We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Special birthday dinner in Manuel Antonio”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Romantic, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Special birthday dinner in Manuel Antonio”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

My husband and I went to La Luna for his birthday. Get there early to see a magnificent sunset and take part in happy hour - we caught the tail end at 6 pm. We had delicious wine through the happy hour deal. I had the house salad and mahi mahi and he had the ceviche and tuna - both good. Delicious complementary lava cake with a rousing birthday song (it seemed like everyone in the restaurant was singing) to finish off the meal!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vanessa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for choosing La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel for your special birthday celebration.

Indeed, many guests come for our tapas and 2x1 cocktail time and then proceed to have dinner with us as the sun sets completely.

Your very kind words are welcome to our entire staff.
Thank you for sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,185 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    920
    171
    70
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“One of the Best”
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We were staying as a small group in the Parador and my friend organised a meal at La Luna. They were very helpful and sent a minibus to pick us all up and take us back.
The meal was one of the best I have ever had, with appetisers and a bonne bouche, a great selection (try the local grouper baked in a banana leaf) and a stunning view of the sunset. The service matched the food....the waiters even opened the door for the ladies when they went to the Loo! A little over the top perhaps but certainly unique.
The price was very reasonable and if you only eat once in Costa Rica then make sure it is there.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Polybin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
We would like to thank our recent guests for choosing La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve and for their very kind review of our restaurant.

Coming to our restaurant around 5:30 PM to sit and have cocktails (2x1 every night) is a favorite with our guests and then the dramatic sunset occurring around 5:45 PM.

Our menu is extremely varied with selections to please every palate and diet. Besides the fabulous fish which is the freshest around and the tempting pork ribs or chicken dishes, we have an extensive vegetarian menu from which to choose.

Thank you for coming to us and experiencing our great cuisine, great service and great prices.

Sharing your experience on this TripAdvisor forum is very much appreciated.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
downey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Excellent!”
Reviewed April 15, 2013

After reading all the wonderful reviews for La Luna, it was a must to eat at this top rated restaurant. We went for the 2 for 1 happy hour and enjoyed the sunset. The ceviche tapa is to die for made with "leche de tigre" is what they called it. Magnificent! Our server ALDO was more than an excellent. Very informative, courteous and gracious. The jalapeno, pineapple martini was so flavorful and perfect. We decided to have dinner there as well. I had the Panko Crusted Tuna and my friend had the Jumbo Shrimp plate. Both were magnificent. The service was excellent. I would go back!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cristinaG557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Thank you for your kind review of our La Luna restaurant.

And thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.

Others reading reviews like this help us out tremendously and we thank you for taking your
personal time to share your experience.

Please come back and see us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington
1 review
“Amazing food, amazing view, amazing service!”
Reviewed April 11, 2013

My best friend got married in Costa Rica and after the wedding a group of 10 of us traveled the country together. We ended our trip in the Manual Antonio area and decided to celebrate our last night as a group together (we traveled from San Francisco, Boston, Pittsburgh, and Melbourne) at La Luna.

The food was amazing here. It was by far everyone's favorite meal of the trip. The service was great, the pacing of our meal was fantastic and the quality of it blew everyone away. The view was gorgeous and there was this great atmosphere there that is hard to describe. It was modern, relaxing, and it just epitomizes how one should feel while on vacation.

When we make our way back to Costa Rica, we will definitely be making a trip back to La Luna! Thank you for helping us end our trip so beautifully.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WashingtonDaisy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 13, 2013
We are over the top thrilled that you ended your wonderful holiday at our La Luna Restaurant.

And equally thrilled that you found our food the best everyone had experienced in your 10 day journey around Costa Rica.

We are a 5 star experience not to be missed. And the best part and our best kept secret is that we have no attitude about who we are or what we do.

Providing our guests daily with great cuisine, great atmosphere and great prices.

Please do come back and see us. We would love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
242 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Easter dinner and our last night in CR - very memorable!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

We just returned from an incredible 10 day Costa Rica trip (Arenal, Monteverde, Manuel Antonio) planned through Catalina at CR Referrals (highly recommended). We are a family of 3 including our adult daughter.

We stayed 4 nights at The Falls Resort in MA which we loved. During our trip planning I asked Catalina for a recommendation for Easter dinner and she made reservations for us at La Luna.

It was very easy to take the public bus from the Falls to Gaia Hotel, 280 colones (about $.55cents) per person. When we reached the hotel we opted to walk up the hill and not take the offered golf cart. The hotel is perched on a hill and does have a spectacular view of the surrounding area. We got there early to be sure to see the sunset. We were a bit surprised that they did not have a larger bar area. It is a small area connected to the restaurant but they were having a 2-for-1 drink special so all was good!

Our dinner was very delicious and the service was amazing!

After dinner we started to walk back down the hill but one of the staff members caught us and suggested the golf cart, warning there could be snakes.

We are so glad we visited this restaurant on our last night in CR. It was a memorable and special experience.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LoveToTravel524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Thanking or recent guests for sharing their Easter Sunday celebration with us here at La Luna restaurant.

We are pleased you enjoyed our hospitality and cuisine along with our 5 star service.

We are after all 5 star service without any attitude. Great service, great cuisine and great prices.

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing