We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 1, 2013

My friend and I stayed at the Los Altos Beach Resort and Spa in June and it was an incredible experience. We looked all over for a place where we could have great space, a good location and quality service and Los Altos was amazing on all of those fronts! The hotel space is huge and luxurious. It felt like a really nice upscale apartment that just happens to overlook the ocean. We had a suite with our own bedrooms and bathrooms which was was perfect for what we wanted. The staff at the hotel were so friendly and accommodating, especially Lenin and Jonathan. Efrain was also extremely helpful when booking our reservations. The hotel staff helped us decide on what tours to take and picked out restaurants to explore each night. The staff at the restaurants onsite was also incredible and very accomodating for all that we asked for. I would definitely go back to the Los Altos with family, friends or with a boyfriend. It’s appropriate for all.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank worldtravler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

352 - 358 of 547 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

My family of 4 stayed at Los Altos in April, 2013. We had 3 bedrooms, 2 huge baths, a full kitchen, dining room, living room, powder room, and decks. I have never booked a "hotel suite" with this much space and I have traveled all over the world. If you have teenagers this is perfect with all the room. We started each day with breakfast at the restaurant (always good food and the staff was always friendly). We saw several sunsets out by the pool with an incredible view of the jungle and ocean.The highlight was all of the monkeys, sloths and birds on the property. I took my best photos at the hotel. The staff at the guards gate was always willing to tell you when they saw something interesting. We had another family of 6 over for cocktails and still had plenty of space. I would definately go back!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Honor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Wow, the condo was gigantic and very posh! The unit looked brand new, with very nice furniture, expensive fixtures, and high-end appliances. Everything was spotlessly clean. The bathrooms were very large with great showers.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, at both the front desk and the restaurant.

The grounds were beautiful, and the view from the road to the beach was spectacular. It's a very long, very steep walk down to the beach, but the view was worth it for us. Definitely let the front desk know you're going to the beach and arrange for them to drive you back to the hotel, because it is way too steep and too far to climb back up.

The beach itself is rocky with black sand, but very picturesque. We saw people swimming but we just waded in the tide pools in the rocks.

There are a couple of restaurants within walking distance. The hotel restaurant was great for lunch (the chicken quesadillas were delicious every time) and ok for breakfast (it's included with the room rate).

Room Tip: Our unit was on the left side of the 4th floor in the building closest to the road. We had a very l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jgclark34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2013

My wife and stayed here May 25th - May 29th of 2013 and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking for a relaxing, private and luxurious accommodations at reasonable prices. Beautiful modern rooms with elevator going directly into the room(whole floor), unimposing and friendly service. Great pool, private beach, fantastic location(5min from the Manuel Antonio Park) and did I mention the excellent service?! The food they serve was great. We ate breakfast and lunch at the resort and mostly went out for dinner.

Room Tip: Pay up and stay on the high floor. The views are incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ManhattanVasya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

The staff was very welcoming, friendly, and helpful (Jonathon was excellent)! The "apartments" were spacious, the elevator opens directly into your own suite, modern, clean, comfortable, and the beds very nice! There is a great view from each terrace and from the restaurant. They have a 2 for 1 happy hour during sunset that can't be beat. The pool and private beach are great, there are monkeys swinging in the trees to entertain you! The beach is a hike but there is plenty of wildlife along the way and the beach is a rare find! We were there during rainy season (May) and almost had the place to ourselves. Its a great location between Quepos and Manuel Antonio. We were so impressed that we're planning on returning with our family to fill the suite!

Room Tip: All rooms have excellent views but I imagine the higher the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesliemccpierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

It has been one week since my boyfriend and I left Los Altos, and every day I wake up wishing I was there. In a nutshell, the resort is gorgeous, spacious, immaculate and welcoming. The staff is very helpful and friendly, making everything stress-free and easy.

The rooms are enormous: we felt as if we were staying in a brand new, modern condo in New York City (our hometown) BUT with views of the pacific ocean, rain forest, topped off by a jaw-dropping sunset.

The resort itself is small and manageable: a top notch restaurant, an infinity pool, and a private beach. The beach is located at the bottom of a fairly steep hill, but it's definitely doable if you're relatively in shape. We were completely content spending our days at Los Altos reading in the sun and swimming in the ocean, but for days that you want something a little different - the staff members are eager to help make activity reservations. I would recommend the catamaran sunset cruise and a hike through Manuel Antonio national park. There seems to be a lot to do in this small town, if we had more time - we would've done it all!

I cannot wait to go back to Manuel Antonio, but specifically Los Altos. The resort makes you feel 100% welcome and at ease. Not to mention - if you're an animal lover, this place is an actual paradise. The morning we left, we woke up to monkeys in the tree right outside of our window gathering breakfast. A lovely group to say farewell to on our last day in Costa Rica.

Room Tip: If you have a higher room, your view is exponentially more amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jessica s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2013

Quiet relaxing resort with plenty of room to stretch out both indoors and out. Loved hanging at the pool, checking out the trail to the beach (sloth sighting!) and the monkey sighting at breakfast one day. What a great choice!
The food was good, and the wood grilled mahi and tuna were both outstanding. Prices were very reasonable, and there were plenty of nearby options.
I would choose it again in a heart beat.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.6 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
591 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,606 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,498 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $328 - $885 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing