aspects of their stay. We are so pleased that you found Los Altos to be a perfect vacation getaway for you and your family, and your kind words have certainly been passed along to our staff. Of course, we are sorry to hear that you felt the walk/ride down to the beach was not worthwhile, but we must say, as many guests have said before, part of what makes the Los Altos experience exciting to guests is the direct and immediate access we provide to an extraordinary tropical landscape in its preserved state. With regard to food/beverage facilities at the beach, we are currently working with the government to determine the best solution that provides for guests while still adhering to local laws regarding beach front development. As for the need of a car, it certainly depends on preference. The local bus line has a stop right in front of Los Altos and can have guests down to the beach and National Park within minutes. Our concierge can also arrange for taxis. Thank you again for your review and we certainly hope to see you on your next trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    397
    86
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
270
136
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We stayed at this resort, which is more like staying at a condo than at a resort. The rooms were excellent. I was somewhat disappointed that it did not have a soaker tub (or any tub for that matter) in the room. My husband was disappointed that there was not a t.v. In the bedroom. It would have been nice to have more than two chairs on the balcony considering it is a 3 bedroom condo. The condo was very spacious and well laid out.

The staff was great. They were extremely friendly and helpful.

The beach was a disappointment as there is not much of one. It is small and rocky. You have to get a ride down and book a time for the hotel staff to pick you up as there is no communication between the beach and the resort. There was also no chairs on the beach so you need to sit or lie on your towel in the wet sand. We were down when the tide was coming in and ended up sitting on the stairs waiting for our ride. There also is no food or drinks available on the beach.

Perhaps umbrellas in the rooms would have been helpful as it rained most evenings and you have to walk outside to get to the restaurant on a downhill slope (very slippery when wet and no hand railing to hang on to).

The breakfast included was a bit hit and miss. Sometimes very good and sometimes eggs overcooked and cold. Most mornings it was good. We did find prices for lunch/dinner pricey. There are a number of eating choices within walking distance that had good food at better value.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarbaraJean99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Your kind words regarding our staff have certainly been passed along! We are all very proud to have made you and your husband feel welcome and accommodated while staying with us. We are also very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your accommodations. With regard to your experience at the beach, we are sorry to hear that you found it disappointing, perhaps the last feeling we would like for any guest to have at our resort. Unfortunately, high tide will at times sweep rocks right up onto the beach, but we do out best to inform guests when low tide is so that lounging and swimming at the beach is far more enjoyable and accessible. As for the umbrellas, we are sorry you felt unaccommodated, but umbrellas are available for guests at reception. Of course this is after the fact, but our hope is for guests to contact us immediately in an effort to address any and all matters promptly. At the end of the day our staff is available 24/7 to make sure that each and every guest feels at ease and taken care of.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roslyn, New York, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2013

The unit is self was beautiful but.. spa?? There are no therapists on site... there was no internet and though the lobby was full of people trying to get wifi, the main desk said there were no problems. A golf cart ride to the beach... with no chairs... is that a resort? No way to get back from the beach unless you ask ahead for a ride back... no food or beverages on beach... no communication on the beach... Would be a gorgeous second home... but a resort and spa??? NAHHHH!!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AmyKatz13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Although it appears we did not meet your expectations in certain respects, we do appreciate any and all feedback, and with that in mind, we are always striving to improve upon our guest experience. We pride ourselves on being clear and upfront with our guests regarding hotel services and we hope we can clarify some of the issues you brought up in your review. We are very sorry about the WIFI, but we are afraid that lightning from a recent storm damaged our antenna. We are currently working on upgrading our equipment in order to restore complete service. We would like to note, however, that guests were finding it difficult to connect their SmartPhones to the internet; the connection from laptops appeared to be working just fine. As for your experience with the spa, we are hoping you wouldn't mind letting us know if something in particular occurred. Otherwise it is not uncommon for hotels in Manuel Antonio, and Costa Rica in general, to hire freelance therapists on an appointment to appointment basis. We pride ourselves on working with the best therapists who have excellent reputations and consistently receive excellent feedback from our guests. With regard to food and drinks at the beach, we are afraid we are limited by Costa Rican law, which protects coastlines up to a certain distance inland. At the moment, we are doing our best to work with the Costa Rican government to determine where we can provide a food and beverage area near the beach. Once again, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2013

Did not meet our expectations. We were on 6th floor far right with best views from that level. Even so, balcony has limited views of ocean blocked on left by trees/mountain. Sunset not visible. Rooms had views only of bad street and run down buildings. Rooms themselves very spacious. Internet out most of our trip. Elevator also did not work on several occasions. Walk to beach ten minutes downhill gravel road. Steep and a bit treacherous if you are older. No services at beach (food, drink, communication with hotel) and very limited chairs (6 - old and not set up on occasion). Private beach itself is rockier than the public beach and sand not so good, but water is nice. No waves. The views much better at hotels farther down road such as Si Como No but rooms there not as nice. Several families we talked to did not like resort and were trying to get out of their stay. Staff very friendly and helpful but this just did not live up to expectations.

Room Tip: Highest rooms best. Anything low will really have limited views from balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Goodadvice4u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time write a review of your stay with us. Your kind words regarding our staff have certainly been passed along, but we are sorry to hear other aspects of your stay did not meet your expectations. Of course, we always appreciate feedback from our guests and from there we hope to continue to improve upon the guest experience. We do hope we can clarify some parts of your review. With regard to WIFI in the room, we are afraid that in a recent storm our antennae was damaged by lightning. With great expediency we are working to upgrade our equipment so that these hiccups in service no longer occur. However, it is worth noting that free internet service is available from the computers in our lobby. As far as food and drink service on the beach, we are afraid that that is out of our hands somewhat. Since beach front land in Costa Rica is protected by law, every hotel in the country must work with the government in order to determine the proper distance from the beach that food and drinks are able to be served. We are currently working on figuring out the logistics and hope to be offering food and drink service in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 28, 2013

recently stayed at los altos on a family vacation. the property, rooms and amenities were all top notch. wonderful friendly service and very close to amazing beaches and the national park. recommended highly.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jsal370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thanks for the short, but sweet review of your stay with us! So happy to hear that you and your family had such a great time at Los Altos. We definitely hope to see you on your next trip to Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
403 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013

We had no idea what to expect before our arrival as all of the area resorts had nice websites. This turned out to be an incredible vacation. The area is quite nice, so nothing is cheap here, however the value we received was over the top. The "room" turned out to be a private condo that was new and immaculate. The elevator opened right into the unit and there was a lot of space to spread out, including three bedrooms and a giant open living room and dining area with a beautiful kitchen. Everything was bright a well appointed. Just below the entrance to the condos was the restaurant (1 minute walk from the main building) where we enjoyed breakfast each morning. It's open but covered so a perfect way to enjoy the outdoors even when it's raining, which it did most days for an hour or so (usually in the evening). Just a short walk below the restaurant was the pool area, which was really beautiful and had a great sweeping view of the Pacific Ocean below. You could then walk down a path (about 5 minutes) or get a ride to the beach below. The few times we went down there we were the only people, and twice joined by a troop of monkeys. They were fun to watch. Overall we had a great experience here. The area is magnificent and accessible to so many activities. This wasn't a cheap vacation in terms of lodging, food or tours, however we felt that we received good value. People were very friendly and the restaurants were great, in general, including the hole-in-the-wall restaurants right across from the resort. We hope to visit Los Altos again!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skgbos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We certainly hope you'll be visiting us again as well! We're extremely happy that everything surpassed your expectations. We're also really happy that you caught sight of the monkeys on the way down to our beach. We're here all the time and we definitely never get tired of seeing those guys swinging through the trees, truly a breathtaking sight. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

For visiting in the offseason Los Altos was amazing. The staff at the desk were very nice and extremely helpful when it came to planning what to do during our stay. Only down side is the beach. It's beautiful for hiking down to and pictures but it was not much of a swimming area.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Luke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your review of your stay with us! We are very happy that you found our staff welcoming and helpful. With regard to the beach, we are sorry that you did not find it suitable for swimming. We do our best to inform our guests when it's low tide. But like you said, it certainly is beautiful for hiking and taking pictures!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,192 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,532 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,427 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,366 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Property: The Preserve at Los Altos
Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing