We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WONDERFUL HOTEL”
Review of Hotel San Bada

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel San Bada
Ranked #13 of 46 Hotels in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
SJ
1 review
“WONDERFUL HOTEL”
Reviewed September 28, 2011

I stayed in this hotel during green season with my wife and kids and we love it! As soon as we enter to this beautiful property the staff treated us like royalty. My kids love the amazing waterslide and the pool while my wife and me we enjoyed the beautiful Manual Antonio nationa park (this hotel is the only next to the national park and its very close to the beach) I highly recommend to visit this park because of its beauty and beaches. We defenitely are going back to this hotel maybe the next year in dry season and we also recommend everyone that wants to stay next to the park and close to the beach, and the hotel ameneties are great! (i recommend the hotel's restaurant) Thanks San Bada for taking care all of us

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank watsonmike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

856 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    468
    271
    80
    27
    10
See reviews for
299
302
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Not Telling
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2011

Pros: Service was great by everyone (upgraded my room for free, welcome drink was a nice touch, offered an umbrella by security guard when i went out in the rain, didn't charge me for a bad guided tour I had,etc)...Location is very good, Manuel Antonio National Park just steps away (do a self-guided tour for $10 so you can go at your own pace and the nice beaches are within the park, not the beach by the street)....Breakfast was really good and included (fruits,eggs,sausage,gallo pinto,orange juice,coffee,etc)....Room was nice for the most part. Nice obstructed view of ocean and trees where I saw iguanas climbing on and some birds

Cons: Since it's a fairly new hotel, amenities are still being worked on (like jacuzzi,fitness,business center)....my room had a fridge which made a loud sound every 15-20 min.....shower takes awhile to heat up...one day water stopped working (maintenance?)...Price was relatively high considering it's the low season (I was the only one at the hotel) and some amenities still being worked on...

check out other floors on hotel which have larger seating areas and pool on top floor.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ViaHero1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manuel Antonio, Costa Rica
2 reviews
Reviewed August 23, 2011

Visited this property a couple of times, and great experience with the staff, very helpful and ready to be of service. The style is eclectic, and the only pool in town with a slide and fun for the family. Full amenities, and great location. Glad to have them in town.

Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank costaricadayspa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2011

Just stayed at San Bada, the place is about 50 feet from the entrance of the National Park so location could not be better. Everything was great, rooms spacious, pool mostly kid friendly and the staff went out of their way to help whenever they could. Staff should be commended, so friendly and helpful. It's pouring rain and the staff is handing out umbrellas, stuff like that. This is a brand new hotel that hasn't quite caught on yet, we were actually the only people at the pool for a good deal of the time. My internet rate was $250 per night after 2 kids were added, might be a tad pricey but I guess I'm not sure how much comparable places charge. The whole country seems to almost double your room rate when kids are included in a room, not really that way in the states. Our last 4 nights were in Manuel while the first 4 were in kind of an out of the way spot in Montezuma. Would highly recommend Montezuma, but Manuel was great too. Only thing I would change at hotel is the slide at the pool. Very rough slide, my kids were complaining how the concrete hurt their arms. Entry into water a bit too fast. I guess there is a sign saying the slide is for kids 15 or older, not sure why the hotel would have a slide not catering to younger kids.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruby2626
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dporrascr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

We would like thank you for the great review you posted. As you pointed out we do have a great location, right next to the National Park and a few meters from the beach. Also, we are glad for having the opportunity to show our clients what Hotel San Bada is all about.....service, warm smiles, helpful advice and our ability to sense the need to spoil our guests. About the slide, thank you for your advise, we will work on it in order to fix the problem.

We hope you come back in a near future in order to give you one more experience to remember.

Sincerely,

Your friends at Hotel San Bada!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 19, 2011

We stayed 4 nights here with our family. For visiting the park, it is right next to the park entrance, about 10 seconds to walk from the parking lot gate to the park entrance. The hotel property borders Manuel Antonio Park. Best of all, from the 5th or 6th floor open hallway, you have a great view of the monkeys in the trees inside the park. No neck pain from looking up from the ground in the tall trees. Every day we saw the monkeys (both white faced and howler) playing in the trees. This hotel as is less than a year old and rooms are good sized. Although the rooms face the ocean, the neighboring trees block most of the view. From our rooms on the 4th floor, you have a "peek" of the ocean. We looked at rooms on the 5th floor, which is the top floor for rooms, it is also a "peek" of the ocean in the distance. The 6th floor has a small rooftop pool with nice views and is a nice place to hang out in the lounge area. Wi-fi was spotty in the room however in the sitting area by the elevator there is wi-fi. There is a nice sized pool with a fun water slide. The jacuzzi was never heated while we were there. The room has a small refrigerator which is nice for keeping bottled water cold. Each night they offer turn-down service for your bed, as well as towel exchange. The beach and bus stop is a quick 5 minute walk. There are restaurants, shops and souvenir stalls nearby. To go towards or to Quepos by public bus, it is 50 cents. Next to the hotel is a sushi restaurant on the corner that is run by a Filipino couple. We ate there and thought the food was very good. Teriyaki salmon with rice, pancit noodles, chicken tenders... We found the location very convenient as we went to the park on two mornings. One morning we entered around 9:30am and they closed the gates as they limit the number of visitors. The park entrance fee is $10 (cash only-colones or dollars) per person and if you keep your ticket you may exit and re-enter later that day.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pvcathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dporrascr, Director of Sales at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, we are more than happy to know that you had a wonderful time in our lovely property. As you mentioned in your review all of our guests will have the opportunity to see the animals of the National Park just from their terrace!!

Also, taking advange of your comment about the Sushi, we would like to let you and all the readers know that we will be opening our Sushi Bar during the next weeks, where we will have Sushi Rolls, Nigiri and Sashimi for all of our guests.

Thank you again for all your good comments!!

Looking forward to your next visit,

Hotel San Bada Friends!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
israel
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2011

we stay in this hotel for one night this august. the rooms smell very bad. we ask for another rooms but the smell was also in other rooms. the water was cold!!! and we could not use the tub becouse something broke and they could not fix it. i do not recommend this hotel!!!!
the only good thing about this hotel is the location- just at the entrance to manuel antonio park

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tamiamir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DanteKim, General Manager at Hotel San Bada, responded to this review, September 7, 2011
Thank you for your feedback on your stay at Hotel San Bada. While we are very happy that you pointed out one of the great attributes of our resort such as our location right next to the National Park surrounded by tropical rainforest, we are sad to know that we did not fully meet your expectations in some other areas. Unfortunately, many of the things that you wrote about our hotel are not common for us to hear, the Hotel rooms are brand new and we do not have any complaints before from previous guests about bad smell, it is difficult to know exactly what you refers about bad smell, since the rooms are new the only smell possible is of the new furniture, bed sheets and pillows. We do take seriously every constructive criticism, but in this case it is normal for a new open hotel to have smell of new in the rooms.

Regarding the cold water, please remember that our Resort practice sustainable tourism, reducing the demand of the energy produced by power plants, at this case we use the heat generated by the air conditioning units through a green heat system to heat the water. By this process once you turn on the water it takes around 30 seconds to 1 minute for the water to heat completely.

For our future friends staying at Hotel San Bada we want to kindly remind you that our top priority is, and always has been, the complete satisfaction of our guests. We take great pride in our hotel, and our people and strive to provide a high level of personalized service and will continue to improve anywhere we can.

Once again thank you for your feedback and we hope that on your next visit to Manuel Antonio, you might give us an opportunity to improve on the points you mentioned.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2011

Staying at the San Bada was great. They were very kid friendly and breakfast was free from 7-10 A.M. The service in the hotel was outstanding. On the Costa Rican Mothers' Day they gave a rose to all the mom's staying in the hotel and even called to say "Happy Mothers' Day". I would stay at San Bada again if I were to stay in Manuel Antonio again.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim455
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Manuel Antonio hotels
1.7 mi away
Shana By The Beach, Hotel Residence & Spa
0.1 mi away
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalows
La Posada Private Jungle Bungalo...
#17 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
911 reviews
2.0 mi away
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
Gaia Hotel & Reserve
#3 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Tulemar Resort
Tulemar Resort
#2 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,237 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Si Como No
Hotel Si Como No
#7 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,450 reviews
1.0 mi away
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
Falls Resort at Manuel Antonio
#6 of 46 in Manuel Antonio
1,017 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel San Bada? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel San Bada

Property: Hotel San Bada
Address: Next to Manuel Antonio National Park Entrance | Manuel Antonio Beach, Manuel Antonio 6350, Costa Rica
Location: Costa Rica > Province of Puntarenas > Manuel Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Manuel Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in Manuel Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel San Bada 3.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel San Bada brand new Hotel located right next to Manuel Antonio National Park entrance, and a few steps to Manuel Antonio Beach, Costa Rica.Rooms with National Park jungle and ocean view balconies. Discover the wildlife from your balcony and listen to the ocean. The biggest pool in the area with water slide, waterfalls and a pool bar. A private pool for adults at the terrace, with ocean and jungle view, perfect sunset spot! Our amenities:-Restaurant-Access to the public beach-Pool bar-Power generator in case of electricity shortout-Elevator-Biggest pool-Kids pool-Adults pool with ocean view-Snack Bar-WiFi-Free spacious parking, no driving needed once you are at the resort, everything is in walking distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel San Bada reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel San Bada Costa Rica/Manuel Antonio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing