We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent Food”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Such a great place for dinner. Lots of selection, delicious food, great service. This was one of my favorite restaurants while we were in Manuel Antonio. The wait staff is professional and available, but not intrusive. The food is delicious and expertly prepared. Great selection of wines, and the cocktails are delicious. Do not skip the desserts, they are so amazing!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ediver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
On behalf of our entire staff, both wait and kitchen, I would like to personally thank our recent guests for their wonderful review of our La Luna Restaurant.

Every detail of our dining experience is indeed unique in the entire central Pacific coast.

We welcome diners to experience us and leave with an experience like no other.

Great cuisine, Great service and Great prices.......all are welcome.

thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,186 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    921
    171
    70
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Food with a view”
Reviewed August 1, 2013

The restaurant is beautiful settled uphil of Manuel Antonio with a stunning view out to the rainforest and sea. The service is up to perfection very attentive and up to notch. The breakfast is a la carte however they serve next to fresh juices, fresh fruits from region which is a great start into the day. Food is delicious everything freshly prepared and presented.
Overall, great experience, great food and great view.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank franziska_altenkirch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Our wonderful guest just about sums up our La Luna Restaurant, Food with a View.

And thank you for recognizing our professional and friendly service which rounds out what La Luna is all about.

Whether you come for Breakfast, Lunch, Tapas or Dinner.....your experience will be memorable and nothing like any other in the surrounding area.

La Luna is special indeed with a very laid back attitude....flip-flops welcome!

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“I want to go back!!!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

The food and drinks are amazing! My group went for tapas and happy hour, a great deal, if you are on a budget. I have to say that Diego made my new favorite drink: the pineapple jalepeno margarita, delicious! Thank you for the great service and atmosphere, I will be returning before my trip is over.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brandysbeans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Please do come back!

We will again prepare a wonderful experience during our tapas hour which runs from 4-6 PM every day with live Latin music to enjoy.

Our 2x1 cocktails are a crowd pleaser and we are indeed grateful for your wonderful experience to share on this TripAdvisor forum.

We'll be looking for you soon.......
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“One of the best of all time.”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

All right here we go. My wife and I have traveled a great deal over the years and spent many a dollar entertaining clients for corporations in many fine restaurants in Europe, Australia, Hong Kong, etc. I cant remember any that compares to the food, service,and location trifecta we had last night at La Luna.
Joshua was very gracious and extremely helpful with every detail from wine to desert. You really felt appreciated and welcomed by the entire staff. While we missed sunset we also were entertained by the lightening show off coast a bit and it gave a very "Pirates of the Caribbean" look to the bay in MA. Food was fabulous, and the papaya and squash soup has my wife seeking permanent resident status at the resort. By the way Joshua, if you don't get her the recipe she will hound you all the way to Golfito. Coconut crusted mahi, panko crusted tuna, ceviche, house salad, pineapple raviolis, all were very well prepared, perfectly seasoned and expertly cooked and presented. Have I gushed enough over this place? I'm just getting warmed up. The guitar and percussionist were excellent as well. For our last night on the coast I couldn't have prescribed a better evening. While in the area if you don't visit this fine establishment you will have missed a real jewel of the entire Pacific coast.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarkodelFuego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, August 1, 2013
Thanking our recent guests for their very, very kind words.

We are thrilled your experience was seemingly over the top and your evening will be remembered for quite a long time.

Indeed, La Luna sets itself apart from the other eating establishments in the Manuel Antonio area with it's carefully prepared cuisine and it's top notch service.

That combination alone make La Luna shine.

Thank you for sharing with others on this TripAdvisor forum and we welcome you back the next time you are in the wonderful central Pacific coast of Costa Rica.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escondido, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You can't top this!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I read all the great reviews of La Luna and wanted to treat my son here on our last night in MA. We thought it was close enough to walk to from our hotel, but on the way there it started to rain. Our "dressed up" clothes were soaked and we were miserable by the time we got there, but were greeted with such warmth and hospitality, from the man who greeted us in the parking lot to the wonderful waiters - Joshua, Aldo and Diego, that our troubles melted away. We arrived too late to see the sunset, but were greatly entertained by a lightening display all throughout dinner. The cocktails were marvelous - I had a mango martini and my son had a mango daiquiri. The food was fabulous (panko crusted tuna, tequila lime pasta), and we splurged on a wonderful dessert, Lava Flow, and a glass of French Port. Our waiters were knowledgeable, friendly, and went out of their way to make our dining experience over the top. They even arranged for complimentary transportation to take us back to our hotel! What else could I have possibly asked for?? This was the perfect ending to our fantastic vacation here in CR.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diane N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
We are so very happy to have taken care of you before, during and after your wonderful dinner here at our La Luna Restaurant.

If you came for the service, you came to the right place.....and such unexpected in terms of your arrival conditions.

We are pleased to have made your entire evening memorable.

It appears you received the best of the best here in Manuel Antonio.

Thank you for sharing your whole experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing