We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the most beautiful places on earth.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #12 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 11, 2013

fishing trip Feb 20-27 . Apartment villa was absolutley amazing, private elevator, huge rooms and the view was amazing. Front desk service was also quick and respectful. The pool and spas couldn't be located in a nicer spot of the mountain side. The private beach makes you feel like you are in the middle of nowhere( watch for the Howler monkeys you will be amazed, don't worry they wont come near you) We saw more wildlife from one of our three balcony's then at the Manuel antonio park... which was very boring until we entered the beach area towards the end of the tour. Food was ok at the Altos and service was super, take a walk 5 min either way and you will find all kinds of neat places to eat or have a few drinks. Cab rides to town are $6 and worth the ride through the montain side. Fishing was great aboard the CaribSea, we chartered for two days. Roberto and Cachi are very professional , This is the only boat that I will charter again and again. we caught everthing from sail fish to mahi mahi. Its worth the money! My advise would be to stay away from (Thebillchaser) a 36ft charter. We tried it and had a bad experience. Wasted a day of our trip aboard the vessel.
If you are landing in San Jose, try to take the domestic flight to Quepos its $80 and saved you three hours of additional travel. Going back next Dec, PURA VIDA!!!!!!!! my friends

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank funinsunSt_Clements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Los Altos .We are very pleased to read your comments about our resort, our accommodations and our staff. We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back in December!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (544)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

373 - 379 of 544 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2013

This is a nice, but pricey place, well located near Manuel Antonio National Park.

Yes, there are monkeys at the restaurant but visitors need to put pressure on the management for them to stop feeding the monkeys - this is bad for their habits, bad for their health (bananas are NOT good for monkeys!!!) and can lead to potentially violent behaviors towards humans. Please make your voice heard if you go there.

The Good:
Very large apartments (this is clearly a condo project converted into a hotel and feels as such), nice pool, friendly staff, good restaurant, great buffet breakfast.

The Bad:
This is very pricey and if you're not using the full space of the apartment, probably over priced. The kitchen seems to be "cosmetically stocked", i.e. some things I would expect in a functional kitchen were lacking (salt/pepper, dishwashing accessories, etc.)

The Bottom Line:
We would go back if we needed 3 rooms, but would probably look elsewhere if we were coming back to Manuel Antonio, not because of bad experience, but to try to find a better bang for the bucks.

Room Tip: Not sure it's worth it to pay extra to be higher up - you don't see that much from your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank aeternalis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay. We are pleased to hear that your overall stay at our resort was pleasant and enjoyable. As for the staff feeding the monkeys, we do have a strict policy in place with regard to feeding the wildlife. As this is the first time hearing of such an occurrence, we would be most appreciative if you could contact us and perhaps describe in greater detail what you saw. Los Altos is absolutely committed to the preservation and protection of the natural environment that makes Manuel Antonio such a desirable destination. With regards to your accommodations, we would just like to say that we believe our pricing reflects not only the generous size of and amenities within the apartment, but the quality of guest services as well. We regret that you left feeling somewhat unsatisfied with your stay, but on the other hand we are so grateful for the over 100 five star reviews that convey the personable first class vacation experience provided by Los Altos.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2013

The resort is beautiful and the staff is excellent, considerate and thoughtful. The views are epic as well as the private beach below the property where the most amazing sunsets honor the land. The infinity pool and hot tubs are very relaxing. The location is great and its easy to get where you need to go.

Room Tip: The suites are huge and very well furnished with everything you would need
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Coloradokind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2013

We planned to stay at Los Altos for only one night, and after our first night we didn't want to leave and ended up staying one more night. Beautiful apartments, comfortable rooms, great for families or couples, very complete breakfast buffet. The location was excellent, near everything you would want to see in Manuel Antonio.

The Hotel's beach was not the prettiest, way more beautiful beaches in the park, the Wifi signal was a little weak and some people wouldn't like that there are no Tv's in the rooms. Overall, I would totally recommend this Resort, you have very spacious, beautifully decorated apartments with the perks of a Hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paticas84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

This past Thanksgiving, my family decided to come and visit me in Costa Rica. My mom was the one who made reservations for us at Los Altos, and all of us were expecting a normal hotel. When we arrived, the first man we saw immediately gave us a delicious fruity drink and were so friendly. Our bags were loaded onto a cart and they gave us all the information about our rooms, keys, etc. Then, we take the elevator expecting it to open up into a hallway, and to our surprise, the door opened right into our place! We continued to take a tour of the condo and we were all speechless. This place was one of if not the most beautiful places I have ever seen. It was perfectly decorated and felt so homey. Each room had its own balcony and comfortable beds. Every room in the house including the kitchen and bathrooms had top notch appliances. The condo was absolutely amazing, but it still had nothing on the view! Since this hotel is located on a hillside over looking the ocean, the views are spectacular. It was a constant battle for my family and I whether we wanted to be outside taking in the views, or inside relaxing in the comfort of this beautiful condo. On top of the wonderful accommodations and amenities, the staff at Los Altos were wonderful. They were so friendly and welcoming. They made the experience staying here even better. There is a restaurant down the road which serves a delicious buffet style breakfast as well as yummy lunches and dinners. Also, Los Altos has a private beach. The path is long but doable, but the best part is they have a truck to bring you back so you don't have to walk up the hill. There is also an infinity pool with a jacuzzi and bar.
In conclusion, there is absolutely nothing to complain about when it comes to Los Altos. Everything was perfect and I would recommend this place time and time again. When visiting Manuel Antonio, you cannot get any better. It was worth every penny and my family and I are hoping to return again soon!!!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mychal J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

First, this is a failed time share project that is a hotel so the facilities are top notch - we have had good luck at other places with this history such as the Fairmount Ghirardelli Square in San Francisco.
We stayed in a penthouse which slept 7 but could have fit the whole town, it was spectacularly large. It had more square feet than my elementary school.
With one unit per floor, the elevators open directly to your condo which seems really secure, but if you call the elevator, there might be someone in it when it opens to your unit.
The penthouse was well done with a kitchen, living room, huge bedrooms - two of which have attached baths and one of which is on a second level and there is a third level with the best hot tub in Manuel Antonio,
The kitchen is fine and a nice thing to have for lunch or kids snacks.
Having all the space is great for the 3 hours in the middle ofthe day that it is too hot to be outside.
The 4, yes four, balconies are great and you have fantastic views in all directions so that you don't have to goto any of the local restaurants for average food to see the views.
The hotel is well located only a few kilometers from Manuel Antonio park (which is crowded - unless you are willing to walk a bit further and then it clears out some - goto the second beach which isn't teaming with tourists and is only another 150 yards).
There are restaurants and a little grocery within 1/2 kilometer walk on a busy road with unpaved sidewalks.
The hotel has a great pool that we spent a lot of time at. The sunset view at the end of the pool is unique. Happy hour is 4 to 7 buy one get one free drinks - but not one for half price !
The breakfast is good with a nice buffet and two nice chefs, one of which was super friendly, making good pancakes and omelets. One highlight, for kids, was the morning some monkeys raided breakfast and made off with bananas. The staff chased the away, but if you have young kids, you might hear "best breakfast ever."
The beach isn't really walk able as the road is too steep and treacherous - they will take you back and forth in the house car. It is a good beach for kids, but rocky. There are also some local dogs that can make the walk to the beach dangerous. They know about it at the hotel but the dogs belong to a local who may not be thrilled about the resort so she isn't overly attentive if they come at you.
The staff is good and the longer you stay, the more they warm up to you.

In a few years, this place will show the wear and tear and we'll see what happens to it. We had some issues with air conditioning but it always worked - too well. You won't do better in Mnauel Antonio. Your best bet is to get there now.
It is pricey with the per day per person fee over double occupancy, but arguably worth every penny.
Another problem is that the next times you travel, it likely won't measure up to Los Altos.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2013

3 bedrooms, 3 bath, spacious living room/kitchen/dining room area. Each room had a balcony. Very well decorated and very clean. The staff were all very friendly and helpful. It is situated on a hill, as are most hotels and restaurants in the area, so the views are breath taking from the rooms, the restaurant and the pool. The private beach is a hike but they have a car that will drive you down and pick you up.

The resort is on the main road close to many restaurants. The front desk staff took care of all our activities and did a great job!

This place was so comfortable I almost felt like I did live here!

My only caution is that the private elevator opens to your floor. Your hotel key card (and staff) is the only card that can open the elevator door to your room. It didn't bother me, but I could easily see how some people may not be comfortable. There is no "Do Not Disturb" option.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelToTheSun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,589 reviews
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,280 reviews
0.6 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
579 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,488 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,429 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $223 - $864 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing