We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“There is a reason it's called Casa Fastastica!!!!”
Tropical style poolside views and a private pool to go with
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Tropical style poolside views and a private pool to go with
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
Tropical style poolside views and a private pool to go with
Plenty of seating for all those dinner parties
This master bedroom has all the elegance and luxury you have been looking for while on vacation
This is the master bathroom with a waterfall shower overlooking the ocean
Outdoor tents for those wedding parties or events
Outdoor poolside views and plenty room for all
Luxurious style bathroom with lots of space
Night life by the pool, this ahs been a popular villa from the very start
Bring the entire family while on vacation and do as this beautiful child is doing
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
10 Bedrooms, 13 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Carrie F
Atlantic City, NJ
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There is a reason it's called Casa Fastastica!!!!”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 for a stay in July 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Just returned from a 7 day trip to Costa Rica where my son was married. A group of 16 of us stayed at Casa Fantastica and another 9 stayed at Casa Vista Azul!! Both houses are beautiful!! The staff was better than expected and our all around trip was fabulous!!

Before our arrival, we set up all our tours with the concierge and they all worked out great!! Not a problem with anything.

I had also set up a "welcome party" at Fantastica for the day after our arrival for the 50 people attending the wedding and staying at other houses. It was fabulous. The chefs bar-b-qued for us, we had a bartender and servers and we couldn't have asked for a better party. The staff cleaned up and all we had to do was entertain and enjoy our guests. The house is so big, it wasn't even crowded with 50 people there!!

The rooms were all beautiful!! We had the lower level suite with the open air shower and it was great. I believe it was the quietest room in the house and my husband and I both loved it. My 82 year old parents shared the master bedroom and that was also fabulous!! Not one guest complained about the rooms. One of the ceiling fans went out and was replaced the day it was reported. We asked about the pool being cleaned the afternoon of our party and it was taken care of immediately and there was never an issue of it needing to be cleaned again. Ricky took care of things as soon as we contacted him.

Being it was the last week of July, the temps were hot and it was humid. I will have to say the ocean breezes are better at Casa Fantastica as it is more open and not surrounded by jungle and we found it much cooler and not too hot and humid. Although Vista Azul is quite the house, we found it more humid when we went over there as it is surrounded by the jungle so doesn't get the breezes as much. The younger crowd stayed there and most of them were from the south so it didn't bother them but as a northern girl, I was more comfortable at Fantastica.

I don't think you can go wrong by renting any of the houses thru Escape Villas. They were wonderful to work with and everything went great!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
robofear
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“This place is Heaven on Earth.”
Reviewed June 20, 2014 for a stay in May 2014

I traveled to Costa Rica in May for a little over a week with a large group of friends and we all stayed at Casa Fantastica. This place is amazing. It's easily the best Villa I've ever stayed at, and I've been to hundreds of them.
The manager Ricky was a delight, and was extremely helpful with all of our needs. We comfortably fit 17 people in the Villa and enjoyed it so much, we barely left the property to do other activities.
You will definitely get wildlife (mostly monkeys) on the property during their daily route through the jungle, and hearing the howlers at night across the jungle valley is a magical experience.
Presumably the construction will be finished soon so that won't be an issue...it hardly bothered us, just make a rum drink and get in the pool ya dingus.
My only complaint is that the DVD player in the media room is region specific and we couldn't watch many of the movies on hand or any of the ones we brought with us. It's 2014! Just upgrade the media room to an HDMI port and maybe a universal DVD player so people can plug their laptops in and it's good to go.

That being said, I watched Ghostbusters like 50 times and did not regret it.

Viva Casa Fantastica!

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saintjack
Tucson
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Not quite so fantastica!”
Reviewed May 21, 2014 for a stay in July 2013

It was our 50th anniversary and so we gathered the whole family for what we hoped would be indeed, a fantastic week. I have taken so long to write this because I hoped that time would make it a better experience remembered, but now must face truth and share it all.

First of all the positives: The cook create delicious meals, unfortunately the table was never properly set...no place mats, table clothes, dime store paper napkins and silverware. The maids took good care of us, though nothing was ever explained by the manager...so we had to figure out pool towels and where to put them, etc. The house is big and open. The views were good, though obviously, if a number of trees were trimmed at the top, the view would have been fantastic. The house lends itself to many different kinds of groups with all the space. The theater, the game room, and being surrounded by nature, birds, monkeys and a sloth was delightful.

Now to the cons: The cook was good, but preferred to serve every meal buffet style in the kitchen. paper napkins were used, until we discovered the cloth ones. One night when we had a substitute cook, he brought a helper and the meal was outstanding and nicely served. The refrigerators worked poorly. The instructions for everything in the house was poor or non existent, to the extent we had to call the manager to get the stereo and cable working...which were marginal in quality and outdated.

We had to put up with hammering and construction noise right below the pool where they were building an additional room. It took two calls to make this go away and again we should not even had this happen to begin with.

The pool had debris in it when we arrived and was cold even in July. When the pool turned green they were slow to respond, and even then it never sparkled and got progressively more cloudy during the week. By the way, both my son-in-law and I own good size pools, his larger than Fantastica's...so we know the issues and there there was really no excuse for the pool not to be perfect other than lack of service and proper chemicals. When the manager said we should have called, well the fact was we did call...but it should have been properly cared for without any calls.

The lower levels are open to the jungle with the suite having only a curtain in the bathroom to the outside patio...so all manner of critters could come in...indeed on the last night there was a snake in the bottom hallway. Would not use lower level with its being so open to the jungle.

The only security is an armed guard at night in the neighborhood; and the stairway just outside the gate leads to the area directly around the bottom of the house. The alarm went off at random times, which judging by previous reviews should have been fixed long ago.
By the way, the steps at the entrance were never swept for the whole week we were there.

After saving for a long time for this grand experience, it turned out to be very mixed and the lack of attention to details and quality and service. We have previously rented large homes in Mexico and in the Caribbean which were in the same price category. In comparison Casa Fantastica was a disappointment, left a bad taste in our mouths, and we could not recommend it at all.
r

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views
Liked least: less than as grand as hoped for and paid for
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2014
We are sorry that you were not completely satisfied with your stay in Casa Fantastica. It is unusual to receive a review such as yours and we want to respond to your difficulties.

In regards to the pool: When there are so many people using the pool for 7 days with a lot of sun lotion there can be problems with cloudiness. Your relative that has a larger pool likely does not host big groups for 7 days in a row. We prefer not to use the super harsh chemicals that would be required in the tropics to keep it crystal clear when the group of guests are heavy sunblock users. Rinsing off before entering the pool is a good solution to keep the chemicals at a healthy level and the pool clear. Yours is the first complaint that we have had about this.

Our guests really love the open bathroom. It is considered one of the attractive features of the house and it is fully described on our website. There is currently only one bathroom like this, but because of the overwhelming positive response, two new bedrooms will have them as well.

Larger groups have preferred buffet service. In response to your disappointment, we are now offering groups the choice of table or buffet service. We have always had linen and placemats, and apologize if they were omitted at the beginning of your stay.

The house work that was being done is completed. We again are sorry that it was an inconvenience to you. We attempted to do it in the middle of the day and tried to be as quiet as possible.

As to the wild life that disturbed you, this is Costa Rica, the rain forest and the jungle. It is not an antiseptic environment, and most of our guests appreciate it.

We thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts and do hope that you'll consider letting us host you again if you visit Costa Rica in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rita R
Reston, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Most Luxurious Vacation Home in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed April 28, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

For months leading up to our trip, we poured over all of the images of Casa Fantastica available online. Still, we were absolutely blown away when we walked into this spectacular home. The pictures can’t begin to do it justice. The view took my breath away.

The architecture and furnishings are beautiful., the indoor/outdoor living just amazing. Every external wall is either disappearing glass or open to the outside. The jungle literally envelops the entire property. Sloths, squirrel monkeys, white faced capuchins and too many lizards, frogs and birds to mention were frequent companions. Howler monkeys were a constant soundtrack in the background.

My husband and I had first pick of the bedrooms, and chose the lower level master suite, which is accessed through the game room, down a set of stairs behind the pool table, and situated directly beneath the infinity pool. If you have toddlers you should know that there is no hand railing along these stairs.

We chose this room for its privacy and the outdoor bathroom. This was definitely the quietest suite. The bathroom is completely open to the jungle, with a choice of 3 showers, a tub and a very cool concrete double vanity. We definitely had some animal visitors to our open-air bath, including lizards and bats.

Note that there is no view of the ocean from this lower level, as the jungle has grown up significantly since the website photos were taken. Also, our house staff cautioned us to keep the bathroom locked via deadbolt from inside the bedroom for security. This room has its own fridge and bar area, as well as a balcony with a jungle view. We loved the platform bed, and generally found this room very pleasant and comfortable.

Having said that, every bedroom is truly a winner. Each is comfortable, air conditioned, clean and nicely decorated; each has its own advantages. While everyone was allocated a bed, all of the boys camped out in the media room. It was a perfect teen hangout for the week.

A few things to note about Casa Fantastica:

The home is accessed via a VERY STEEP driveway. We loved walking this everyday for exercise, but you should know that some drivers were not willing/able to bring their vehicles down this hill. This was not an issue for our group, but food for thought if you are traveling with anyone having mobility issues.

There is a great sound system with MP3 connection throughout the entire main level. Also, wifi is available but really only strong on the main level and definitely not available in the lower level master.

Security is tight around the property, including a steel gate, electric fence, security patrols and gated neighborhood entrance (closed and monitored at night).

The home is well located near restaurants, groceries, a bank and a couple of cute gift shops, all within a walk (uphill). The town of Quepos is a 5 minute taxi ride down the hill. We did walk down to the beach, but I would not advise this, as it is quite a long way down winding, steep roads with no sidewalks. Taxis are quick, easy and inexpensive.

At the time we visited, there was some minor construction happening on the property. There was a bit of hammering/power tool noise and there were people around the entrance of the home near the main gate each weekday.

I can’t end this review without mentioning the amazing level of service we received throughout our entire experience. From booking with Fernando and Valerie, to grocery and meal planning with Indra, every little detail was attended to prior to our trip. Groceries were in the fridge when we arrived, beds setup to our specifications, and our first meal was on the table.

Our host, Ricky took care of every little need we had, from handling a couple of medical issues, toting us to his favorite souvenir shop, setting up excursions, and pointing us to his favorite pizza joint, he was there at a moment’s notice and made the trip worry-free. And, he’s just a fun and interesting guy.

The highlight of our trip was the amazing cuisine. Stefan, our French chef, along with Areial, his sous chef, presented us with a delicious variety of food, on our schedule and to our specifications. He took care of the most minor details, like prepping the coffee pot for us at night and squeezing fresh limes for our margaritas. Stefan and Aerial did the grocery shopping, prep, cooking and cleanup. What a luxury to not have to worry about food needs for such a large group. Stefan knew what was fresh at the fish market, and made recommendations based on locally available foods. Both gentlemen were professional, highly skilled chefs and I would definitely recommend that you specifically request these two to handle your food needs for the week.

The staff was rounded out by a housekeeping team, which worked efficiently and quietly in the background every day (other than Sunday) to keep the home neat and clean. They washed and replenished the pool towels daily, and handled our personal laundry twice during the week. The pool was maintained daily, although always had a bit of a green tint, but seemed otherwise clean. The hot tub pump was not working during the week we were there, so the temp was the same as the pool.

Our week at Casa Fantastica was truly the most relaxing, pampered and enjoyable vacation we’ve ever had. The home is well staffed, nicely located, private and secure. It is a great place to just hang out or a launching off point for a myriad of cool adventures. I can’t recommend it highly enough!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, staff, view, architecture, privacy, indoor-outdoor living, animal visits
Liked least: All very minor, but construction noise, broken hot tub, water problem on departure day
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tigger_ki...
Ottawa
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“Heaven on earth”
Reviewed April 22, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We were there at the end of March to celebrate our wedding with close family and friends, and let me tell you, it was a once in a lifetime experience!

The setting couldn't have been more perfect for our special day. The surroundings, the view, the pool, the food, OMG the food, AND the overall architecture of the house make for such a wonderful stay, we would have stayed for another month!

As all of the previous reviews state, Stephane IS the bomb, and we definitely ALL wanted to take him home with us. We had a few people in our group that were pretty picky, and somehow, they ate fish, satay sauces, curry sauces without even blinking an eye. With the all inclusive format, no need to even think about what you want to eat, you just pick the protein and Stephane will take care of cooking you up a meal worthy of a 5 star restaurant.

Ricky also took care of all of our needs quickly and efficiently, the maids were almost always invisible, and you barely noticed the pool guy when he was there. All in all, one couldn't ask for a better vacation rental, anywhere!

Only a few minor negatives. Yes, the house needs an ice machine, ice cube trays couldn't keep up with out drinking :-) The refrigerator in the bar area also couldn't keep up with everything we had in it, and had to use the cinema and the kitchen one to be able to keep all of our drinks cold. The maids also do the laundry, but might need a lesson in not mixing colors, since a few of of us ended up with pink socks and dresses. Lastly, I realize the house doesn't always have as many guests as we had, but for a house that has a 16 guest capacity, having a table big enough to accommodate everyone would be a definite plus. Except for our wedding dinner, we never all could eat at the same table, since the tables only sit 12. It would have been nice to have a few meals where everyone was sitting together as opposed to scattered all over the main floor, but like I said, minor negative.

So if you are considering renting this villa, and like me, have read every single review you could find, stop reading, and just book it! I guarantee you will not be disappointed, and it is most assuredly worth every penny!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael M
Madison, Mississippi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful place to stay, would love to go back!”
Reviewed March 17, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

I was part of a group of 12(family and friends) at Casa Fantastica just last week. The house was cleaned top to bottom by a wonderful maid service. The house itself is gorgeous, and has a wonderful view of the ocean. Ricky, our host, was very prompt in attending to anything we needed help with. There is plenty to do in the area, and the locals were very friendly and helpful. And last but certainly not least…..Chef Stefan cooked meals for us daily, except a couple of times when we ate out. It was literally some of the best food I've eaten in my life. He was very professional and friendly, and I think I miss the meals more than anything! I would not hesitate to come back for another stay at Casa Fantastica!

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LyaMachad...
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed March 5, 2014 for a stay in March 2014

We rented Casa Fantastica for a corporate event. An awards trip for the top sales people. We were 12. Everyone really enjoyed the house. THe view is outstanding and the design, the details makes this house a very good lodging option in Manuel Antonio. Chef Stefen did a very good job. All the rooms have floor to ceiling windows and either a view to the ocean or to the jungle. The house is clean, no problems with insects, and service was very friendly.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing