We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honeymoon was a dream come true!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Preserve at Los Altos
Ranked #11 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Calabasas, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Honeymoon was a dream come true!”
Reviewed October 18, 2012

This hotel is absolutely stunning, top of the line appliances and service. The staff do practically everything for you and are glad to do it. They welcomed us with this beautiful bouquet of gorgeous flowers that we've never seen before for our honeymoon stay. The 2nd night they even got petals and spelled out "Happy Honeymoon" on our bed with this cute arrangement with the towels in the shape of 2 swans kissing. I could go on and on about the special things they did for us on our honeymoon but you should just know that it is worth every cent and unforgettable memories are created here.

Room Tip: the higher the better, you can overlook the the canopy and the pool and then the ocean, so beautiful...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
We are so thrilled that you enjoyed your honeymoon at our hotel! We are always so happy when guests choose to spend such a memorable occasion with us and we especially love when we can contribute in whatever we can to making the stay unforgettable. We so appreciate you taking the time to write this review, and we hope we get to see you again on your next trip to Costa Rica!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    404
    88
    29
    11
    3
See reviews for
279
136
2
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

September 25th, 2012, we stayed at Los Altos a gorgeous oversized boutique condo/hotel with a classy ocean view...great for a group of six or more.

They gave us a reduced price after negotiating as it was off season, and they wanted our business. The manager actually came trailing after us as we were driving off to go look at other lodgings.

The hotel staff at Los Altos was not overly friendly or helpful to us which we found strange as they were not even remotely busy, due to the low season, and as tourists we had expected a bit more catering. Everything was expensive whether we bought it at the hotel or the supermarket.

At one point during our stay we went in the gym and found a large machete sized knife next to the bench press!!(we deduced it was left by a security officer who was working out late at night).

On another day, we went to the infinity pool and we were the only two guests at the pool for half of the day which made it feel exclusive, but so much for this reality of exclusivity as we had to go and ask for food and drinks to be brought down to us!

Initially when we got to the pool an older man, who worked for the hotel, was washing the tiles and area around the pool and her made very little concessions by way of privacy in us needing room or moving out of the way when we were taking pictures or just giving us peace and quiet without being ogled.

Later on in the early evening, while we were waiting to capture the sunset on camera, a group of locals kids ranging in age from 10-20 yrs old came splashing and hollering in the pool and our quiet peaceful stay was interrupted. We were told they were guests of the manager and some tenants who owned the property. We were never offered an apology or explanation for their arrival which was very perturbing.

As for the cleaning of our room, on a daily basis, the cleaning lady left a large dead cockroach on our floor for a couple days which we eventually picked up and put in the garbage, and on another day we found our balcony window ajar behind the curtain which neither of us had left open!

Overall, the hotel, location and view was beautiful and can easily accomodate large travel groups, but it does not afford one privacy, cleanliness, friendless or favors, and for the expensive price range one would expect a friendly smile or courtesy drink or at the very least some fawning; especially during low season.

Our greatest highlight at Los Altos was seeing the frolicking whales.

Would we stay here again?? Maybe, but only with a larger group.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ollie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at our hotel. We always appreciate feedback as we strive to improve the quality of our guest experience. We ultimately regret that you found our staff to be, at times, inattentive, but we pride ourselves on providing guests with excellent services and certainly the over 100 four and five star reviews on this site attest to that. Of course, there is always room for improvement and we will certainly seek to address the concerns you raised in your review. Thank you again for staying with us at Los Altos.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2012

We actually only enjoyed our stay at Los Altos the day we got there. There is no denying that the 3 bdrm condo is tastefully furnished and impressive on a grand scale (2,500 sq ft). It was much bigger than we needed, but the owner, gave us an offer we couldn't refuse while we were in our car, leaving to explore other lodgings.

We are two women from Toronto who happen to be of mixed heritage. We became acutely aware of this at Los Altos when the next day we were using the infinity pool and the Nicaraugan(?) man cleaning the pool area took at least 1 hour cleaning right around our vicinity even though we were sunning ourselves in our bikinis and taking pictures. Furthermore, one of the condo owners thought it was perfectly ok to have about ten of his Tico family and friends' teenage children dive, swim, and frolic loudly in and around the pool with us for hours without so much as an acknowledgement that we existed. The only reason we persisted in staying in that area was to take pictures of the sun setting.

We were also aware of our almost complete lack of privacy even though we had a "private" elevator into our suite. Our laundry was brought up late (10:30am) after they had it for 18hrs by a man who came out of the elevator just as the phone was ringing to tell us he was on his way. We were indisposed having just gotten in from a run and in the midst of showering!
Later that day the owner of the property "Oren"who we had not bothered to say hello since he chased us down asking us to "name our price", came up in the elevator unannounced with a Tico female and male worker to check out our alleged damage to his condo. I had called the female to clean up a broken glass, and from that she brilliantly deduced that the door frame on the master bedroom has been damaged by us. Oren was in agreement with her after pulling out a quarter of the frame and showing it to me. He also said we damaged the actual bedroom door, that we would have to pay for it, complaining of hearing"screaming" from our dwelling and then left with his posse in the not so private elevator. Well thanks for caring about us and seeing if we were ok if indeed anyone heard screaming from our place!!! I couldn't believe the preposterousness and disrespectful attitude of not only the owner, but the majority of the people working at Los Altos. I went and checked out the door frame on one of the other bedrooms and wouldn't you know it, that was easily in the same shoddy shape as the master bedroom. I asked Oren to come back and see for himself. After checking it out he just smiled and shook his head. No even a word from him of an apology. I think it was a ruse to get more money from us. Perhaps he is in business of ripping people off, after all it is low-season and property owners are desperate to make money in that area of Costa Rica (Manuel Antonio).

That's the problem with these want to be high end developments. Things always appear better than they really are. For such a sophisticated looking place, the cleaning staff seemed to have no problem leaving a very large dead cockroach(?) in the corner of our hallway for 2 of the 3 days we were there until we finally picked it up in disgust. Neither the owner, or his appointee care to check in and see if we were enjoying our stay, or see if they could be of any assistance. We should have know from the beginning with the owner chasing us down to offer us a bargain rate, a lack of complimentary anything, and being billed $40USD for in house laundry weighing 3 pounds, that things would not have went well with this establishment.

With all of these unfortunate events I would not recommend Los Altos as a place to stay in Manuel Antonio. Save yourself the money and aggravation, and get the respect you deserve at a primo lodging in Quepos.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MsJAG416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
We always appreciate our guests’ feedback, and we are constantly striving to improve the quality of stay for all of our guests. As a luxury resort we know our guests’ expectations are high, but we of course welcome the challenge of continuing to meet and also exceed those expectations. Judging from the more than 100 excellent reviews on TripAdvisor and the many other glowing reviews across travel sites we know with certainty that Los Altos provides one of Manuel Antonio’s most elegant getaways and unforgettable vacation experiences. Our success is undoubtedly brought on by a management team and staff that are hard working, responsible and, most of all, accountable.

In the name of transparency, we would like you, and readers of this response, to please consider our perspective regarding the issues at hand. To begin, we are not entirely sure why in your review you convey with a sinister tone that we “chased you down.” We apologize if we somehow offended you by offering you and your guest a discounted rate to stay at our hotel. It is in our experience that most people are generally pleased with a discounted rate. Also, we are confused by your complaint about the laundry, as you were present at the time the laundry was weighed.

With regards to your time at the pool, we of course regret that you found the family at the pool to be displeasingly loud. As this is a common area we understand that at times one guest’s fun can be another guest’s nightmare. However, during these times we appreciate when an aggrieved guest brings an urgent matter like this to our attention immediately. From there we can do our best to negotiate the best possible common ground so that everyone can continue to enjoy both swimming and sunning by the pool.

Now most importantly, with regards to your concern that we involved you in some kind of plot to charge you for preexisting damage to your condo, we find it difficult to understand the logic behind your version of the sequence of events. As a luxury hotel whose desire it is to provide guests with a highly satisfying vacation experience, why we would possibly accuse guests of causing damage to their room only to charge them for said damage? This is hardly a sustainable business model. We understand just as much as guests do the utmost significance online reviews play in a hotel’s reputation. What, then, would we have to gain from jeopardizing the trust of our guests?

The moment our housekeeping staff (they were 3 floors above your floor) heard screaming and banging sounds coming from your condo, they called right down to reception and we called right up to you. We were, of course, concerned about your safety and well-being, however you assured our receptionist that everything was all right. A little later on that night you called down to reception to have a broken glass cleaned up (there was no mention of the cockroach). When the housekeeper arrived in your apartment she noticed significant damage done to the door frame, which was now coming off the wall, and damage to the door post, which now showed deep scratches marks on its surface.

At this point it’s important to mention that we conduct assessments of our condos before the arrival of each guest; that way we know not to hold a guest accountable for any preexisting damage. Because again, what purpose does it serve for us to foster ill-will among our guests by accusing them of doing something they were clearly not responsible for? Ultimately, it is an unfortunate truth that a select few individuals have come to use TripAdvisor as a means to punish a hotel's reputation if they do not get what they want. Of course we are in the business of pleasing, but not in the business of being threatened by a "negative review." Just as we hold ourselves accountable for providing guests with service that is honest, dependable and trustworthy, we expect our guests to be accountable by conveying on these travel websites truthful versions of their stay.

We can assure you, and all future guests, that our desire is always to fulfill our guests’ expectations in every way that we can and it is our desire to constantly improve the quality of our guest experience. That said, we are extremely grateful for the over 100 four- and mostly five-star reviews on this website that can attest thoughtfully to our management team and staff’s continued commitment to providing each of our guests with an unforgettable Costa Rican vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2012

We recently spent 3 nights in a huge condo at Los Altos, and had a great time! The suites are definitely big enough to fit 6 people, but we booked the entire room for just 2 people. The hotel is pretty immaculate, and the condos are decorated very beautifully. The elevator also opens up into your own hotel room, which was pretty nice.

The larger room has a huge tv, kitchen, couch and dining room, with a large balcony that has a great view of the ocean. The king sized bedroom is also a great size, with a very comfortable bed, and a nice shower.

Only complaints about the rooms were that there were no TVs in the bedrooms. The air conditioning was okay, but could've been a bit stronger. Also, there was no bath tub in the hotel room itself (i think that you need to book the penthouse suite in order to get your own jacuzzi).

The grounds of the hotel are gorgeous. The staff was extremely helpful and nice. I did mention to them that the gym really needs an upgrade, as most of the machines do not function well.

The infinity pool are was also great - a large number of lounging chairs, and the pool is well kept. There were also 2 jacuzzis that were 'luke warm', at best. I also mentioned this to the staff a few times, but they were not able to fix it.

The private beach is definitely a hike, and not much of a 'laying around' kind of beach, but it was fun to see. We took stand-up paddle boarding lessons on the private beach and had a great time. The hotel will drive you to and from the private beach if you'd like - the uphill hike is a bit too much unless you're in great shape.

We also enjoyed the breakfast and dinner at Karolas restaurant, on the property. Breakfast was included, but dinner was a bit expensive.

Room Tip: i wouldn't waste money getting a suite on a higher floor. we stayed on floor #3, and the view w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nycgirl2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed September 9, 2012

As soon as you enter this little piece of heaven that is Costa Rica, you feel immediately distressed. Los Altos maintains these emotions with their enthusiastic staff, delicious cocktails and comfortable stay. There is literally no need to leave the hotel for any reason (other than perhaps the occasional zip-lining excursion, which also is arranged by Altos' staff). The restaurant has a wide variety of cuisine, ranging from traditional Costa Rican meals to fresh-off-the-tree fruits. The room was spacious and kept consistently clean throughout our one week stay. We cannot wait to return to Manuel Antonio but moreover, Los Altos-our only stay in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 1, 2012

It all started with our fruity drinks upon arrival. We were greeted by 2 people at that front desk, who addressed us by name. They were very friendly. We were given our keys to the elevator and escorted to our beautiful suite/condo which was an entire ocean front view. Our concierge helped us arrange a chef night in, surf lessons and dinner reservations. We (3 girl friendS) just loved our stay. It was a beautiful vacation spot. We also enjoyed our classic costa rican breakfast on the veranda daily. It was an awesome vacation.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor, but I thin all the rooms are excellent. We were far but the taxis were re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlabaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2012

This hotel has a little bit of everything. The rooms are amazing, with the elevator opening right into your room, which is an entire floor, beautifully furnished with 3 bedrooms, 2.5 bathrooms, huge kitchen and 3 balconies. Plenty of space for 4, 5 or more people. There is an adequate gym and nice spa (you have to book treatments in advance). The restaurant is a short walk down a hill and is outside. Breakfast is a buffet with pancakes and eggs made to order, cereal, fresh fruit, bacon, sausage, etc. Plenty to eat and it does not get boring each day. They also have a very tasty and affordable lunch and dinner menu and at night it is a bar, although when we were there in low season it was dead. Further down the hill is an amazing infinity pool with another bar, 2 jacuzzis and plenty of seating. It overlooks the water from a distance and we saw whales! Further down a very very steep road is a private beach that in my opinion is kind of worthless. It is too far to walk, and too hard to walk back. There is nothing down there really, but nice for a late night walk when the sunsets. But the best part is the proximity to everything - 5min walk to 10+ restaurants, grocery stores, banks, coffee shops, spas, etc. And they can call a taxi there in 5min to take you anywhere. It is quite secure as well with a 24 hour security guard and a gate. The staff was amazing, providing us great advice and booking our every need - rafting, ziplining, catamaran trip, scuba diving, hotel reservations, etc. They made everything super super easy for us - thank you so much!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 4th floor or above are needed to see the full ocean. We were on 5 and it was perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tecorwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LosAltosResort, Guest Relations Manager at The Preserve at Los Altos, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay with us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your accommodations, found the food at Karola's to be fulfilling, and, of course, are thrilled with the kind words you included about our staff. Making sure our guests are satisfied is our top priority, and we will certainly let our staff know that their hard work was so well received. As for the beach, we do regret how steep it can sometimes be for guests, which is why we do offer a shuttle service to and from the beach. But at least you recognized another favorite aspect of ours regarding the walk down to the beach, enjoying those beautiful Pacific Coast sunsets!
Once again, thank you for choosing Los Altos, and we hope to see you on your next Costa Rica vacation!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
0.2 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
0.8 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,565 reviews
0.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,454 reviews
0.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#15 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Preserve at Los Altos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Preserve at Los Altos

Property: The Preserve at Los Altos
Address: Kilometer 4 on road to Manuel Antonio National Park, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica (Formerly Los Altos Beach Resort & Spa)
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#6 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Preserve at Los Altos 4.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bold in presence; playful in personality. Los Altos Resort and Spa is Manuel Antonio's premier laid back luxury boutique resort. The Los Altos aesthetic represents a sensitive integration between tropical authenticity and modern amenities. We offer 28 gorgeous private residences, each boasting a vivid Pacific Ocean view through floor to ceiling windows. Also, for a luxury resort in the heart of Manuel Antonio, our rates are very reasonable. Very reasonable, and you get a lot out of us, which we're happy about. We like to keep things simple. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Preserve at Los Altos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Los Altos Beach Resort And Spa
Los Altos Beach Hotel Manuel Antonio National Park
The Preserve At Los Altos Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing