We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little disappointed”

La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Price range: $2 - $80
Cuisines: Costa Rican, International, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Five Star Hotel Restaurant, La Luna offers a totally relaxed atmosphere, serving mostly Costa Rican gourmet cousine with some international alternatives, in general, with lower prices that other restaurants in the Manuel Antonio - Quepos Area and currently the only Restaurant with a Costa Rican Gourmet Menu. Happy hour offers an array of tapas from 4 to 6 pm offers and a magnificent view of the Ocean, the Mountains with a 360 degree view of the area.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Based off of the previous reviews and #2 restaurant rating, we had high expectations. We started off with two appetizers. The gorgonzola & onion tart was tasty. The snapper ceviche was so-so. I thought the would taste more fresh, but there was still ice on it. For entrees, we ordered the grouper fish wrapped in a banana leaf and the seafood platter. The grouper was cooked perfectly and veggies good. However, there was a bit too much cinammon for our taste. The seafood platter was too salty and a bit overpriced. The wine selection was decent. All in all, it wasn't our worst meal, but wasn't our best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lisamarcelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2012

Thank you for your recent visit to our La Luna restaurant.

Your comments are noted and we have reviewed them with our chef. It appears a matter of style and choice that are considered subjective opinions here.

We are happy to cater to any required changes to our recipes in order to accommodate our guests wishes.

Thank you for taking the time to write on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,356)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

972 - 976 of 1,356 reviews

Reviewed November 20, 2012

This was the first place we had dinner in Manuel Antonio because it was recommended by our hotel (Los Altos) and by our guide book. It did not disappoint! It was very reasonably priced and the food was spectacular. Even better than the price and the food was the service. We arrived and were taken up to the restaurant by a golf cart so we didn't have to walk. They brought us an appetizer, compliments of the chef. We had a few tapas, a coconut margarita (so good!), and dinner. The presentation was wonderful and the taste was better. We had the baked chicken breast and the grouper, both were fantastic. I would highly recommend La Luna to anyone!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jallen1788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 25, 2012

We love to hear such wonderful experiences here at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are all about great food, fantastic ambiance and views and service that is second to none. Please note that the three owners have lived and worked in New York City for quite awhile and know what excellent service is all about...extremely helpful with out being intrusive or overbearing.

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on this TripAdvisor forum with other readers. And please come back so we may spoil you once again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We dined here for 4 nights as we were staying at the Gaia Hotel where this restarant is located. The restaurant has a commanding view over the Pacific. The staff were friendly and eager to please. Impeccable service in the classical style - meal served from the left and empty plate removed from the right. Good selection of fish dishes but the tenderloin was our favorite.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Scott1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

We are continually impressed with our guests perception of how service is conducted in our La Luna Restaurant.

Our friendly and professional staff are thoroughly trained in the proper way to serve our guests. Thank you for your noticing this...

And thank you for having dined with us during your entire stay. We must be doing something right.

Being a 5 star restaurant attached to a 5 star hotel makes the entire dining experience one to remember. Always without any attitude, as shorts and flip-flops are just as welcome as semi-formal wear.

Thank you for sharing your personal experience here on this TripAdvisor forum.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

A world class 5 star restaurant in a remote part of the country. Special apitizers, starters, and a well prepared meal makes for one of the most romantic evenings we have ever had. Beautiful facility at the top of the world. Make sure you get there at sunset and bring a camera as it is breathtaking. Happy hour makes it all the much better! HIGHLY recommend this restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Mickey6448
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded November 20, 2012

We thank our recent guests from Europe for their very kind review of our restaurant. We consider the 5 star experience at Gaia truly special in every aspect.

The views from on top of Gaia Mountain take in the beautiful vistas of the Pacific Ocean and the lush rainforest.

Our service is second to none in the entire region and our cuisine is indeed world class.

And all this in an atmosphere which is warm and friendly. Flip-flops welcome all the time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

We went twice to La Luna during our stay in the Manuel Antonio area and had an amazing experience on both occasions. It was the best food we had in Costa Rica, and one of the very best restaurants we've ever been to, regardless of the country. Some of the dishes I would highly recommend are the Seafood Risotto and the Seafood Grill. The desserts were very creative and delicious as well - I recommend the Churros and Gaia's Secret Sin. The service was discreet but very good as well, and we really enjoyed the live music (a two-man band with guitar and drums). Last but not least, the view from the restaurant is fantastic. The restaurant is perched at the top of a hill - you park at the bottom of the hill and climb up on a golf cart. From there, you see the rolling hills and the ocean. It's best to have an early dinner to see the view before it gets dark (in October for instance, you need to get there no later than 5 pm). In summary, anyone spending time in Manuel Antonio should absolutely not miss La Luna!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank downtown_jerome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tommy-Farrell, Owner at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Thanking our very recent guests for sharing their wonderful experience here at La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve.

We are thrilled you enjoyed our La Luna so much you came twice! Indeed a great statement of the very great things that go on here.

Thanking you for sharing your experience here on this TripAdvisor forum and we welcome you back once again to our little piece of Paradise that we have created here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to La Luna Restaurant at Gaia Hotel & Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing