We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful place! The house is awesome, the view...”
This view is from your private vacation villa, while in Costa Rica
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This view is from your private vacation villa, while in Costa Rica
Sit in perfect comfort with stunning views all around. By the cool waters edge you'll find peace and tranquility. Take a dip and enjoy the ultimate
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
This view is from your private vacation villa, while in Costa Rica
Sit in perfect comfort with stunning views all around.
By the cool waters edge you'll find peace and tranquility. Take a dip and enjoy the ultimate
Enjoy the beautiful wood beam structure of the Casa Vista Azul
Like to cook, or have your food cooked for you? This chef style kitchen has it all for your choice.
Elegant style outdoor lap pool with jungle views, enough room for the entire family
This multi level villa ha a gorgeous vantage point over the jungle.
Outdoor villa by the pool, come and truly relax with these wondrous features
Feel at piece in the beautiful vacation home.
This large kitchen is great for preparing meals.
Stay cool at night with ceiling fans to keep the air flowing.
This home has unique features all throughout.
Outdoor view from the 4th floor, to keep an eye on the family by the pool
The whole home is surrounded by flora of many different kinds
Walk down to the pool from your bedroom, to enjoy this outdoor villa
A private double bed sanctuary with air condition and ceiling fans
Sit and relax while outdoor in this pool area, with family on vacation
Enjoying these lounge chairs beautifully decorated, with a cool drink.
Sitting cozy by the waters edge has an appeal to all. Coffee or a cool drink, choice is yours.
Hand carved granite stone is a local décor favorite. All wood has a natural looking feel
Sit and enjoy these ocean views, while overlooking the jungle below
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 8 Bathrooms, Sleeps 12
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
randy1213...
Bay Saint Louis, Mississippi
1 review
“Beautiful place! The house is awesome, the view of the Pacific is incredible!”
Reviewed January 6, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at Casa Vista Azul. The house is magnificent with its many levels, views of the Pacific ocean, and pool with waterfall. It is surrounded by the beautiful rain forest and has an abundance of wildlife which can be viewed from the property including monkeys, sloths, and iguanas. Amazing beaches, restaurants, and bars are just a short drive away. The staff was excellent, informative, and eager to help with anything we needed. My favorite amenity was the chef, Esteban, and his wife who prepared delicious meals daily. I still miss their cooking. I would highly recommend this vacation rental.

Thanks for everything,

Randy - Bay St. Louis, Mississippi

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 12, 2017
It is an amazing destination, the Escape Villas' team gets to experience it with every fabulous guests, like you! You have every convenience minutes away but are within the rainforest and experience nature at your doorstep -- and sometimes right on your terrace! Many thanks from all of us in Manual Antonio!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfection is possible!”
Reviewed November 8, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

What a wonderful stay at Casa Vista Azul! First, the house is so beautiful. The views of Manuel Antonio Park were spectacular and when the rain would roll in during the evenings it was truly heaven. The rooms were wonderfully decorated and at one point I almost moved into our bathroom it was so lovely. Ricky the concierge was incredible! Meeting us at the door when we arrived, he had a friendly and caring attitude that started the stay off great and it never stopped. If you need to know something about Costa Rica, he is the one to ask and was just so fun to sit and chat with. Estabon our Chef, and his wife Josalee were truly a highlight. The meals were delicious and Estabon accommodated every dietary restriction we threw at him. Nightly we were treated to not just amazing food, but beautiful table settings as well. We had thought we wanted to spend one night eating out but in the end just couldn't bear to miss one of his amazing meals. Carmen our housekeeper and her cleaning crew were also without equal. Every day we came back to an impeccably clean house/room. The small touches however were what put the service over the top. Coming home to a different towel animal or flower, local stories left nightly on our beds, clean clothes freshly laundered every day.... the list could go on and on and applies to everyone at Casa Vista Azul. I truly can not express how much we appreciated everything and everyone. I will be back and though I am normally one that prefers to try different things as opposed to going to the same place, I could easily return to Casa Vista Azul over and over.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 10, 2016
Gracias for your great review! Escape Villas is very proud of Casa Vista Azul and it's staff! We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your time with Ricky, Carmen and Chef Esteban! Escape Villas' Chefs are such a popular option with our guests they love Chef Esteban's meals! Thanks for letting people know how amazing your stay was at Casa Vista Azul. We'll see you next time! Hasta Luego!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed July 5, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Loved the view and Esteban's cooking
Liked least: Some bathrooms
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2016
So happy to hear that your group had such an amazing time at Vista Azul! Chef Esteban is usually a highlight of people's stay. His food is amazing. The house staff is happy to hear that you all enjoyed your stay! We'll be waiting here for your return! Hopefully very soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Kim E
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Our Best Family Vacation Ever!”
Reviewed April 1, 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Casa Vista Azul is more than just a house, it is a beautiful oasis that the pictures online can not capture. This house, from the moment we walked in the front door, blew us away. It is so perfectly laid out and the rooms are all beautiful and so well appointed. This home has been well cared for over the years. This was our best vacation yet, not just due to the house but the whole experience from organizing the rental, meeting our host Ricky, meeting Carmen who looks after the house while you are there and having the luxury of our own chef, Esteban, who was amazing! I would highly recommend this location and really look forward to getting back there as soon as we can. The staff go out of their to make sure you have everything you need and are so friendly, it really made this vacation an amazing experience. We were there as two families of 4 and had more room than we needed. Esteban really went out of his way to cater to even the pickiest of eaters while still providing us beautiful and delicious meals. I have nothing negative to say about our experience here. The house is in a great location, but the road out is a steep climb so bring good walking shoes if you intend to do much walking. It was always easy to catch a taxi if you aren't wanting to commit to the walk. Our kids favorite part of the stay was the amount of wildlife we saw at the house. We had white faced and howler monkeys visit us most days as well as a sloth and lots of lizards.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the pool and the master bedroom and the pool room in the evenings. We loved everything really!
Liked least: The construction noise next door. It would have been nice to know this was going to be happening ahead of time.
Traveling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 5, 2016
Thanks for the review! We are so happy to hear your family had such a great time in the house. It does have a nice "WOW" factor when you walk in! Glad you all enjoyed Carmen, Ricky and Esteban. Hope to see you all again. We (including the monkeys) will be waiting for your return! Gracias.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWilson73
Birmingham, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful home, gorgeous view and lots of monkeys!”
Reviewed February 9, 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This home had been on my wish list for years before actually booking it and I am so glad I finally did. It truly does not disappoint. The moment you walk in you are greeted with a gorgeous view from the open air living room and it just continues to impress as you descend to the lower levels via the outdoor staircase to the gorgeous pool area. Despite the open concept of the house, we never felt remotely unsafe or overly exposed as you are completely surrounded by the beautiful rain forest. The furniture and bedding are all quite nice and comfortable and the place is kept very well cleaned and maintained. The only two things that could be construed as negative to some were that this home is not secluded at all, but in a neighborhood of sorts with homes all around. It is also at the bottom of a steep hill, about 1/4 mile or so from the main road and groceries, buses, restaurants, etc. That said though, neither of those things bothered our group as you really can't see any other homes once you are inside, the placement of the home is well thought out in that regard, and aside from some construction noise while we were there (which will pass) it was a very peaceful spot. The hill also did not bother us as it provided great exercise every day and Costa Rica is after all, meant to be a fairly active vacation for most. We walked it and then some daily. The beach is probably a mile or mile and half away and we walked that as well (but took the bus back as it is all uphill). While it's easy to walk everywhere if you are physically able, the bus system is very convenient, cheap and easy to use (once you get up the neighborhood hill). Taxis are also easy to come by or call to your door. The best part of this home however, at least for me, was the monkeys! I thought if we were lucky we would see a handful while there but I was thrilled to learn they are regular visitors and could be seen daily in the trees, by the pool and on several occasions in our upstairs living room. They were quite taken by the fresh flowers out on the dining room table and liked to knock over the vase and drink the water. At night the Howler monkeys are extremely active. They are very loud but generally distant (as in they are not the ones who visited the house so much) but like clockwork they start howling at about 2:30 AM and it goes most of the night. I loved the sound and thought it peaceful but I suppose it could be a bit unnerving to some. The iguanas and basilisk lizards are also plentiful around the grounds. Casa Vista Azul is a great home for those looking for a tropical paradise with an abundance of nature all around them. It may not be the best for families with young children/pets (the upstairs has rails but no solid walls and the tile floors/steps can be slippery for running feet), the elderly or those with disabilities (because of all the stairs). There is an elevator but it's not large and it does not stop at the middle floor (with two guest bedrooms). There are also still a few stairs to manuever at the entrance and around the pool so wheel chair access could be challenging.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The open air living room and proximity to local wildlife.
Liked least: The pool does not get a lot of sun because of all the trees but it's still gorgeous.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Feb 26, 2016
Thanks for your review! The walk to the house and the stairs can get your heart pumping. It's a beautiful walk in paradise. Glad your group enjoyed all the wildlife at Casa Vista Azul. It's like you have a private wildlife reserve right at your casa. See you next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
John B
Flintstone, Georgia
1 review
“Best Family Vacation Ever”
Reviewed January 6, 2016 for a stay in June 2015

My son Nathan found this place. This was the best family vacation that we have taken in 15 years. My children loved the monkeys coming to visit the house each morning. We also able to see a two toed sloth, howler monkey and many birds from the veranda each day. The view of the ocean was the best ocean view from a house that we have ever experienced. The food was wonderful. The beaches were spectacular and the staff especially Ricky was very helpful and checking in with us and getting us settled. We liked it so much that we would like to plan to come back there again very soon. Thank you for all your help It was very peaceful there!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
What more can you ask for with a villa like Vista Azul? The wildlife that surrounds the house and natural beauty are one of a kind. We are so glad you and your family enjoyed the house to it's fullest. Hope to see you again in the future!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jlieb233
stamford
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Luxurious, comfortable and idyllic”
Reviewed January 4, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The villa was beautiful, comfortable, and immaculate, with every amenity that one could wish for. The support services including the concierge, chef, the maids, the property manager, and the host enabled our family of 15, ranging in age from 16 to 80 to relax and thoroughly enjoy our time there. The surrounding jungle and the ocean views were a feast for the eyes while the wildlife, especially the monkeys, kept us very entertained. Estephan provided tasty, fresh, nutritious meals. The host suggested a number of optional activities led by qualified professionals. Thirteen of our group went on the zip line, which they loved. They reported that equipment safety was a top priority, which they welcomed. The naturalist guided walk in the park was excellent. The beautiful pool was a magnet for family gatherings, as was the large, comfortable living/dining area high up in the trees.

I valued the ecofriendly culture in Costa Rica. The water is potable, and fresh salads can be eaten without fear of getting sick unlike the rest of Central and South America. A car is necessary. Walking can be challenging since there are lots of unpaved, hilly roads and lots of traffic with no sidewalks.

The only amenity missing from this villa is that shampoo and conditioner were not provided.

The

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Thank you for your kind words. We always love when our guests have an amazing experience here and enjoy the beauty of Manuel Antonio! Hope to see you and your family again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing