We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personalized service and spacious modern accommodations in lush jungle setting” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Preserve at Los Altos

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Personalized service and spacious modern accommodations in lush jungle setting”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

Los Altos was the perfect backdrop for our destination wedding. After much research, we decided upon Los Altos for our reception and for our wedding guests to stay at and couldn't be happier with the decision. Everything about our stay at Los Altos was amazing and exceeded all expectations.

1) Service: Having worked in hotels/hospitality and knowing the importance and difficulties of good service, I cannot say enough about the high quality of the personalized and attentive service that we (along with our guests) received. Upon checking in, the front desk staff immediately knew who all of the guests in our party were and even our whereabouts. Even though we sometimes couldn't get a hold of people because we didn't have cellphones, they were extremely helpful in connecting us with where other members of our parties might be. On our last night there, we didn't have formal plans for dinner so we simply approached the front desk, who recommended a great restaurant (Kapi Kapi) and was able to immediately book reservations for us, so that in the 5 minutes it took us to walk there, a table was already prepared to accommodate our large party. And for people in our group who weren't immediately aware of our plans, they knew to just talk to the front desk who then directed them to us...such great messaging service!

Of all the outstanding details around their service however, the ultimate in attentiveness that went above and beyond any expectations we had, was the excellent service we received by Georsey (restaurant server). On our first night there, our entire wedding group had happy hour (great 2 for 1deal) and dinner at Karolas, and by the end of it, Georsey knew everyone by name and our drink of choice. During the course of the weekend, if any of us were in the restaurant or passing by, he would greet us by name. We were lucky enough to have him as a server for our wedding reception and again everyone raved about the high level of service and personalized attention he provided.

And of course, our wedding contact for the hotel, Veronique, was amazing with regards to her quick response and attention to my numerous emails, requests, bookings, etc.

2) Accommodations: Having stayed at a number of great hotels throughout the world, this definitely ranks up there as being one of the nicest and by far the largest hotel we've stayed at. During our stay, we were in the penthouse with 6 friends and it was more than enough space for everyone plus had plenty of communal space in the living room, balcony, rooftop, kitchen, etc to entertain wedding guests as they came and went throughout the weekend. The fact that the master bedroom was on a separate floor allowed us to also retreat when we wanted to and offered such a large space for us to lay out all of our wedding stuff.

3) Restaurant: The food and of course the service at the restaurant was excellent. We took advantage of the breakfast that was included (and though it was the same every day) it was still decent. The dinner we had for the reception and first night there though was delicious and many of our guests complimented on the quality of the food.

Overall, I would highly recommend Los Altos if you're looking for extremely personalized/friendly service and spacious, modern accommodations in a beautiful lush jungle setting.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Ld727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
First of all, congratulations once again on your wedding! We can't express how happy we are when people choose Los Altos as the location for their destination wedding; it really means a lot to us be a part of such an important and memorable experience. That said, we are thrilled that we were able to exceed all expectations in terms of your stay and wedding planning. Your kind and thoughtful words have been passed along to our staff, who pride themselves on offering the best possible guest experience. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us, and we certainly hope to be seeing you again on your next trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    362
    81
    28
    9
    3
See reviews for
243
130
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madisonville, LA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013

We loved everything about this place. The apartments are amazing. The service amazing. The pool is beautiful loved having beach access makes for a beautiful walk. Many thanks to linen and Cesar for the many helpful tips. Our trip would not have been the same with out you guys. If you ever come to Louisiana look us up!!! Many thanks you are much appreciated:)

Room Tip: No robes but everyone else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donnac2894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We can't thank you enough for taking the time to write such a wonderful and thoughtful review! We are so happy that everything worked out in the most perfect way possible. And, of course, thank you for the invite out to Louisiana. We certainly hope to be seeing you again on your next trip to Manuel Antonio!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We only ended up for dinner and drinks but it was amazing! The two for 1 cocktails are delicious and the waiters are so helpful at recommending a cocktail for you (often off the menu). We had the much menu for dinner as we didn't want a big dinner and it was great and all in all nachos between two 3 cocktails each and a fish/chicken/beef burger came to $30 a head so can't really complain as they accommodated our budget! If we were staying more nights would have definitely gone again and even stayed at the hotel :)

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Emily B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Yes, we would be more than happy to have you stay with us! Nonetheless, we are thrilled that you and the rest of your party enjoyed your dinner and drinks at our restaurant. We pride ourselves on offering high quality, locally sourced fare and are very happy that everyone was happy with their meal, and especially with those cocktails!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
57 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Five of us stayed here and were happily surprised to receive an upgrade. The suite was impressive, with oversized kitchen, balcony and living room (the elevator was the door to the living room) and some of the bedrooms had balconies. The view from the living room was simply incredible, and the decoration was very tasteful. We checked around 11 pm and were hungry, so they suggested an Italian restaurant nearby and we all still remember that pizza (forgot the name of the restaurant though). The only aspect I'd encourage the management to revise ASAP is breakfast: they didn't have fresh fruits (which in Manuel Antonio is almost hard to avoid), the pancakes were not good, and the eggs were hard. Average at best. They really need to bring it up to the level of the rest of installation.

Room Tip: For an amazing breakfast with an even more amazing view, go for breakfast to hotel La Mariposa next...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank justhf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of your stay with us! We were very happy to offer you and the rest of your party an upgrade in accommodations, and from there we hope you were able to take some amazing sunset pictures from your balcony. With regard to breakfast, we of course take our guests' feedback very seriously and we find it upsetting that breakfast was not to your satisfaction. We work hard to provide a variety of breakfast options for our guests and it goes without saying that we do our best to source fresh and local food.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

The accommodations at Los Altos and friendly staff made our first trip to Costa Rica very special. The great views and high-end condo exceeded our expectations, and all of the staff from the front desk to the Karolas bar and restaurant to housekeeping, made us feel welcome each day. At our first breakfast, my daughter mentioned that she had a strawberry allergy, and the Karolas staff remembered this small but crucial detail for the remainder of our stay. The front desk staff arranged all of our excursions including the canopy and ATV tours and was very willing to assist us in our other activities. Caesar in particular was very helpful and should be recognized as a excellent ambassador for Los Altos. Very happy with all of the staff members. Looking forward to our next visit.

Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank D K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We are looking forward to your next visit as well! We are so very happy that your stay at Los Altos exceeded all expectations. We have passed along your kind words to our staff, especially your glowing review of Caesar's hard work. Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

My girlfriend and I made a quick trip to Manuel Antonio and booked this hotel primarily due to the positive reviews, we checked the hotel website before booking it and expected to get a very nice room, etc. However, when we arrived and were taken to our suite, quite frankly we were amazed, the suite was substantially larger and better appointed than what we expected. The hotel grounds are beautiful as well and the front desk personnel were extremely helpful and accommodating.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandarin01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Thank you, thank you, thank you, for the kind words regarding our staff as well as your positive response to everything else. We are thrilled that we were able to surpass your expectations!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I love modern spaces so Los Altos worked perfectly for us. It did help that we had more space than we knew what to do with. The rooms are tastefully decorated and the view is amazing. The pool area is great as well. The breakfast was lacking but lunch and dinner were great. However, the property did not feel as luxurious as 5 star properties usually do. I would highly recommend it anyone looking for a more space than the usual hotel room option.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NYCTripper_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
We'd have to agree, the view is amazing! That said, thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay with us. We certainly hope to have you and your husband back on your next visit to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio National Park hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,427 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Villas
Tulemar's Buena Vista Luxury Vil...
#2 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,064 reviews
0.2 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#13 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Reside...
#12 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 894 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#20 of 48 in Manuel Antonio National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Property: The Preserve at Los Altos
Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio National Park 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
#9 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing