We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best dinner in Manuel Antonio”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best dinner in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

We had a fabulous dinner at La Luna during our stay in Manuel Antonio, by far the best meal we had during our 4 day stay. We got engaged earlier in the day and Joshua, our waiter, made our meal extra special. Highly recommend! We did not stay at the Gaia hotel but wish we did!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lindsey G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
How wonderful of our recent guests to give us such a nice review.

Thank you for that and we are so glad you came to us for the best dining experience while in the Manuel Antonio area.

Our staff are genuinely friendly and will cater to your every need. They love to spoil our guests.

Thank you for your visit and choosing La Luna.

We look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    175
    70
    20
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Upscale in the tropics”
Reviewed January 20, 2014

This is a restaurant at the highest point in the Hotel Gaia in Manuel Antonio. The decor gives it a sleek, modern vibe. The two different ceviche appetizers were excellent. They serve a variety of fresh local fish and meats prepared in interesting ways. It has a spectacular view but we were there at night and didn't see it. The service was friendly and efficient and we enjoyed the jazz guitar duo.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you so much for your review of our La Luna Restaurant.

Indeed, we are high on top of Gaia Mountain and the view is nothing short of breathtaking. Access to the restaurant is via our long winding driveway using electric carts.

With the very best cuisine in the area, we compliment that with the very best service and live Latin music every night.

Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Great food and great view!”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This place is good for a romantic dinner. We had good food and good drinks here. The food was as visually appealing as it was delicious. The kitchen kept us happy with mini tapas in between our meals. The staff is English-speaking and very friendly. It's a beautiful restaurant and the atmosphere is pleasant.

Prices are steep for Costa Rican standards, and we would say that they are equivalent to a date night with drinks in North America.

This place is gringo central, and perhaps that was the only thing we disliked about it.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank SirBiscottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing our La Luna Restaurant.

We are certainly glad you enjoyed our location and cuisine. We take a lot of pride in what we
deliver to our guests and our staff is well trained in the very best service in the entire Manuel Antonio area.

Our prices are very competitive for for what we deliver and we receive confirmation of that with repeat visits during guests vacation experience both internally and outside.

Thank you for visiting us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Spectacular View”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

After dining at mostly bohemian places in the area and loving it we decided to do this for Christmas eve dinner. I felt like I was in a Bond flick as we parked at the hotel, greeted by uniformed security and whisked away in a Golf cart to the hilltop tower where we boarded a slick stainless steel elevator, we're in the jungle btw, which delivered us to a viewpoint that was really amazing for sunset. Happy hour was going strong for 1/2 price (weak) drinks and the service was excellent. Pricy good food and a beautiful sunset.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent comments and for choosing our La Luna Restaurant for your Christmas Eve dinner.

Indeed, we have excellent service throughout our restaurant whether it be in our Ambar Lounge our in our Restaurant.

The sunsets are the best around and we have our Happy Hour discounted drinks from 4-6 PM with live Latin Music.

As for our food.......thank you for pointing out how good it was. We are certainly a cut above the rest in terms of choice, quality and presentation.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Top notch culinary experience”
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We ate at La Luna every breakfast and dinner during our stay at Gaia and can't fault them for anything. The food is amazing, prepared to perfection and creative. The waitstaff is very friendly, attentive and even remember your names (well we did eat there three nights in a row). If you aren't a "white-table cloth" sort of person, it might not be for you. But we enjoyed being spoiled. Oh and the view from the dining room is awe-inspiring. Highly recommend watching the sun set.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank truffle731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Our recent guests are very kind to give such a wonderful review of our La Luna Restaurant.

Everything they said is true inasmuch as dining at La Luna is more than going out and having a wonderful meal.....it is truly a dining experience.

Friendly staff, excellent cuisine and very reasonable prices give us a reputation beyond all other establishments in the area.

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your experience with others on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing