We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beautiful lodging in a beautiful setting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“beautiful lodging in a beautiful setting”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Came here last October with one of my best friends and loved our stay. It was off-season, so we only shared the property with a few other guests. At most times the pool, restaurant, and beach were empty and for our sole enjoyment. The suite was beautiful - spacious 3 bedroom with nice finishings and a lovely balcony. We felt right at home, and given the beautiful surroundings and great decoration job, I really wished it were! The staff was very friendly and helpful at all times - helped us carry bags, book tours, call taxis, and make recommendations. The pool was beautiful and the breakfast that was included in our stay was fresh and yummy. What I loved most was that it was such a classy, top-notch place to stay yet didn't feel kitschy or touristy (probably because they were supposed to be condos). The one thing to note is that the private beach is a down a windy road, about a 10 minute walk, and a little rocky for my taste. However, the walk to the beach is beautiful in itself - we saw a group of monkeys on our way!! Also, you can ask for a ride back up to the hotel if you don't want to walk uphill on the way back. And note that the beautiful beaches of Manuel Antonio are only minutes away by taxi, so the rocky beach certainly had no negative effects on our time there. Thanks for providing us with such a wonderful stay, Los Altos!

Room Tip: Ask for a room higher up, you'll get a better view from your balcony!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Beautiful apartment. Check. Excellent staff. Check. Pool, restaurant and beach. Check, check, check. We cannot thank you enough for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Los Altos! We are so happy that everything just so simply worked out. And not only worked out, but exceeded your expectations. As for beach access, yes, we understand the walk down can be a bit tough at times, but thank you for mentioning the shuttle service we offer to and from the beach. But as you said the walk alone is worth the trip! We couldn't agree more as it's definitely a perfect opportunity to experience what makes Costa Rica the destination it is, the absolutely gorgeous natural environment and wildlife. We look forward to hosting you on your next trip out here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    398
    86
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
271
136
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carrollton, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

I am here now and LOVE this place! Incredibly beautiful with a wonderful staff! I will do a more complete review when I'm not so busy enjoying myself, but for now, let me just say this place is top shelf, and the staff is a big part of why it is so great. Special note to the owners.... I hope you pay your staff well.....they deserve it!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Wendy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
We could not agree more! Our staff is truly what makes the Los Altos experience so special and memorable. Our goal is to certainly make our guests feel like they have found happiness and relaxation in their Costa Rican home away from home. We are thrilled to read such kind and thoughtful words with respect to what we feel so passionate about. Thank you for taking the time share your thoughts with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2013

My girlfriends and I recently visited Los Altos Resort and could not be have been happier with our choice of hotel. Everything from the property, to the staff, to the rooms, to the restaurant were top notch. As a frequent traveler, I could not have been more impressed by this resort. The staff was always willing to help and made sure we were well taken care of. The rooms were always spotless and the food at the hotel's restaurant was easily the best we had in Costa Rica. No matter how many activities we did in the morning, we always made sure to be back in time for sunset because the view from the infinity pool and private beach were simply breathtaking. I cannot wait to visit Los Altos again and highly recommend this resort to both families and groups of friends.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anthi P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you so much for writing such a thoughtful review. We are so pleased that you and your friends found your stay at Los Altos as thoroughly enjoyable and expectation defying as you did. And we totally agree, the sunset view from our infinity pool is worth the trip back in time. We certainly never get tired of it, and we are so happy we could share everything else we have to offer with such wonderful guests. We cannot wait for you to return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St.Clements
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2013

fishing trip Feb 20-27 . Apartment villa was absolutley amazing, private elevator, huge rooms and the view was amazing. Front desk service was also quick and respectful. The pool and spas couldn't be located in a nicer spot of the mountain side. The private beach makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere( watch for the Howler monkeys you will be amazed, don't worry they wont come near you) We saw more wildlife from one of our three balcony's then at the Manuel antonio park... which was very boring until we entered the beach area towards the end of the tour. Food was ok at the Altos and service was super, take a walk 5 min either way and you will find all kinds of neat places to eat or have a few drinks. Cab rides to town are $6 and worth the ride through the montain side. Fishing was great aboard the CaribSea, we chartered for two days. Roberto and Cachi are very professional , This is the only boat that I will charter again and again. we caught everthing from sail fish to mahi mahi. Its worth the money! My advise would be to stay away from (Thebillchaser) a 36ft charter. We tried it and had a bad experience. Wasted a day of our trip aboard the vessel.
If you are landing in San Jose, try to take the domestic flight to Quepos its $80 and saved you three hours of additional travel. Going back next Dec, PURA VIDA!!!!!!!! my friends

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank funinsunSt_Clements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Los Altos .We are very pleased to read your comments about our resort, our accommodations and our staff. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in December!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a nice, but pricey place, well located near Manuel Antonio National Park.

Yes, there are monkeys at the restaurant but visitors need to put pressure on the management for them to stop feeding the monkeys - this is bad for their habits, bad for their health (bananas are NOT good for monkeys!!!) and can lead to potentially violent behaviors towards humans. Please make your voice heard if you go there.

The Good:
Very large apartments (this is clearly a condo project converted into a hotel and feels as such), nice pool, friendly staff, good restaurant, great buffet breakfast.

The Bad:
This is very pricey and if you're not using the full space of the apartment, probably over priced. The kitchen seems to be "cosmetically stocked", i.e. some things I would expect in a functional kitchen were lacking (salt/pepper, dishwashing accessories, etc.)

The Bottom Line:
We would go back if we needed 3 rooms, but would probably look elsewhere if we were coming back to Manuel Antonio, not because of bad experience, but to try to find a better bang for the bucks.

Room Tip: Not sure it's worth it to pay extra to be higher up - you don't see that much from your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aeternalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, March 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay at our resort was pleasant and enjoyable. As for the staff feeding the monkeys, we do have a strict policy in place with regard to feeding the wildlife. As this is the first time hearing of such an occurrence, we would be most appreciative if you could contact us and perhaps describe in greater detail what you saw. Los Altos is absolutely committed to the preservation and protection of the natural environment that makes Manuel Antonio such a desirable destination. With regards to your accommodations, we would just like to say that we believe our pricing reflects not only the generous size of and amenities within the apartment, but the quality of guest services as well. We regret that you left feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your stay, but on the other hand we are so grateful for the over 100 five star reviews that convey the personable first class vacation experience provided by Los Altos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The resort is beautiful and the staff is excellent, considerate and thoughtful. The views are epic as well as the private beach below the property where the most amazing sunsets honor the land. The infinity pool and hot tubs are very relaxing. The location is great and its easy to get where you need to go.

Room Tip: The suites are huge and very well furnished with everything you would need
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coloradokind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caracas, Venezuela
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We planned to stay at Los Altos for only one night, and after our first night we didn't want to leave and ended up staying one more night. Beautiful apartments, comfortable rooms, great for families or couples, very complete breakfast buffet. The location was excellent, near everything you would want to see in Manuel Antonio.

The Hotel's beach was not the prettiest, way more beautiful beaches in the park, the Wifi signal was a little weak and some people wouldn't like that there are no Tv's in the rooms. Overall, I would totally recommend this Resort, you have very spacious, beautifully decorated apartments with the perks of a Hotel.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paticas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,193 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,535 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,429 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,366 reviews
1.3 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Property: The Preserve at Los Altos
Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing