We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved hanging w/monkeys & iguanas!”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
61 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 61 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
traveling...
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Loved hanging w/monkeys & iguanas!”
Reviewed May 20, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

One of our favorite places we stayed at in Costa Rica! Although the unit needs a little TLC, we enjoyed our stay in this spacious & well-located condo. We enjoyed sitting on the balcony in the early mornings & late evenings listening to the sounds of the jungle. Be mindful of spiders, however; you are abutting dense/lush terrain! The pool is lovely & we enjoyed using it to cool off. We also liked being so close to downtown Quepos. One could literally walk there if they wanted to. Nice/helpful staff. Dorit suggested scenic drives for us which we thoroughly enjoyed! The highlight of our trip was while taking a dip in the pool one evening a troop of monkeys began playing on the roof of our condo bldg. They entertained us for 20 min. with their antics! We watched them playfully knock leaves off the roof and jump from treetop to treetop. It was so much fun hanging with the monkeys and the iguanas! It was an incredible experience!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 21, 2018
travelingCAgal,
Thank you for staying with us and we are glad the wildlife kept you entertained!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoyceM-NY
Schenectady, New York
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed April 30, 2018 for a stay in April 2018

I have stayed here on 4 occasions so far. It has a great location at the bottom of the hill near Quepos. I love having an apartment with full kitchen. The staff are always welcoming and it’s a great place to watch the monkeys and birds. It’s also a great value when compared to a hotel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2018
JoyceM-NY,
Thanks for returning 4x!!! You must really like us... ;)
We hope you continue to return in years to come and it is a pleasure to keep hosting you.
Pura Vida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trevor M
Cold Lake, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Price Scammers”
Reviewed March 30, 2018 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My wife and I stayed at this place last summer and paid $1350 for 16 nights. After arriving and meeting others in the complex we were told that some people were paying $800 a month, some $1100 a month for the same place. We asked the manager Dorit why we were charged so much when others were paying $800 for the entire month. Her response was that we booked through AirBNB and that was their price.
This year we sent an email to Dorit and asked the price per month and she responded that the price was now $2800 US per month. We looked online and the price advertised on AirBNB was for the 2 months we wanted to stay was $2400. We booked this through AirBNB as last year we were told we paid a higher price because they have to honour the AirBnB price. We got a confirmation from AirBNB and my credit card was charged.
To our shock we later received an email from Dorit telling us to cancel our AirBNB reservation that we had to pay the price she quoted us. We told her that we would not be cancelling through AirBnB because it clearly stated that the cancellation policy was that if you cancel you forfeit 1 month rent. Dorit then said that she would not let us stay for that price but she didn't want to cancel because it would look bad to AirBNB and they would get penalized. DO YOU THINK!!! Cancelling a reservation for 2 months on people who have planned a holiday if they don't pay twice as much as the advertised price looks bad. What a scam!! I looked through some of the previous reviews and we are not the first ones this has happened to. I hope they get removed from AirBNB and I would advise against booking here. We have travelled to Quepos/Manuel Antonio 6 times and stayed at a number of different locations which I have review on Trip Advisor, all positive. I do not plan on ever dealing with these scammers again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 2, 2018
Dear Trevor,

I hope the following clarifies your issues;

You booked our Studio Apartment on Airbnb for August last year, the total for your stay was calculated pro rata based on a weekly rate of US$420. Airbnb charges an additional booking fee (normally around 10%) so the total for your reservation was US$1050 and not US$1350. Based on your location (Canada) you were charged in CAD, I believe this is where you got the $1,350 figure from.

We offer different seasonal rates and anyone can look them up at any time on our ManuelAntonioEstates website, on any of the booking sites or request to have them emailed to them.

Our monthly rates are low for off season and very different to our short high season rates. To qualify for a monthly discount the dates of stay must include at least 28 nights. We try to accommodate our clients as much as possible. Your wife Deirdre came to the office after the first week of your stay during August last year asking why other guests were paying almost the same for a whole month. I explained the structure and additionally I offered an upgrade to one of our 2 bedroom condos for your second week, which was happily accepted.

At the time we had one person staying at the condos at a special discounted monthly rate, he is a friend of the owner and a regular guest for the last five years.

When you contacted me last week regarding a 2 month rental for Feb-Apr 2019 I quoted you USD$2880 per month for a two bedroom unit. At this same time I was in the process of making a new AirBnB page for one of the units and the pricing had not yet been adjusted to show the high season rates for 2019. Seeing this error you booked using AirBnB’s instant book facility and expected us to honor it even though we had quoted you the correct price earlier.

The Condos are a small family run concern and could not support a 60% discount for two months in our three month long high season. I apologized and explained the need to cancel the existing booking and offered to re-book you either directly or through Airbnb at the correct rate you had been quoted. I asked you to cancel from your end so that Airbnb would open up the calendar dates. If I had unilaterally cancelled your booking AirBnB would have kept those dates blocked for other guests, that's the penalty I was speaking of. Not because it would make me look bad on Airbnb. You have since refused to cancel your booking. However we have explained our error to AirBnB, they have agreed to cancel your reservation, issue you a full refund including your fees and open up the calendar.

Again we apologise for our genuine error but your review is incorrect and unwarranted.

Here are the detailed seasonal rates again for our two bedroom apartments:

$80/night 2 guests, $15 extra person
$480/week 2 guests, $90 extra person
$1000/month 2 guests, $200 extra person

Sep 1-Nov 17, 2017
$70/night 2 guests, $15 extra person
$420/week 2 guests, $90 extra person
$800/month 2 guests, $150 extra person

Nov 18-Dec 18, 2017
$80/night 2 guests, $15 extra person
$480/week 2 guests, $90 extra person
$1000/month 2 guests, $150 extra person

Dec 19, 2017-Jan 6, 2018
$120/night 2 guests, $20 extra person

Jan 07-31, 2018
$100/night 2 guests, $15 extra per person
$600/week 2 guests, $90 extra per person
$2400/month 2 guests, $150 extra per person

Feb 1-Mar 9, 2018
$120/night 2 guests, $15 extra per person
$720/week 2 guests, $90 extra per person
$2880/month 2 guests, $150 extra per person

Mar 10-Apr 19, 2018
$100/night 2 guests, $15 extra per person
$600/week 2 guests, $90 extra per person
$2400/month 2 guests, $150 extra per person

Apr 20-Jun 30, 2018
$70/night 2 guests, $15 extra person
$420/week 2 guests, $90 extra person
$900/month 2 guests, $150 extra person

Dorit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MTS333
Greeley, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect place to spend time relaxing after doing all things Manuel Antonio!”
Reviewed March 14, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Exceptional customer service from Dorit from start to finish. She was amazing! Dorit knows the area, knows the people, knows how to be an excellent host!! She was a great resource for transportation, tours and everthing you might have a question about. The property itself was also fantastic. It had everything you would need for a comfortable stay, pool was great, the inguanas and monkeys very entertaining nightly. We have already reserved a few more nights for next month. I would highly recommend this property Or Dorit to help you find another if this one is full.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2018
MTS333,
Thank you for this amazing review and we will see you again very soon!
Pura Vida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shawn-Dan...
1 review
“Beautiful Gem Close to Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed March 14, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

This little gem is tucked away in the lush tropical gardens super close to the park. Although I loved visiting Manuel Antonio park, my favorite part of this vacation was staying at this gorgeous property. The apartment was stocked with many things that we needed for our stay, the air conditioning super cold, and the place was so clean. The pool was absolutely amazing, refreshing and set in the most perfect paradise setting, we couldn't have asked for more. We will be back for sure. Thanks for everything!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 15, 2018
Shawn-Dana J,
Thank you for your review and we would love for you to come back and join us again in paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S R
Brampton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice accommodations.”
Reviewed February 1, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Nice condo unit located within a gated community. Grounds are well maintained, nice size pool out front and excellent front desk service. Daily visits from troops of red backed spider monkeys and white faced capuchin monkeys were a highlight, also the hike to the private waterfalls.

AC in each bedroom with overhead fans in the living room. However, the living room furniture was not comfortable to sit in. Also, brighter bath room lighting is required. Needed larger frying pans and pots in the kitchen and chopping knives that are sharp.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 6, 2018
S R,
Thank you for staying with us! Also,thank you for making us aware of the issues you discussed and we will definitely look into it .

Pura Vida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ccraft
Victoria, British Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best place to stay in the area - and we've stayed at MANY places”
Reviewed January 13, 2018 for a stay in January 2018

This is the best place to stay in the area because it's a total jungle experience but close to shop.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 19, 2018
ccraft,
Thank you for staying with us and for your review! We are glad you did enjoy the jungle experience too!
Pura Vida
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing