We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best ever...”
Review of H2O Adventures

H2O Adventures
Book In Advance
More Info
$95.00*
and up
Savegre River Whitewater Rafting Trip
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: H2O Adventures operates rafting trips in Costa Rica. We are the only company running the Chorro Section Class IV(V) of the Naranjo River(Dec-April)since 2002. The lower Naranjo Class III+ runs from May through December. We also run an excellent family trip on the lower Savegre Class II-III year around and a 2-day trip on the upper Savegre Class IV. We operate kayak trips along Manuel Antonio Coast and in the Damas Island Estuary.We are the franchise, in Manuel Antonio for Rios Tropicales, ranked the #1 Costa Rica Adventure Outfitter and #5 Rafting Company in the World by National Geographic Adventure Online Magazine. Under these same standards, H2O Adventures also offers beyond compare excursions in Guanacaste, Sarapiqui, Arenal Volcano and the Caribbean. All the outfitters are owned and operated by river people, we are growing together in the business by offering a fair price to the best quality activities in Costa Rica.
Oxford, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best ever...”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I VERY begrudgingly went on a "family" adventure and I have to say this company and the guides made the whole experience! Leo runs a tight ship, he is well admired by his employees and they are a proud to be a part of the company, making each persons experience the best it can be. We had FABULOUS guides -- Rambo, Mechas and Africa the Twit -- they all knew the river very well, keeping us safe all the time but also pushing us to limits to make it an experience we will always remember. Definitely the highlight of our trip. Would recommend this company to ANYONE AND EVERYONE. We spoke to others who had used other companies and were even more impressed with our experience - it's all in the people, the understanding of the terrain and their overall attitude towards people. You will be hard pressed to find a funner experience in the Manuel Antonio area!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jacky F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    20
    3
    1
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great First Time Rafting Experience - Highly Recomended”
Reviewed July 9, 2013

White water rafting was high on our priority list during our vacation in Costa Rica. H2O Adventures was the perfect organization to make this wish happen. As first time white water rafters we weren't sure what to expect, but H2O provided a great experience.

We loaded into H2O's van, and headed off to the Naranjo river for class 3 and 4 rapids. The guides gave us historical, cultural, and agricultural info on the drive, a nice way to spend the short trip to the raft drop location. One of our guides, Leo (also the owner of H2O), was very knowledgable about local spices and agriculture (a big bonus to the excursion).

Once we made it to the rivers edge, Leo, and our raft guide, Romain, outfitted us with high quality PFDs and helmets (they took extra care to ensure everything was properly fitted). Next we Romain provided a succinct, but thorough safety overview with rafting basics. Before we headed out we were confident in our guides ability and aware of necessary safety concerns.

Leo (the owner) traveled along with the raft in a river kayak and took pictures of the group. He knew exactly where to wait to get the best action shots. We highly recommend purchasing the photos. The photos are hilarious, every time we look at the photos we crack-up!

Along the way Romain stopped to allow us to stretch. H2O also provided a snack of cookies, fruit, and water. After the break we were back on the water for more white water excitement.

Overall, we had a great time with H2O. They acted professionally, ensured our safety, and made sure we had a great time. We would highly recommend H2O for first timers, and seasoned rafters, looking for a adventure in Quepos. Thanks to Romain and Leo for a great experience!

Again, buy the photos - we are very glad we did!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great Trip”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We did the Mangrove Kayaking tour and White Water Rafting. Friendly and professional staff, they know a lot about the local ecosystem and share lots of info. We loved it. Not overly processed and touristy.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Pollsville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, Virginia
Level Contributor
136 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great Afternoon”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Took the afternoon run with 3 and 4 class rapid in a raft. The guide was excellant and we had a great time.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Drjack183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great family rafting trip”
Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

We took the Sevagre trip with our 12,10 and 7 year old and it was great. The ride to the put in is a bit crazy. We had to start a bit down river as the road was block by a flipped tractor. I'm not sure this is uncommon. Our guide, Romaine, was great. He is a local and showed us tons of interesting plans and had a great deal of historical knowledge. The rapids were just right for the kids. I think the Naranjo would have been too rough. We ate lunch at a local place on the way home and it was delicious. Our guide was very professional and we felt very safe with him the whole time. I would definitely use this company again.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Schwartzbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed H2O Adventures also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Quepos, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to H2O Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing