We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible!”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Wonderful views! Incredible staff! Beautifully presented food! I cannot say enough wonderful things about dining here. Yes, it's a little expensive but completely worth it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank travelinglynn99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Indeed, La Luna is all about it's food, staff and views.

As our location is considered one of the best, if not the best , for viewing the Pacific Ocean and the spectacular sunsets, we are so pleased you enjoyed this aspect.

And for service and cuisine, we are thrilled you enjoyed both.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,371)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

849 - 853 of 1,371 reviews

Reviewed July 18, 2013

Fresa food, attentive service, our waiter was Aldo, excellent view. Tapas are incredible, 2x1 drinks. We were presented pineapple ice cream and sang with a chocolate cake and candle.
Is a highly recomiendes restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Johansans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanking our recent guests for calling us the best in the Manuel Antonio area.

We are truly grateful that you choose us here at La Luna to have a delightful dining experience.

We present our guests with the very best dining experience in the area along with the most creative cuisine possible.

And we love when we can custom design a dinner for our guests when there might be one or two requested changes......no problem.

Thank you for recognizing our attentive service. We have the best wait staff around.

And thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We stayed at Gaia and usually I'm not big on eating at the hotel restaurant as I usually enjoy exploring other places. We tired the other top rated TripAdvisor restaurants in Manuel Antonio but La Luna was by far the best and I'd go as far as to say head and shoulders above the competition. The staff is very professional and friendly plus every meal was delicious.
La Luna delivers Pura Vida with class.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank PerNymberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thank you so much for your very kind and gracious review of our La Luna Restaurant.

We agree with you that most hotel restaurants are not that great. However, La Luna does indeed stand out as one of the truly great restaurants in the entire Pacific Coast region.

Our service is second to none and our menu items are specially prepared by one of the most renowned chefs in the vicinity.

Our wait staff are highly trained professionals with a very pura vida attitude giving our guests a truly special treat while dining with us.

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Where do we begin. We were a party of 6 celebrating two anniversaries and had left Gaia as our last night out as so many people said they were the best!!... What a Disappointment! to start with the overall attitude even when we were greeted was the worst, our waiter literally had to be flagged down for everything we wanted and when he finely came you thought he was doing us a favor, what an attitude. As for the Tapas, so not impressed and the fish which was ordered by three of us had to be sent back by two of us only to have them return the same fish!! My sister complained that it did not smell right only to be told that that was normal for Costa Rican fish. Are you serious! As a New Yorkers we are pretty picky about our dinning experience, this was actually the worst we had in Manuel Antonio. The fish and chips place would have been a better option. To top off the evening, when the check finely came which I might add was VERY HIGH our waiter never ask was everything OK he simply dropped off the check and walked away.
WHAT AN OVERRAITED DISAPOINTMENT!!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Raf F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2013

Where do I begin? I have never seen a review of this caliber in our 7 years of existence.

Whether this is a review of any substance is debated at the highest level here.

We take complete disagreement with all aspects as written while the staff at our La Luna Restaurant are the very best around the entire area.

And our cuisine had been granted acclamations time and time again by numerous guests and professional food critics alike.

The content of this review is questionable and very far from the 5 star reviews we receive on a routine basis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with husband and 2 teens. Everything was fabulous ... food, service, atmosphere, and live music. They even have a large selection of vegetarian choices. The prices were very reasonable for a 5 star resort.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MileHighMom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Thanking our recent guests for their very kind review of our La Luna Restaurant.

Your acknowledgement of our service and cuisine is especially welcome.

Indeed, we have a very comprehensive veterinarian and vegan menu for our guests to choose from. And from there we can even create custom dinners that are special to our guests.

Thank you for having dined with us here at La Luna and taking the time to share with others on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing