We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel and location”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Stayed here over Christmas. Upgraded to a suite on arrival. Rooms were very good and cleaned to a good standard. Food was very good in the restaurant and sensibly priced. Pool on the 6th floor was very good and the views were fantastic. If you want a hotel near to the national park I recommend this hotel

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (883)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

473 - 479 of 883 reviews

Reviewed January 27, 2014

Very large hotel directly next to National Park. Seems to cater to big groups. Two pools including one on the rooftop for people over age 18. Very close to beach. Good breakfast buffet. Huge, clean rooms. Has spa facilities.

Room Tip: Upper floors might have less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank psf1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 25, 2014

This hotel is just 3 years old so some things are very modern like the bathrooms. However the bedding linens and towels need improvement. On the plus side, there are 2 pools. a water slide and a great roof top view of the beach. We were here for only one night, but enjoyed dinner and breakfast included on our tour which was very good. The park is next door and the beach down the street. Lighting was poor. but there is a large balcony but no outdoor furniture. Very scenic.
Only one elevator so pick a low floor.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jfd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Very nice hotel. Staff was very pleasant and attentive. Food service manager was outstanding. He was very friendly and really appreciative for our business. The roof top lounge was nice with happy hour while watching the beautiful sunset.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Very clean. Staff was smiling and pleasant. Food was good. Great shower! The top floor includes a deck bar with breathtaking sunset views over the pacific...don't miss them. The entrance to the park is next to the hotel. Awesome location!

Room Tip: Avoid first floor...can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeKerrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2014

luxurious tropical setting with all views facing the jungle. No views of anything but trees unless you are on the top floor. The rooms open onto an open hallway that overlooks the beautiful pool. The staff is quite helpful and the restuarant excellent.

The rooms have free wifi but are designed with vaulted ceilings and sparse furniture reminding me of colonial india settings. There is no desk and few exposed wall outlets for any electrical carry-ons like computers etc. No seats on the outside patio but you would not want to sit in the humidity and stare at a jungle anyway,

The beds are the hardest I have slept on in many years. Good for your back maybe

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melvin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014

We had the pleasure of visiting Hotel San Bada in the first week of January. The staff was courteous, attentive and ready to please! We enjoyed the fact that staff member, Luis Carlos, remembered our names at the pool bar in the afternoon and later in the evening when he was our waiter at dinner in the Congo Restaurant! The rooms were very clean and well maintained. We had a 5th floor room (actually two rooms) that had a beautiful view of the sunset in the evening and a nice view of the ocean in the morning. "Pura vida" is a saying you hear a lot in Costa Rica. But at the Hotel San Bada, it's the way of life! Thank you for a great visit and we hope to visit again someday!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the highest floor to see the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,434 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
922 reviews
1.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $192 - $373 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing