We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent food and reasonably priced too”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Caribbean, Latin, Seafood, Costa Rican, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Scenic view
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
montreal
Level Contributor
91 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Excellent food and reasonably priced too”
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

We took refuge here from the boring fare at another hotel and it was well worth the $20 taxi ride ( for some reson taxis charge $10 no matter how short the ride)
The ceviche, linguine with clams and the steak were all world class. The wines are also reasonably priced. All in all this was our best dinner experience in Costa Rica.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank anachronist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, March 2, 2013
Excellent!! Thank you for recognizing our La Luna Restaurant.

It all comes together with our motto "Great Cuisine - Great Service - Great Prices - Flip Flops Welcome!"

The very best creative cuisine along with great service and prices make for an incredible dining experience. And no attitude!

Thank you for sharing on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    907
    170
    70
    19
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

We had high expectations when we went here. We had checked their menu on their website and already decided what we wanted to eat -the seafood platter. When we arrived we got a different menu and explained the problem and they told us the menu on the website was outdated (then you should update it or remove it). Anyway they were very friendly and said they would prepare the seafood platter for us. After our starters the waiter comes and puts cutlery for pasta on the table, as I got a bit worried I informed him that it was probably the wrong cutlery, which lead to an excuse and a pair of chopsticks appeared instead, totally surprised I told her again and the third time we got cutlery for a steak. At this moment it was so funny that we were laughing. Finally the correct cutlery appeard with a lot of excuses.
The seafoodplatter was ok , but the lobster was so overcooked that we did not eat it.

Staff was really friendly and service minded and we give them 5 stars, but the food was disappointing

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnJohnsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 27, 2013
Well, we are glad you have a sense of humor and laughed at the cutlery issue. The young waitstaff giving you your cutlery had only started two days before. She is now proficient.

And we had just changed the menu. It does take time to change web site demographics and we did it as soon as possible.

We are pleased you received your seafood platter as we make every effort to comply with our guests wishes.

Thank you for your 5 star comment on our wonderful waitstaff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampton, NB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delightful Surprise”
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Many restaurants in the Manuel Antonio area charge too much for a medicore meal. However, La Luna is an exception. The food can be pricy but the food and the service is very good. If one arrives for Happy Hour the drinks are very good and the tapas are good but not expensive. I'd like to see more wines with some at a lower price. We went for a special menu for St. Valentine's Day and for six people the bill came to just under $350.00. Not bad for what we had. Looking at the regular menu, I don't think it would be too much more per preson.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Thank you for your very kind review of our La Luna Restaurant.

We are very happy your experience was a wonderful surprise! Indeed, what you experienced on the Thursday of Valentines Day was our weekly special.

A 4 course meal comprised of an appetizer, starter, main course and desert......all for $30 + per person. This is an unbelievable value. And we have that special three nights per week......Thursday, Friday and Saturday.
Of course our regular menu is very much a great value also.

Please come back when next in the vicinity. We would love to spoil you once again.

Great Food - Great Service - Great Value - Flip Flops Welcome!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best food in Costa Rica?”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

"The best" is a very subjective term I admit, but I feel pretty sure you won't be disappointed with the food, the service or the view at La Luna restaurant.

We were staying at the hotel for three nights and, without a car, thought we might eat in the restaurant on just one night and grab a cab into nearby Quepos to see what other local restaurants might have to offer, but our first visit to La Luna convinced us that we need not go anywhere else.

The setting of the restaurant is quite special. The open aspect looks down over rain forest (a few of the hotel's top suites are in line of sight if you stand up but sit down and focus over the top!!), with the beautiful turquoise Indian ocean in the distance. At night, twinkling lights appear and a cooling breeze makes the environment just about perfect. At one side of the restaurant is a cocktail bar - a wonderful place to watch the sun go down and even more so because it coincides with 'happy hour'!

But it's the food that is the star here. We tested out the menu (in the interests of research of course!) fairly extensively and didn't find anything that even slightly disappointed us. Just before we departed we learnt, to our amazement, that the chef is in his early 20's. To run a restaurant of this standard, turning out fresh, gorgeous tasting dishes at breakfast, lunch and dinner, would be no mean feat for any chef, let alone one of such a tender age.

Local musicians performed during dinner. If, like me, the thought of that makes your heart sink a little - fear not! This is not the slightly-out-of-tune-second-rate-performance that is so often found in resort hotels. Guitar, vocals and percussion had just enough of a South American sound to feel authentic and the volume allowed easy conversation. Sadly, the musicians were ignored by most of the diners who apparently felt a little appreciative applause was beneath them, and that was a great shame.

That aside, if you're anywhere near Quepos it is worth taking a detour to dine at La Luna. Make a reservation for dinner but - at least while we were there - lunch times are quiet. The staff are lovely - friendly and informal but polite and attentive. In fact, I wish I were there now!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 26, 2013
Wow...your very kind review of our restaurant is very welcome and appreciated by the entire staff.

It appears we achieved our goal of creating the ultimate atmosphere in the surrounding coupled with excellent cuisine and friendly and attentive service.

that combination has won us many awards over the years.

Our private motto is: Great Food - Great Service - Great Prices - Flip Flops Welcome!

Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience on this TripAdvisor forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duncansville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Remarkable and Breathtaking”
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We visited LaLuna Restaurant on February 5, 2013 before our departure back to the states. Wow, the magnificient and lush landscaping surrounding the hotel was enjoyable as we rode up to the restaurant on top of the mountain which overlooks the ocean. What a breathtaking view and beautiful sunset. The Tappas bar was relaxing and enjoyable and our appetizers were scrumptious as well as our dinner. Nice presentation as well. You get what you pay for and this experience was definitely well worth it. Kudos to the young chef! You definitely have to experience this restaurant. I'd love to stay here a night or two but we did not get an opportunity to view th hotel itself. Looks grand.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Thank you for visiting our La Luna Restaurant and thank you kindly for your very nice review.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our grounds and surrounding area around the hotel. We have pretty much the best view in the entire Manuel Antonio area for viewing the spectacular sunsets.

Our 2x1 cocktails and tapas are a local favorite. And we love entertaining visitors and guests alike.

Thank you for visiting us and allowing us to spoil you with our great service, great food and great prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing