We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Congo Restaurant”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed March 23, 2014

This restaurant had one of the best tasting buffets on our trip, and we had excellent service from the manager, Maykel Cerdas. He recommended a great bottle of wine, was very pleasant and waited on us. The hotel also had free WiFi, and the staff promptly brought us ice when the ice machine was empty. They also tried to help us with materials to repair our broken suitcase. The room was nice and spacious. The shower was nice. There is a great view from the rooftop bar, and it is at a good location to the entrance of the Manuel Antonio Park. We did not have any insects or bugs in our room or even when we went into the park. Maybe it was the time of year, in March.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Charlene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Bada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

437 - 443 of 868 reviews

Reviewed March 23, 2014

This hotel is beautiful. It rises up out of the jungle and looks fantastic. It has a wonderful location - right at the entrance to the park and a short walk to the beach and some shopping. We had a room with two double beds and found the room to be spacious. The ceilings are high and the feeling of space is very nice. The breakfast is pretty good but the staff is slow providing tea and coffee. The first day we finally got up and asked them if we were supposed to serve ourselves. Since they weren't that busy, I think that could be better. I have to say that it was buggy - lots of beetles, mostly dead. I don't know if the hotel could have done anything about it given that it is the tropics but sweeping them up more often might be good. We did have a few problems, some of which I was surprised to find at a hotel of this price. First, we had trouble with the lock in our room, It took them a few tries to decide that the lock was broke and needed a new battery. This was after some poor employee had to crawl from balcony to balcony to open the door. But I will write that issue off as 'could happen anywhere'. What should have been better is the internet access and the computers. The internet access was sketchy and I couldn't print my boarding passes on the computer due to old software. while this certainly didn't ruin my trip, I do think at the price point of this hotel, the computer access should be better. The roof top deck, for adults only, is very nice. And the pool looks nice although we saw very few people using it.

I know that it is a weird topic but we had two hotels that instructed us to throw the toilet paper in the garbage can versus flushing it. If you are from a flush it country, it is very hard to remember to do that. And feels a little weird. Especially for the "dirty" paper. And it makes me wonder about the smell. Not sure of the solution but just want to let the hosts know that it isn't easy to abide by these rules - it is almost automatic for most of us.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjc_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

We just returned from Costa Rica and stayed one night at this bug palace.
The pool is disgusting as described in previous posts. No one was in it of course.
The bathroom smells like a sewer. Insects, alive and otherwise are every where.
The staff is generally speaking rude, they do not care about service or your comfort.
The bar staff was surly, and for meals, the staff never came to our table to serve coffee and they do not have napkins on table available here.
I would not recommend anyone stay here!

Could not wait to get out of this one….

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank WAYNE411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Gerente at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded April 7, 2014

Dear Wayne411,

First of all we want to use this space to explain other tripadvisor readers our version of the story you mentioned. We are questioning if your review is based on a experience happened at our Hotel, but it definitely mentions points that are against our principles and customer service values. Here at Hotel San Bada we are always carrying daily operations meetings with all the departments in order to check our services and give special attention to details and requests according to each guest.

For two consecutive years we received Tripadvisor Travel's Choice Awards, 2013 and 2014 and even listed on the top 25 Hotels in Costa Rica in 2013 and 2014. Those recognitions talks about the passion, dedication and honesty our staff and management are doing in order to provide big smiles on our guests faces.

Every person working at San Bada is committed to customer service and we think it is out of possibilities that you found rude and not caring staff. There is always a supervisor on duty in each department attentive to the guests stay details.

Moreover, your review mentions previous feedbacks which were already taken care of, as our pool nowadays distinguish for been updated with custom hand made anti slippery tiles, and even thought the poolman starts his shift at first hour in the morning.

If there was a problem with your bathroom smell, you should let us know immediately as we may change you into another room, however we did not received your complaint or even a word from you, that let us intrigued how you could slept under the circumstances described?
With the bar and meals we are customer service minded, we are compressive and caring, if you noticed something wrong, or the food was not of your satisfaction, we could replaced your drink, or even prepare you a unique menu according to your needs, our chefs and waiter staf are the best in the area, and they are not limited in their job when customer satisfaction is our main goal. Again, we did not receive a word from you about this issue.

For all our tripadvisor readers, we are a Hotel which takes very seriously each recommendation, suggestion or criticism. But some reviews may lead to false expectative or ideas. We think this review is one of them, if there is a problem during one of our guest stay there is always a solution, as we focus on making your stay a remarkable experience at the best beach and resort in the area.

To all our friends we thank you for your time in reading our version of the story,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2014

Spent a night here on Caravan Tour. The room was dark, and the lighting was insufficient. The room was musty, but this is a tropical area. The AC worked fine. The safe did not work.

There was something that I just couldn't put my finger on that troubled me from the moment I entered the room. Something told me to make sure the luggage remained zipped and not to leave anything out in the room. Glad I followed my gut reaction. In the morning we found huge flying beetles outside the room and some had made it under the door into the room. Some were alive, some not and those were being eaten by ants.

The location was wonderful, right at the Manuel Antonio Park and a short walk to the beach. The roof bar was very nice, with great views of the park and sunset on the beach. The food was ok.

I have no comparison of other hotels in this area, perhaps this is the best one there. But this is not a hotel I would want to return to.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Yvette26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Gerente at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear guest!

Thank you for your recent visit at our Resort!

We are sad to know that you did not experience what San Bada is all about, we strive for a great customer service and as a result welcome back many returning guests.

We already shared your comment with our housekeeping department, we would like if you could notify us any of this inconveniences before during your stay, at least if the problem was not resolved we could change your room into another of your complete satisfaction. As we appreciate a good communication in order to arrange you a remarkable experience at the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica.

Please we appreciate if you could send us an email to info@hotelsanbada.com in order to have more details about your incoveniences and share your thoughs with our Manager in order to improve the aspects mentioned.

Warm regards,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed at the San Bada Hotel last week and had a great experience. You can't beat the location as far as waking up and walking right into the park entrance. The staff was very nice and the view from the roof top pool/bar and our room on the 4th floor were amazing! The bathroom was very outdated in the room but the room itself was nice. Great experience overall!

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kyle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

A big thank you to the staff at Hotel San Bada! In a moment I'll tell you why...

The hotel is located at the end of the road through Manuel Antonio, and adjacent to the entrance to the national park. The property is lovely - including a great pool and swim up bar (if you're in to that...) :-)

The rooms (ask for a high floor - it is only 5 stories) are airy, and all have a view toward the ocean which is about 300 yards away. The sunset from our 5th floor room was spectacular. And we had 2 iguanas hanging out on a three by our window for all three days we were there. They only appeared to move a few feet!

The service is where the hotel stands our for us. We left behind an item of little monetary value but great emotional value to us, and we didn't notice our mistake for a full 24 hours. We got in touch with the hotel and they handled this expertly and with poise and caring that we didn't expect. They recovered our item, sent us an email immediately after finding it, and finished off by sending it to us in Canada. Marylin at the front desk took the lead on this: Thank you to Marylin and your great staff!

Room Tip: Choose the 5th floor!
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PJBeirne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014

We stayed here one night with a Caravan tour and I was glad it was only one night. The highlight of the room was the quiet AC unit. Since the ceilings were high, at least the cold air didn't blow in your face. But the room was dark and the lighting poor, and we had a little "friend" on the patio door jam. The bummer was no minibar or refrigerator.

As for food, the buffet was okay. It was extremely warm at night, but had to enjoy eating in the open air (better than 20 below at home!)

We enjoyed our walk to the Park, along the beach area and to the small shops, which was convenient.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, Gerente at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear Guest!

Thank you for visit and your recente stay at our Hotel!

We will address inmediately the maintanance issues encountered at your room, we will appreciate if you could send us an email to info@hotelsanbada.com that way our Manager can ask you specific details of the room in order to verify in the problem was solved.

It is very curious, but in Costa Rica we usually deposit the toilet paper into the trash bin, as many places uses septic tanks. Specifically in our case, we have a water treatment plant using bacterias, for that reason the company in charge of the function of the plant recommended us not to throw any toilet paper or harmful chemicals into the toilet, as it may kill the bacteria that decomposes the wastes. The result of this is that 99% of the water is clean and reused for gardening.

We hope that even thought there were some issues, the rest of your stay and hotel services such as the restaurante, frontdesk and location were of your satisfaction.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future, sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,479 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $146 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing