We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“View and quality”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Families with children, Scenic view, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Malmo, Sweden
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“View and quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014 via mobile

First off the view is amazing, go here to see the sunset! Drinks are good and the food are in big sizes so you will definetly not leave hungry. We had fish and it was very fresh, desserts were good and the service is the best we had in Costa Rica. This is a place to go when you want something top-notch and value for your money.

Helpful?
Thank NathalieQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Our recent guest pretty much captured what La Luna is all about...most excellent views of the Pacific Ocean and sun sets, most excellent service and most excellent cuisine.....

We thank you for capturing all that we have to offer and welcome your return visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    896
    166
    69
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great option for a special meal or happy hour”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 1, 2014

I can't afford to enjoy "fine dining" every day, but when I can, Gaia is a special treat. The first time I ate here I wanted to lick the plate everything was so delicious! I was a little disappointed that my second time wasn't AS delicious (even though it was also very good). After reflecting on why this may be, I think it is because the chef plays with a lot of different flavors. The first time the mix was perfect for me. The second time, some of the flavors were more peculiar and not as scrumptious to me. For example, a citric carpaccio came as part of our meal and although I took a bite or two and found the flavors interesting, it wasn't something I could eat all of it and wish for more.

I have also been here a couple of times for sunset tapas with girlfriends and it has been perfect. Delicious drinks and every single tapa is AMAZING. The views are beautiful, the staff are attentive, and the restaurant itself is nice and inviting.

They also have live music which is a nice touch and often host guest singers or musicians. I definitely recommend visiting when in the area.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MariaLovinLife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their return visit to our La Luna Restaurant.

And thanking them for their subjective review of their meal. We are very glad you thought it was very good. However, to repeat a gastronomic experience is sometimes very difficult over a period
of time as our chef is constantly improving on his recipe ingredients.

Please come back when again in the area and we will be happy to introduce you to our chef and discuss the ingredients as currently presented.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dine here if you need a touch of class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We experienced great service, excellent meal presentation and preparation; all this in a terrific setting. Parking is a challange. Considert taking e a cab, unless you are staying nearby and have courage enough to walk the twisty,narrow, hilly, main road to the restaurant.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pegchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for choosing our La Luna Restaurant.

Excellent meal , great service and terrific service are all words we like to hear.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
“Impressed !!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014

We went to La luna at least 3 times in one week! Our very very favorite! .Nothing compares to La Luna. 100% recommended

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Paolo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for visiting us 3 times.

We are thrilled you appreciate all that we have to offer at La Luna.

And thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
88 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great view , bad food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2014 via mobile

The view is awesome .we went there for sunset dinner and loved the view.service is prompt and nice .however , the place is missing the most important part of a dinner - good food! The food s below average . They manage to get the desserts wrong too ! We ordered a cheesecake , trying to stick to the ordinary and were still disappointed ! Very expensive by CR standards too! Will not go back .

Helpful?
Thank Gapluching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thanking our recent guests for their comments on our outstanding view and service by our staff.

However, they seem to be in the deep minority on the food comment. We are sorry your attitude
was such but we wish you would have commented during your visit to us enabling our chef correct whatever concerns you might have had.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing