We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view, excellent food and service.”

El Mirador Bar & Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $60
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: El Mirador Restaurant is located near Arenas del Mar's reception area and pool, overlooking Espadilla Beach, Manuel Antonio National Park, and the Pacific Ocean. El Mirador—which means “the viewpoint” in Spanish—has an open air, covered interior dining area and outdoor seating. Along with breathtaking views and gorgeous sunsets, our restaurant serves breakfast and dinner using fresh, local ingredients. Start your day with our complimentary breakfast: fresh fruits, homemade granola, warm muffins and breads, eggs, pancakes and of course, Costa Rican coffee. Our dinner menu includes highlights such as locally caught fish and other delicacies at this authentic full-service Costa Rican restaurant.
Orlando Florida
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great view, excellent food and service.”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

On our last visit to Quepos in September, we ate breakfast and dinner several times at El Mirador Bar and Restaurant. For breakfast, we chose to eat poolside overlooking the Pacific, breakfast is also served inside the restaurant. The breakfast menu is extensive including several choices of french toast, pancakes, eggs made anyway, freshly made sweet rolls and my favorite fresh fruit, including mango, pineapple, watermelon and freshly squeezed juices. If you are a coffee drinker, indulge. The Costa Rica coffee bean has spoiled me. Every dish was delicious and portions large enough to keep you going all day.
In the evenings we gathered every evening at the lobby bar for happy hour prior to eating dinner. Great wines, cold beer and yummy Costa Rican specialties from the bartenders.
The atmosphere in the open air dining room is very relaxing with soft lighting and soft breezes. Specialty appetizers were always on the table to share. The dinner meals were amazing, the menu is extensive including beef, pasta, fresh fish of the day and enormous shrimp which sat high on a bed of mashed potatoes with fresh veggies. We were also fortunate to be on property when two guest chefs from Philadelphia restaurants were on location to prepare wonderful meals for our enjoyment . Featured was Chef Steve Howells from Blackfish Restaurant in Philadelphia and Chef Joshua Lawler from The Farm and the Fisherman, also in Philadelphia. You could choose to dine from their special 5 course menu, including wine pairing and desert or the standard menu. Either way we always left the table full and delighted.
And last but not lease what would a great meal be without an amazing wait staff? The entire staff was very knowledgeable of the menu and eager to help with suggestions if you wanted to substitute an item.
Be sure to go at least once for breakfast and dinner on your trip to Manuel Antonio you will not be disappointed.

El Mirador Bar & Restaurant is a must on your vacation, you will not be disappointed.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FloridaGram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    42
    12
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, service, and atmosphere”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

I've only eaten at El Mirador one time, but it was a fantastic experience. Not only is the atmosphere great (right next to the ocean with sounds of crashing waves and a cool breeze), but the service and food are fantastic as well. Ken Badilla was my server and he was extremely nice, provided great suggestions, and he even helped me with a little Spanish. I ordered a soup as an appetizer which was delicious. I would love to eat at this restaurant again if I am in the Manuel Antonio area.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Quinn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Green Bay, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Outstanding view and outstanding food to go with it.”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Lovely surroundings, excellent service. Ate here several times while staying at the Arenas del Mar, and every meal was delicious. The menu is not extensive, however it contains local selections and vegetarian, meat, and fish entrees. The view is incredible and adds to the dining experience. (Breakfast is outstanding also, try the breakfast burrito.)

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Joyce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food, Awesome Staff, Wonderful Views!”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We LOVED our stay at Arenas del Mar! The bar and restaurant areas are slightly separated creating two different atmospheres right next to each other. It is located next to the pool and lobby area, which sit at the top of a cliff overlooking the ocean and include a few tables outside by the pool. The lobby/bar area has a social, inviting vibe and is far enough away from the rooms that night time music won't keep anyone awake. Note, it's not a "club" like bar, but a relaxing vacation hang out bar where you can visit with other tourists and make friends with the bartenders who are all very friendly.
The decor in the restaurant itself is very plain, but I don't think that this takes away from anything; the restaurant is open aired, but will keep you dry despite the regular rainfall. It's not uncommon to have one of the three kinds of monkeys go scrambling across the roof while you are enjoying a meal. One visitor commented about raccoons-we were actually sitting at a table, perhaps two feet away from a tree when a whole family came scurrying down the tree. We actually felt that this made our experience all the more special. Large iguanas and sloths can be spotted in the trees if you're paying attention. Who cares about wall coverings when you have the rain forest, its inhabitants and the ocean as a backdrop?!
With respect to the food, we really enjoyed everything we had while we were there. My favorite was actually breakfast-the pancakes are served with a mango chutney and a choice of fruit syrups, including a coconut option that I am still trying to replicate (unsuccessfully) at home! We also enjoyed several romantic dinners during our honeymoon there. Most of them were in the primary restaurant, however, we also enjoyed a private dinner in the restaurant at the beach. The staff rotate between the locations, so you're likely to continue to see the same friendly faces regardless of which one of the venues you choose to go to. The beach location isn't always open, so be sure to check. The prices are a bit spendy where Costa Rica is concerned as a whole, but are on par with other upscale venues catering to international travelers.
We would absolutely recommend anyone visiting in the area enjoy a meal at The Lookout at Arenas del Mar. It's a once in a lifetime experience to enjoy a wonderful meal in a breathtaking location with fun, friendly service.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian and Meg H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“New Chef, New Menu, Same Amazing Views”
Reviewed January 23, 2014

I dined here several times in the fall of 2012 during a chef event and the food was outstanding. In October of 2013 I returned when the same chef (Chip Roman of Philadelphia) was back to introduce a brand new menu that he created. The food and wine selections are even better than before! More local and fresh selections across the menu, including terrific South American wines. This is truly a five star dining experience you would not expect, and a very good value. The staff is very friendly, genuine, and truly aims to please. The restaurant has been remodeled with new finishes and furniture to create an even more pleasing atmosphere sitting right in the middle of the rain forest and looking out to the ocean. A must if you are staying in Quepos or near Manuel Antonio.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank G-Hill64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Mirador Bar & Restaurant also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Mirador Bar & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing