We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stumbled in, and were whisked away”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were originally looking for a different restaurant, but had walked further than expected, and decided to try something different.

We walked up to the security gate, and, after the staff checked for availability, were whisked up to the main building in a golf cart, up a pretty sizable hill.

That same hill provides a great view from inside the restaurant - you can see almost all of the road between Quepos and Manuel Antonio, as well as the lights of Quepos itself. The night we ate at La Luna, we got to see fireworks happening somewhere in Quepos as we were eating dessert!

La Luna is not cheap, even by San Francisco standards. But there's an amazing amount of options, and all of the food we got was delicious.

Thank Yulia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thanking our recent guests for their comments on our La Luna Restaurant.

We are special and the views from the restaurant of the Pacific Ocean and the rainforest are the very best in the Manuel Antonio area.

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for sharing with other readers on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,302)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

669 - 673 of 1,303 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2014 via mobile

Amazing service and food. Best seafood we have ever eaten! Ceviche was amazing and the mojito's are the "world's best!" That entire staff was fabulous! I would eat here every day of the week if I could.

Thank timothylyork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Wow....such a wonderful review of our La Luna Restaurant!

Thank you for your very kind comments on our service and food. We try each and every day to create a magical experience for our guests and it appears we succeeded once again with our recent guests.

Thank you for sharing your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

The restaurant it's amazing,the view,super clean ,how they treat you.just amazing .the food was good,not the best but good. Great cappuccino :)

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Adri M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thanking our recent guests for using this TripAdvisor forum and sharing their wonderful experience with other readers.

This means a lot to us and we are proud to have given you the service that you deserve.

Please come back to us the next time you are in Manuel Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We did not stay at the Gaia Hotel but visited La Luna one evening for dinner. The service was among the best we have had anywhere in our travels. It was a relatively slow evening (later in the evening) but the service was the appropriate amount of attention. The live music was wonderful.

Great open air dining. All in all it made for a very warm and romantic experience. At the end of the evening they even gave us a ride back to our hotel.

We visited on our final night in Manuel Antonio. If we had visited earlier in the week, it would have meant stopping back again.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank CoupleofGs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

We are thrilled your experience at our La Luna Restaurant was nothing short of wonderful.

Thank you for choosing us and thank you for your excellent comments on our service. We are considered one of the best in the entire Manuel Antonio area and we are so happy you got to experience us.

Thank you for using this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Not only was this my best meal in Manuel Antonio, it was one of the best meals I've ever had. The service was just the right amount of attentive, tables were spaced perfectly to allow privacy, and the atmosphere was perfect. The lobster was superb (based on the few bites my partner let me try) and I loved my surf & turf. Also, don't miss the croquettes. The cost is above average for the area, but this kind of meal back at home (if even attainable) would have cost at least 50% more. Highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alwayssunnyindc_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 9, 2014

Thanking our recent guest for their wonderful review of our La Luna Restaurant.

We appear to have lived up to our spectacular reputation here. And we are so pleased that we did
not disappoint.

Great Cuisine....Great Service and Great Prices = La Luna.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing