We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,052)
Filter reviews
1,052 results
Traveler rating
590
317
101
32
12
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
590
317
101
32
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar caravan tour congo restaurant public beach manuel antonio national park short walk to the beach costa rica floor room top floor park entrance closest hotel big pool howler monkeys perfect location main pool musty smell adult only pool
Filter
Updating list...
432 - 437 of 1,052 reviews
Reviewed April 26, 2015

I traveled to the Hotel San Bada with 2 tour groups. There were over 40 people in each group. We spent 3 nights here.
On the plus side, the staff was a joy to deal with. A server named Maykel went out of his way to make guests happy. There were many others that contributed to a positive experience.
The location next door to the entrance of the Manuel Antonio Park made it convenient.
The rooms were comfortable, a good size and had a nice bath area. You could enjoy a howler monkey serenade from your room.
But.......

Many of my fellow travelers had maintenance type issues.
There were air conditoning problems, room keys that didn't work etc. The elevator was very slow and many times not operating at all. The buffet food was just OK, nothing special.

Given the excellent location, I think management has a diamond in the rough.
Perhaps they are relying on the Group Tour business and don't see the need to take care of the day to day maintenance problems, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRQgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2015

Dear Guest,

We are happy that overall our recent guest enjoy the stay at San Bada, thank you for your nice words about our staff they take very serious our guest satisfaction, and feel happy that our location Right next to the National Park had been convenient for you, the wildlife is always around and visible for our guest this is a nice experience they have here in our hotel, we keep reading good comments about our beds and it make us feel gland since we recently changed our mattress, pillows and sheets all that to provide the major comfort to our guest.

We apologize for the inconvenience you experience with the a/c, and door keys this occur if you put your room card key next to magnetic or electronic devices such as cellphones. In regards to the A/C and elevator those were unexpected last minute situations, that as manager we proceed to fix in a few minutes. In the Hotel industry each day is different and many issues happens, the important thing is that we have the competent and professional team in each department to address and solve those issues inmediately and make our guest stay remarkable.

We keep taking very serious our guest recommendations thank you very much for your constructive criticism we are sure that you will see the improvements in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2015

The Hotel San Bada is literally at the entrance to the Manual Antonio National Park. It is a 10 minute walk to a beautiful Pacific Ocean beach. Being right at the National Park it is a bit removed from the center of the town of Manual Antonio. The road through the town of Manual Antonio runs for a couple of miles past many hotels and restaurants. Then there is a little break in the tourist facilities and then the road comes down to the beach area where there is again a number of hotels and some restaurants. We felt the options for food were more limited here than if we had been in the main part of Manual Antonio. There were some options, but not a lot of nice places.

When we first walked into our room it was rather breath-taking. The one all is all glass overlooking the trees with the ocean beyond. Our room was on the fifth floor so we were indeed above the trees. We enjoyed watching the sun set from our balcony. The balcony was rather small but it was adequate for two people. If it is sunny the balcony is a great place to dry wet clothes quickly.

The room was very nice. It had a king size bed, air conditioning, free Wi-Fi, and a good size bathroom. All was very clean and well maintained. The color of the building itself is a bit much, but it is bright and cheery.

The pool was never very busy while we were there. It had a water fall area where you could have the water fall on you. There was a water slide, a hot tub, and a roof top pool in addition to the main one on ground level. The roof top pool had limited hours and was much smaller.

Our interactions with the staff were minimal but pleasant. The desk personnel spoke English fairly well. A lot of tours use this hotel; each night we were there two or three large tour buses were there.

The restaurant had a nice buffet for breakfast. It was similar each morning we were there with a little variety in the hot food. The food was good. We did not eat there in the evening or at lunch as the prices were fairly high. The atmosphere appeared pleasant.

The location is very good if you want to avoid traveling the narrow and sometimes crowded roads in the area. The Park is next door, literally, and the beach is close. All tours we did picked us up at the hotel. The one down side is the distance from a wider choice of restaurants. We never ventured out on the available public transit.

Overall a nice hotel conveniently located.

Room Tip: The higher floor the better. Fifth floor allows you to have a view of the ocean from many if not all of the rooms. If you are lower trees will certainly block your view.
  • Stayed: February 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ford2cars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Public Relations Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded February 8, 2016

Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed our location's proximity to the beach and park. There are more restaurants up the hill towards Quepos, however they are not walking distance. The public transitis another option, it is safe and cheap to head up to the other restaurants.

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your room and the balcony with views of the ocean and trees. We are happy that you had a nice stay.

Thank you for your review.

Cordially,

Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2015

This is a great hotel. The rooms are clean and beds are comfortable. The staff is friendly. Food is good, not great. The two pools are nice, and the towels are readily available. It is right next to the National Park, and you can hear and see the monkeys there. It was fabulous- sitting on the pool on the roof, drinking wine, and watching/listening to monkeys. The hotel is a short walk away from little shops and many restaurants. I would recommend this hotel over and over again to anyone traveling to Costa Rica and the Manuel Antonio area.

Room Tip: ask for a room on the top floor
  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julianne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2015

Dear Friend!

Thank you very much for such a great review.

We feel happy that you have enjoyed your stay at San Bada, we thank you for pointing the comfortable beds, pool area and as you mentioned the Fabulous terrace perfect spot to have a drink, lunch and enjoy the amazing views of Manuel Antonio ocean and National Park, we don’t get tired to hear how much our guest enjoy the location right next to Manuel Antonio National Park and a few steps from Manuel Antonio Main beach, close access to local souvenir shops, bank, supermarket and restaurants.

We thank you for your nice review and hope to welcome you one more time in the near future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2015

We stayed two nights at this uniquely designed hotel and found it to be quite interesting. Waking up to Howler Monkeys outside of your room throughout the night was a little different than what we've experienced in the past, but that adds to the character of the hotel. The elevators are extremely slow and the "free" wifi doesn't really work, but other than that we had no problems at all.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank brw115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2015

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for your recently review about your stay in San Bada!

We are glad that overall your stay in our hotel have been pleased, waking up with the howler monkeys sound is one way how our guest experience the magic of Mother nature, we apologize that elevator and WiFi were an inconvenience during you stay, we are sad we could not hear about your issue while you were here so we could do the necessary adjustments in order for you to have a complete satisfaction.

Thank you very much for your review we appreciate your time to share your experience at San Bada.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 19, 2015

I can't say enough about this beautiful hotel located in one of Costa Rica's most picturesque locations. What really stands out, however, were the staff, from Guillermo who greeted us when we first drove in (and gave me great advice throughout), to all the reception, restaurant/bar, and tour staff to Daniel, the life saver who fixed my tire as we drove off at the end of our stay. These caring, personable, charming Ticos gave the best of themselves to make sure that my family had a truly memorable vacation. I look forward to the day I can go back.

  • Stayed: April 2015, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded May 1, 2015

Dear Guest!

Thank you very much for such a great review!

We truly appreciate that you took the time to comment so wonderfully on your experience with us. Thanking for recognizing what we do best, to provide a unique and sincere service quality, the majority of our staff hired are locals and the most important part is that they love what they do.
We really appreciate you have shared your experience on tripadvisor forum and we hope you can visit us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews