We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The view, the view, the view!”
Review of El Avion

El Avion
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Large groups, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Boulder, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The view, the view, the view!”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

OMG! You must eat here just for the view. The staff does not rush you, so stay as long as you like. Of course, we visited in slow season, so it might be different if the place is really crowded. Have some arroz con pollo and a margarita and watch as the sun goes down over the Pacific.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Colo_kea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,644 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,355
    1,355
    619
    206
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sloths at sunset”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

Fun restaurant with it's own aeroplane. Great for sunset drinks/ dinner with a great view out over the ocean. We arrived and I was just saying that I really wanted to see a sloth, when one climbed up the tree next to us!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank AmyBurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
longwood
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“seafood galour”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

the food, drinks, service, and views were very good. I had the seafood rice, my wife had the chicken fajitas, and my son had the seafood pasta. all dishes were tasty, and plentiful. you have to see the plane to believe it! it looks like an old C-123 Air Force cargo plane that probably saw plenty of action in the Vietnam War. They have a bar set up inside the cargo space area. Pretty cool stuff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank marcel c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a drink”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

We at there twice while we spent the week in Quepos. This place is definitely worth the stop for a drink, if nothing else. The first night we dined there I had the whole red snapper. Perfectly seasoned and cooked. The second trip was to meet a friend for a cocktail and we had the coconut shrimp appetizer. It was excellent. The views from this place are amazing!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zmatca3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longmont, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
241 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Poor.....at best”
Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner there on our last night in Costa Rica.....what a disappointment. The physical structure of the restaurant is really neat with the plane inside.... Our service was VERY slow and not very friendly. One of us had tuna and it was overcooked and not good at all. We were very disappointed for our last night in CR.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank TribTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Avion also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Avion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing