We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Food and Service on our Entire Trip”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Food and Service on our Entire Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2014

Dinner last night at La Luna was the best meal of our entire 8 day trip in Costa Rica. Service was outstanding and only outdone by the food. Beautiful presentation and absolutely delicious. I had the ginger and panko crusted ahi tuna which was out of this world. Fish was caught fresh the day of our meal. Chocolate lava cake was delicious. Prices were reasonable. Live music was a little loud for our taste. I recommend this place HIGHLY

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, June 14, 2014
We are thrilled with the wonderful review our recent guests have posted here.

Thank you so much for coming and experiencing what our La Luna is all about....Great service, Great cuisine and Great prices.

We are proud of what we have created and acknowledge the fact that our guests can experience a dining experience not just a place to have a nice dinner.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,159 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    900
    166
    69
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
107 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, View and Service Recommended by Locals Too”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

My new daughter in law who lives in Manuel Antonio recommended this highly. Not too pricy but super value for what we thought would have been much more expensive. First you park and attendants whisk you to the top of the mtn. by golf cart. A live band greeted us in the open air pavilion at sunset, beautiful! We made no reservation, a Monday night during off season and we got a table for 6 easily. Loved my panko crusted tuna and the Gaia salad was fabulous, highly recommend this speciality. Everyone was please with their food and the price for such an elegant meal,in a lovely setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lynne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for choosing our La Luna Restaurant.

We are over the top please that your experience was wonderful and we welcome you back with open arms.

We know you have many choices to choose and we are humbled that you choose us.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Level Contributor
23 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Unqualified Recommendation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

La Luna is a standout in the mixture of properties vying for tourist trade in Manuel Antonio. Striking architecture, attentive staff who transport you to the restaurant, and then the spectacular restaurant with its panorama view of the Pacific Ocean. Sunset simply accentuates the ambiance.

Servers are excellent. The menu offers plausible choices, not an unrealistic endless list that engenders skepticism. Prices are moderate; very fair for the quality of the food and setting.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeff w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
We simply love the recent review of our guests.

Thank you for stating such wonderful words to describe our La Luna Restaurant.

And thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Honey moon to the moon at La Luna!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014 via mobile

Me encanta la com idea aqui! The food was so delicious and the drinks were great! The bartender, Joshua, makes the best caipirinhas my husband and I have ever had! Definitely would recommend the coconut crusted Mahi Mahi and the Shrimp Tag :) The service was also very good!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sienna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, June 7, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their very kind review of our La Luna Restaurant.

We are pleased you choose us and welcome you back once again to our laid back 5 star cuisine without any attitude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best wait staff in the area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

We were nervous about bringing our small children to this restaurant. It is gorgeous. Beautiful views, lovely decor, outstanding hotel, etc. It's not a place you'd expect to see children for dinner. However, the wait staff was very accommodating. They made us feel very comfortable and they were great with the kids. They even had a kid's menu to our surprise. Our meals were all outstanding. Everything tasted so fresh. There was also really good live music. If it were just my husband and I, it would have been the perfect place for a romantic date. I'd say this was the best dining experience we had during our stay in Costa Rica. Loved it.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Temara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
We are thrilled your dining experience with us was outstanding.

We pride ourselves as being a 5 star restaurant without any attitude.....and that certainly appears to have come through on your visit with us.

Children are always welcome in our dining room and we are happy to make them feel very special indeed.

Please come back and see us when once again in the Manuel Antonio area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing