We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jewel in the Rainforest”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 4 nights during our 2 week vacation in Costa Rica. Hotel San Bada was an amazing place to kick off our trip! The staff is extremely helpful and courteous and really helped us to relax during our stay. If you stay you HAVE to do the Mulguri trip, it was easily the best thing we did while we were there. Cristian was our guide for the trip and made sure we had a great time - stopping to show us some wildlife and allowing us to move at out own pace, it didn't feel rushed or scripted at all.

The beach is about a 2 min walk from the hotel with several little restaurants and bars nearby. Evenings at the hotel were very relaxed, and the on premise restaurant is superb. Sunset watching on the rooftop was great with a pool to cool off in and a bar for some refreshing frozen drinks (you can order food there too for a sunset dinner).

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank TravelinKyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2013

Dear Guest!

As the manager of the Hotel I sincerely appreciate your honest thoughts and time for sharing this review!

We appreciate your kind words and we feel happy knowing that enjoyed the best features of our Hotel, the Mulguri Waterfalls tours, our Restaurant, the location, our rooftop terrace with ocean and sunset views and more important the human quality from our staff.

Thanks a lot again for taking your time for this wonderful review, please do not hesitate to visit us again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (867)
There are newer reviews for Hotel San Bada
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

593 - 599 of 867 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

Our stay at San Bada was wonderful! We enjoyed this vacations so much that we can not wait to return. Humility and good service of the staff there was spectacular. The Hotel has one of the best locations, is at the entrance of the park and with a breathtaking view. On the sixth floor is the Perezoso Bar, a pool and a huge balcony to watch the sunset quietly. The architectural design of the building is impressive, and the decor of each room just beautiful. You can see how they took the time to think of every detail so that guests get comfortable during their stay at the hotel. The pool and other amenities of the hotel were wonderful. We are truly happy, and stress free thanks to them! :-)

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Natira83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to Hotel San Bada and for posting your review on Trip Advisor.

Right as you say, our hotel has one of the best locations in the area. During the construction of this jewel we care of every single detail in order to guarantee a comfortable experience to our visitors; we are the newest hotel of Manuel Antonio and from now we are rank among the best options for traveling to the area.

We hope you had enjoyed the nice sunsets and views from our Perezoso Bar as well as the good service of our staff. We would be happy to spoil you once again in our tropical rainforest overlooking the warm waters of the Pacific Ocean.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

In 2005 I reviewed a hotel near the park and I could never get a reservation again because it was always filled..... But this is the BEST place I've ever stayed and the staff deserve my accolades despite the personal impact it may have on my future visits. The location is perfect -- right near the park and the vendor stalls; very close to restaurants and the beach. The staff are so gracious and helpful that I felt embarrassed being pampered so much. We had Thanksgiving dinner in the restaurant and they did a fabulous job -- candles with jungle ambiance -- who could ask for more? And, of course, the hotel is right next to the park so the squirrel monkeys sought refuge from the rain in their rooftop bar.... The air conditioning worked; the internet was fast and easy; the staff were incredible; the beds were comfortable; the shower was powerful and hot (when wanted)... If there was a 5+ rating, this place would have been given it. I just hope they save a space for us when we return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a balcony facing the park and the trees where the birds and the monkeys visit.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Silbermanlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear friend,

Thank you for sharing your kind review about our hotel!

We feel happy to learn that you enjoyed your thanksgiving vacation with us; it is good to hear that you liked our thanksgiving special, aside of your experience with the monkeys at our Perezoso Bar. Also we are glad that you took advantage of our priviledge location right next to Manuel. Antonio National Park entrance and that our staff made your stay very pleasant.

At San Bada we are looking forward to pamper you one more time when you wish to return to our lovely hotel.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012

My stay at San Bada was one of the most relaxing I have ever had. The staff pampered me to no end. The hotel and its surroundings are beautiful. It is about as close to Manuel Antonio National Park as you can get. My only regret is that I did not stay longer than I did.

Room Tip: I liked the ground floor the best. Easy access
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest!

We are pleased to hear about your relaxing experience with us. Thank you for taking of your time for writing this tripadvisorreview!

Your are completely right! our privileged location allows our guests to enjoy of the beauty of Manuel Antonio National Park and its beaches only a few steps from the hotel, and results in more valuable and enojoyable time at the epicenter of the most beautiful beach in Costa Rica. We will be more than happy to welcome you again soon.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Stay here. The rooms were the best we had in Costa Rica. Big enough not too big. Decks over looking the beach and close to the Man. Ant. Park. We drove here and parked at the hotel before we checked in.....they were accommodating. The bathtubs were a little awkward getting in and out of but nice nonetheless.

Staff--OUTSTANDING
food --GREAT
facilities-- outstanding
proximity to beach and park--the best

Internet center, tv in rooms, quiet, wake up to the sounds of the jungle.... great for kids and families or couples.
When we come back we will stay HERE.

Room Tip: doesnt matter..... upper floors have view from room of beach but even lower rooms can enjoy the soun...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank EcoAdventuretraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear guest!

Thank you very much for your nice review on our Hotel San Bada!

Our goal is to offer the best vacation experience to all our guests, for this reason we strive every day to improve the quality of our services, we are very glad to know that you had an outstanding stay at our Resort, from the warm attention of our staff to the amenities and comfortable facilities.

As part of the advantages we have because our location as you described well in your review, is waking up listening to the sound of the jungle and the ocean (superior, deluxe rooms and suites), we are excited that you shared with others this important aspect.

Definitively, we will be happy to welcome you in a future visit!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Let me start off by saying the staff at the San bada hotel Manuel Antonio is extremely well trained, are very nice and very professional.
Now my 2 star rating would actually be 2.5 but there is no 2.5
Ok so we arrived in town to find the town very slow, of course it's rainy season that was expected. Along the road there were a couple signs to San bada hotel. But as we got closer there were no more signs and we had a little trouble finding it. The hotel was empty, Upon check in the receptionist and the bell boy took us to the room carried our bags ect. The room was average at best, very hot as the drapes weren't closed during the day when they turned the a/c on. The hotel says they are green so I was surprised that the a/c was working so hard when a small about of tint on the window would have solved that problem. The bathrooms were clean, the sink was updated. I would not recommend these rooms with a bath tub for the elderly or disabled because it is hard to get into the tub. After check in we checked out the town, went to the marlin restaurant down the street and had a snack. Upon returning to the hotel it had begun to rain, we took our laptops (my husband must have internet when we travel for work) up to the 6th floor to check out the jungle/ ocean view. No internet.... Figured it was from the rain, even though we live in costa rica and our internet is not effected from the rain at all. That was ok for the time being. At 4:30 we wanted to order dinner after sitting for a while. But the waiter or any staff was no where to be found. Finally 30min later he came up, was very nice, very good English as well very professional. We ordered the Congo burger I had heard so much about from the other reviewers.. My mom and I asked for it to be cooked well done. 1 hour later the food finally came and the burger was completely raw, and bleeding through the bun. After another 45 min it came back and it was terrible, falling apart, no catchup for the fries no napkins no forks. We couldn't even tell the staff because there wasn't any. At 7 the Internet still hadn't returned, the staff said it was the rain.
Upon going to sleep early we noticed noise coming from the room either above or right behind us, as we were a corner room I couldn't tell. We could here everything. I was upset, I have worked in hotels before and you never put guests that close if there is no one in the hotel! The next morning there was still no Internet, the reception said the manager was in at 10 and he needs to reset the connection. 1:30pm rollers around and still no internet and no manager has arrived. We left and went to town to get internet.
We didn't eat there again we went to victories Italian restaurant which was amazing.
We ended up leaving a day earlier because the hotel didn't make us wait to stay. There was know one in the rooms they could have upgraded us or something

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cabobunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thanking our recent guests living in Costa Rica for staying at our Resort! We loved hosting your husband, mother and law and you earlier this week. We appreciate your kind words regarding our staff, we really strive to provide the best service possible. And your comment highlights one of the great things about our Resort well trained, very nice and very professional staff.

After reading your review we share it with everyone from the staff, I would like to comment on several of the issues that appear not to have met our guest expectations. First of all you arrived during our yearly maintenance period and besides that the night before we had serious rainstorm with lightning. That caused the night before almost five small blackouts for periods less than 1 minute. As you can tell, these blackouts were the responsible of internet cuts, as the routers and other equipment works with electricity (there is more than 1 routers and switch as a conventional home network), however after 20 minutes you reported the problem we were able to fix it, when our concierge try to notify the solution you were not reachable because you went out. To avoid this issue in the future we contacted our Internet supplier to avoid this kind of hassle to happen again using UPS and increasing the speed.

As you quoted in your review, our staff is very well trained, for that reason we were surprised that you did not notify us the issues during your stay, sure that would assist our staff and us as managers to improve your stay. We sincerely apologize for the issues presented during the afternoon, we already spoke with the waiters and that day unfortunately we were short of staff because the others were in their day off or on vacations. As the inconvenience with the meat it was our mistake with the desired cooking doneness, however it is important to clarify that all the ketchup, ranch, and other sauces were served in different plates as you requested, and after we brought you the new burger, all dishes were returned empty and your husband even gave our waiter a generous tip. We certainly did not suspected what you reviewed.

Regarding the room you forgot to mention that you booked a room in the first floor, and we upgraded you to a room in the third floor, with this explained we want to let our tripadvisor readers that we want to make each of guest stay remarkable since the very first moment they enter the Hotel

Overall, we believe that this particular negative feedback is related to the internet issues, which are going to be taken care of and the inconvenience presented during their only one time dinner at our restaurant, which we will definitely correct.

Here at Hotel San Bada we are fully committed to outstanding hotel experience for our guests, that is why we really appreciate when these issues happen to communicated to us while you were staying with us, as we are eager and empowered to correct any failures on our part and try and make you as comfortable and relaxed as possible.

We would love a chance to welcome you back to our hotel. Until then, all of us at San Bada remain fully at your service!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

During our memorable stay in San Bada we had everything we could ask for our vacation in Manuel Antonio. My kids enjoyed the big pool and the fast slide, they ejoyed the Congo Burger (very large sized burguer) every day during our visit. The hotel is right next to the main entrance of the park, my husband loved the location because it was so easy to visit the reserve. Also we visited the beach outside the park it was a minute walk from the hotel. The Spa is so beautiful and they have a great therapist she really make great facials and massages. The food in the restaurant is amazing, try their mahi mahi dish.
The staff take cares about everything, aways smiling and attentive, thank you San Bada for our wonderful experience

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KarolSanders1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded December 14, 2012

Dear friend!

Thank you for such kind review!

You cannot imagine how satisfied we feel when reading comments like yours; Hotel San Bada is the perfect spot for family´s vacation, offering from delicious menu options and fun for the youngest ones to a relaxing time for parents, all in safe and friendly environment that enable our guest to enjoy their stay with us and all the things Manuel Antonio has to offer. Our focus is to provide memorable experiences to our guest and you are a great example of that.

Again, thank you very much for sharing your wonderful moments with others.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,582 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
916 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,268 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,478 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $146 - $303 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, BookIt.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing