We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, scary waterslide”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed April 11, 2012

The hotel is a nice place to stay fro just the night. The pool is nice but the wateslide is really fast and scary. The restaurant is really good for breakfast. Get the pancakes! The staff is really good at booking trips and made the stay much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ticatraveler1997
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2012

Dear ticatraveler1997,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review. We value all our guest’s feedback and it is rewarding for our staff to read of your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, it is hard to appreciate Manuel Antonio National Park and surroundings charm in just one day. But we are glad that you loved the Hotel and the staff.

The waterslide more than scary we consider it thrilling, funny and exciting for most of the adults and kids that frequently use it during their stay. We would like to tell our tripadvisor friends that we have a sign next to the waterslide with the rules with safety procedures and using instructions.

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel San Bada in the near future.

Pura vida!

Your friends @hotelsanbada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

655 - 661 of 895 reviews

Reviewed April 2, 2012

Costa Rica's slogan, "Pura Vida" (pure living, great life), permeates the Hotel San Bada and its friendly staff and outstanding location. The truly excellent, reasonably-priced food, and great service at San Bada's "Congo Restaurant" alone would justify it as a destination. But, its location right at the entrance to the renowned Manuel Antonio National Park (basically, you're in the rain forest) and a one minute level walk to the Pacific Ocean beach render it rare indeed! It enjoys scenic vistas of the Ocean as well as the rain forest. We had dozens of monkeys, several iguanas, and all sorts of birds within several yards of our 5th floor room. We'd return!

Room Tip: The highest floors have the best ocean views. Duh?
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MarkLeider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2012

Dear Mark Leider,

Thank you so much for your great review! It sounds like you both had a very pleasant stay last march when you visited us, and got to take advantage of all that our hotel and our staff have to offer. We are glad to share the same opinion 100% about the restaurant Congo - it is seriously taken care of by the best chefs in the area, and we strive to become one of the best restaurants in Ml Antonio, with great comments like yours we think we are going to made it faster.

The GATE to Manuel Antonio National Park or the touristic EPICENTER of Manuel Antonio, thanks to our great location right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, the Hotel has been described with such words by many guest and notorious agencies.

Besides the great location each of our rooms offers private balconies from where you can see dozen of animals that frequently visit Hotel grounds daily. A combination of jungle trees and ocean can be seen from our rooftop and part of our rooms.

We thank you again for choosing our Hotel in your recent vacation, and we invite other tripadvisor readers let us be a transcendental part of your next vacations at the most beautiful and famous National Park in Costa Rica.

Pura vida!

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 24, 2012

From the moment we approched the hotel to the time we checked out, we had nothing but the best, fastest, freindliest service. the staff goes out of their way to make sure that your stay is nothing but the best. they have two really nice pools, one in on the sixth floor in the "adult area" which is the perfect spot for watching the sunset. there is a small bar, a small pool and a deck with very comfortable seating. just perfect!!! all of the food and the wait staff were great at the restaurant. there is a short walk to the beach, with venders all around for great souvineers. and the enterance to the park is at the enterence to the hotel. perfect location for any thing you want to do in Manuel Antonio. we are going to try to arrange a wedding on that 6th floor deck @ sunset if it is possible.

Room Tip: the higher your floor the better the view!!! (there is an elevator) ask for a superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank barbra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your great review! And for sharing with others in T.A. your experience at our Resort!

It sounds like you both had a very fun stay and got to take advantage of all that our hotel and our staff has to offer.

We agree with you100% about the rooftop - it is seriously awesome up there and such a perfect way to chill out watching the sunset!

We take great pride that you had a delightfull time in our restaurant Congo, your review was very kind. Each day we strive to share delightfully moments with guests that visit our restaurant!

Thanks for choosing to stay at Hotel San Bada, we will be very honored if you choose our Resort for your wedding, looking forward to meet you again in the future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

The staff in the front desk really go out of their way to make sure I was taken care of. There were a couple of times where I had a tour booked but due to some confusion with the company that booked the tour, they thought I was in a different hotel. The staff at the front desk really did not have to get involved because I did not book the tour with them, but that did not stop them from getting involved and fixing everything so I can resume enjoying my vacation. Likewise, my last night there I had requested that I would need a taxi around 7:15 the next morning so I can make my flight and sure enough my taxi was there at 7:15. The hotel is in a great location. 5 minutes to the beach and 2 minutes from Manuel Antionio National Park.There is WiFi throughout the hotel which was great. My only recommendation for improvement would be the hotel restaurant. The staff is great and freindly. The breakfast buffet was good and I was able to get a good meal in before starting my day but it would have been nice to have more selection for dinner. Fortunately my last dinner there, they allowed me to order something from the lunch menu and I have to admit that the Congo burger was very good. Next time I am in Manuel Antonio, I will stay at San Bada again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidwayPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear MidwayPete,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with others in T.A. about your recent stay in our Hotel!

We really appreciate your time for expressing how our frontdesk representatives did what they certainly like to do. We strive and it is in the mind of each of us to provide the best service possible. And after reading your review we are glad to know that we made your stay a memorable time!

It is important to mention that we always recommend booking the tours directly at the Frontdesk, at this point we can ensure that the tour is totally confirmed with best guides and tour operators in the area.

Thank you for pointing out that we offer free WiFi for our guests, which can be accessible from the rooms, pool and the restaurant.

We expect to open a new spa and gym for our guest during the next few weeks. So in your next visit to our resort you will be surprised for the new added services. Also we will certainly take into consideration your observations about expanding the dinning menu.

Thank you again for sharing your experience and we look forward to welcome you at home in your next visit!

Pura vida,

San Bada friends!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Perfect design in rooms. Luxurious attractions at easy and close access. Excellent service! Great pools and great views offered at the Hotel.

Room Tip: All Rooms are great. Would suggest 5th floor for best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2012

Dear Mike H

Thank you for your recent visit to our resort and for sharing with others your experience in T.A.!
We appreciate your comment, and your kind words regarding our Hotel unique design, we highlight ourselves as an original Hotel, friendly and helpful service staff committed to bring out their best to satisfy our guest needs.

We praise ourselves more than a luxury place a comfortable resort, door to door to the National Park entrance, close to beach, free and secure parking. Our rooms were designed to provide the best accommodation possible, we are happy that you found the 5th floor rooms, specially our deluxe rooms with full ocean view.

For T.A. readers we also have a wood deck at the rooftop, with ocean and incredible sunset views, in the same place there is also bar and a charming pool.

Thank you again for sharing your thoughts and we hope to definitely welcome you back again in the near future!

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My gfs and I (5 people) stayed here for 4 days in Feb 2012. The staff was welcoming and gave us great advice on where to eat and what tours to do. Breakfast included, and we were there every morning - simple and consistent continental food, fresh fruits, juices and CR coffee, etc. The room was spacious and pretty up to do date. Free wifi all around the hotel. Walking distance to beach, souveniour shops and the nature park is right across the street! Has a family friendly pool with slide, but we didn't get a chance to use it since the beach was RIGHT there; also has a roof top area to chill and watch the sunset. It was a very relaxed and enjoyable stay. No complaints.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nishi381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SanBada C, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post your great review. We value all our guest’s feedback and it is rewarding for our staff to read of your comments.

We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, it is hard to appreciate Manuel Antonio National Park and surroundings charm in just one day. But we are glad that you loved the Hotel and the staff.

We just want to clarify that now our breakfast is costarican typical buffet, including yogur, fruits, cereal, gallo pinto, omelet station, bacon or ham, etc...

I sincerely look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel San Bada in the near future.

Pura vida!

Your friends @hotelsanbada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good to be close to the beach, and nice to be close to the park, but both these are readily accessible from many neighboring hotels via free bus or cheap taxi.

This hotel is newly built -- but shoddy construction (fixtures falling off in bathrooms, for example. Rooms are dark. Employees are pleasant and are making an effort.

Worst feature was a billing problem that I'm trying to resolve 6 weeks after checkout. San Bada overcharged me (two extra nights; that's more than $500), but in my haste to get into a cab and leave, I didn't notice, and signed. Saw the problem when I got home, contacted them. and they acknowledged their "mistake." Told me that they'll refund the money. Many weeks, and many emails later, they've failed to rectify. So I've filed a complaint with my credit card company.

Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
Thank podleyblumstone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dporrascr, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this reviewResponded March 25, 2012

Dear Janice Blustein,

Thank you for choosing Hotel San Bada for your recent stay with us! Your comments in regards to the location of the Hotel and our staff service are very kind.

Also during your stay we believe you had a positive time, besides the upgrade we gave you to a superior room with ocean view. However we have to apologize for the misunderstanding presented during the check out, somehow our frontdesk representative thought your reservation was directly without the intermediation of an online reservation website and was not paid. After noticing this issue, hours after on the same day we sent an email to the bank asking to refund your credit card, however the time it takes is at the mercy of the bank here in Costa Rica which controls this service.

We level up this case to the management of the bank in order to speed up this process. And according to the bank on February 27th they retired the funds from our account and sent it to yours. At this point we want to clarify that your issue is resolved.

Overall, we understand this process may captured some of your patience, but we want to share with other T.A. members that we have been supportive to our guest and we have a philosophy committed to customer service. Moreover we are going to talk with bank management in order to make any necessary changes and/or corrections to speed up this kind of processes.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
1.5 mi away
Makanda by the Sea
Makanda by the Sea
#16 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
605 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#8 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
La Mariposa Hotel
La Mariposa Hotel
#14 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,443 reviews
2 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,634 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#19 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range: $182 - $423 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, BookIt.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing