We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza in CR, yes!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of El Wagon

El Wagon
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Scenic view, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pizza in CR, yes!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2013

Fresh, unique, wood fire pizzas at a good value. This pizza is surprisingly awesome. I wish this style pizza would come to my home town (California).

Don't miss it!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mattsbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    678
    454
    141
    37
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pizza Pizza Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013

What is wonderful about "El Wagon" is that you are greeted immediately The smell of the brick oven and the wood burning is enough to make one go wild. We ordered 3 pizza's all equally delicious. I do not drink alcohol or soft drinks so they offered to make me a fruit smoothie, OMG delicious and refreshing. You will be VERY fortunate to get Caesar as your waiter. He is Manuel Antonio's GEM, a true gentlemen and very knowledgable. Enjoy your meal and ALWAYS travel with bug spray like "Off", keep in mind you are in the jungle. Pura Vida! Tell them Arthur Lopez of California sent you. BTW, the setting is AMAZING!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ElMexicano2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

Yes, it is the place to eat Pizza in Costa Rica. Although the interior is from the same owner as the El Avion further on the road, the wooden fire pizza are overwhelming.

Fair price as my experience has been that all good places in Costa Rica have EU prices :(

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

We were able to get all the toppings we wanted. If you are looking for salad, chicken and wedges then this is not the restaurant for you. I love pizza and the place served us exactly what we ordered! The customer service was excellent. The restaurant closed at 9p but they did not make us leave. In fact, when I went to closeout my bill to leave the cashier said you guys are having such a good time you can stay longer if you like. Not to many people will say that especially if they are ready to clean up and leave home for the night. Pizza was delicious and drinks were outstanding. Plus, the customer service was fabulous. We will be back!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great wood fire-baked pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Great place for families. Right across the street from Costa Verde. Great topping selections, good service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Wagon also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing