We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great family hotel”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 30, 2012

The San Bada Hotel is in the prefect location for a fun filled a family vacation. They are at the entrance of the park . The staff is knowledgable of all the activities available in the area . The hotel is very well maintained. Each room has a refrigerator. The staff could not have been easier to work with and nice

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you for your precise review about our Hotel San Bada. You are right, we have a perfect location that allows our guests to enjoy the beauty of the Manuel Antonio National Park and pristine beaches in a walking distance from our rooms.

But most importantly, we are happy that you had a great service experience with our local hired staff; our friendly front desk team spoiling you 24/7 and always pleased to help our guests with booking the best activities in the area or simply give a recommendation. We would like to recommend to our T.A. readers our Mulguri Waterfalls Horseback riding Tour, definetely a tour with Hotel San Bada signature, through 4 exclusive pristine waterfalls and jungles.

Thank you very much for staying at our Resort! And we definately await for your return at our Resort.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (865)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Bada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

588 - 594 of 865 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2012

We stayed at San bada the last 4 days and it was wonderful. The rooms were clean, the views of the forest were plush and the staff could not have been more gracious or helpful. Any questions were answered quickly and they were extremely helpful with activities and transportation. The hotel is family owned and the 2 brothers and staff were amazing. We had special dietary requirements and the chef was extremely accomodating. Sunset from the rooftop deck was amazing and you can see the pacific on one side and the jungle on the other. The uncrowded beach was a 2 minute walk. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: The rooms on the 4th and fifth floors have the best views
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marc B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear B Family,

Greeting from the sunny beaches of Manuel Antonio! We want to thank you for your visit to Hotel San Bada, we hope you have enjoyed your family vacation in Manuel Antonio.

We were very honored with your visit at our Resort and delighted to share with you and your family great memories. We are glad that our Hotel facilities such as the Sana Spa, Congo Restaurant, ocean view bar, three pools, free Wi-Fi, nice ocean and jungle views plus the fine attention from our staff, all this combined with the perfect location next to Manuel Antonio National Park were very important for your vacation experience at our Resort.

For all our friends who are planning visiting Manuel Antonio, our staff always will be happy to assist you with any arrangements and clarify all question you may have, moreover our Chefs will gladly accommodate our menus in case you need a special diet or requirements.

Again, thank you for your review and we look forward your return.

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This hotel is superb! It is close to the beach and right next to the national park. The staff are exceptional! They are so nice and helpful We ate at the restaraunt in the hotel every day/night. The food was well priced and exquisite. They do beautiful presentations for the meals and the food was just so delicious. I definitely recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Travel_advenures
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel. We are glad to hear that our hotel and the staff exceed your expectations.

For us it is really pleasant to know that you enjoyed the dishes served at our Congo Restaurant, our experienced and well trained Chef prepare all our dishes with fresh local ingredients to guarantee the best culinary experience with fair prices. We highly recommend to all our future guest to visit our restaurant and enjoy our vast menu with options for all the family as well as vegetarian options.

Thank you again for taking your time and sharing your experience with other readers, all your comments are welcome.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our 2 week vacation in Costa Rica. Hotel San Bada was an amazing place to kick off our trip! The staff is extremely helpful and courteous and really helped us to relax during our stay. If you stay you HAVE to do the Mulguri trip, it was easily the best thing we did while we were there. Cristian was our guide for the trip and made sure we had a great time - stopping to show us some wildlife and allowing us to move at out own pace, it didn't feel rushed or scripted at all.

The beach is about a 2 min walk from the hotel with several little restaurants and bars nearby. Evenings at the hotel were very relaxed, and the on premise restaurant is superb. Sunset watching on the rooftop was great with a pool to cool off in and a bar for some refreshing frozen drinks (you can order food there too for a sunset dinner).

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelinKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest!

As the manager of the Hotel I sincerely appreciate your honest thoughts and time for sharing this review!

We appreciate your kind words and we feel happy knowing that enjoyed the best features of our Hotel, the Mulguri Waterfalls tours, our Restaurant, the location, our rooftop terrace with ocean and sunset views and more important the human quality from our staff.

Thanks a lot again for taking your time for this wonderful review, please do not hesitate to visit us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our stay at San Bada was wonderful! We enjoyed this vacations so much that we can not wait to return. Humility and good service of the staff there was spectacular. The Hotel has one of the best locations, is at the entrance of the park and with a breathtaking view. On the sixth floor is the Perezoso Bar, a pool and a huge balcony to watch the sunset quietly. The architectural design of the building is impressive, and the decor of each room just beautiful. You can see how they took the time to think of every detail so that guests get comfortable during their stay at the hotel. The pool and other amenities of the hotel were wonderful. We are truly happy, and stress free thanks to them! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to Hotel San Bada and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Right as you say, our hotel has one of the best locations in the area. During the construction of this jewel we care of every single detail in order to guarantee a comfortable experience to our visitors; we are the newest hotel of Manuel Antonio and from now we are rank among the best options for traveling to the area.

We hope you had enjoyed the nice sunsets and views from our Perezoso Bar as well as the good service of our staff. We would be happy to spoil you once again in our tropical rainforest overlooking the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

In 2005 I reviewed a hotel near the park and I could never get a reservation again because it was always filled..... But this is the BEST place I've ever stayed and the staff deserve my accolades despite the personal impact it may have on my future visits. The location is perfect -- right near the park and the vendor stalls; very close to restaurants and the beach. The staff are so gracious and helpful that I felt embarrassed being pampered so much. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the restaurant and they did a fabulous job -- candles with jungle ambiance -- who could ask for more? And, of course, the hotel is right next to the park so the squirrel monkeys sought refuge from the rain in their rooftop bar.... The air conditioning worked; the internet was fast and easy; the staff were incredible; the beds were comfortable; the shower was powerful and hot (when wanted)... If there was a 5+ rating, this place would have been given it. I just hope they save a space for us when we return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a balcony facing the park and the trees where the birds and the monkeys visit.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silbermanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear friend,

Thank you for sharing your kind review about our hotel!

We feel happy to learn that you enjoyed your thanksgiving vacation with us; it is good to hear that you liked our thanksgiving special, aside of your experience with the monkeys at our Perezoso Bar. Also we are glad that you took advantage of our priviledge location right next to Manuel. Antonio National Park entrance and that our staff made your stay very pleasant.

At San Bada we are looking forward to pamper you one more time when you wish to return to our lovely hotel.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My stay at San Bada was one of the most relaxing I have ever had. The staff pampered me to no end. The hotel and its surroundings are beautiful. It is about as close to Manuel Antonio National Park as you can get. My only regret is that I did not stay longer than I did.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor the best. Easy access
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest!

We are pleased to hear about your relaxing experience with us. Thank you for taking of your time for writing this tripadvisorreview!

Your are completely right! our privileged location allows our guests to enjoy of the beauty of Manuel Antonio National Park and its beaches only a few steps from the hotel, and results in more valuable and enojoyable time at the epicenter of the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. We will be more than happy to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,581 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,265 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,477 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $144 - $304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with BookIt.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing