We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and food to match”
Review of El Avion

El Avion
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
England
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great location and food to match”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Get there for sunset and enjoy the view. I was lucky they had fresh lobster the night we went and my husband had the tuna - both delicious. Staff are attentive. The plane is a piece of history!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlust024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,349
    1,352
    616
    205
    109
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great night out”
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Went with a group. Great drinks, food and service. It's a very cool. Quepos is not a cheap place so I didn't expect a 'value' meal. Portions were great, view is lovely and bathrooms were clean. I'd go back and bring friends. Bonus: an incredible local Jewellery artist was selling her creations near the entrance.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alulalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville SC
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Neat Place ok Service”
Reviewed January 25, 2013

At first glance you know this is a tourist trap, but you really just can't help yourself. The decor of the restaurant is really neat and intriguing. The history of the plane is pretty cool and the way they made it into a bar is amazing. The food is just ok. I had the El Avion rice and it was good but not great. Others in my group enjoyed their food but no one was overly impressed. The service was really my only complaint as it was just not good. Overall, it was just an ok experiance and now that I have been there I am not sure I will return as the are to many great restaurants in the area. If you are just looking for a neat place to have a drink it is worth checking out.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank zwpreston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Foy, Quebec, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“What a sunset”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This place was recommend to us and it met the expectation. The view on the pacific, with the sunset, is just amazing. The food is good and the service as well.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jeff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gulf Breeze, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Eat in the Jungle!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

This place has a wonderful panoramic view of the Pacific and the Rain Forest Jungle -saw a sloth, monkeys and iguanas all in a single sitting. The food was great -Rice & shrimp my favorite-a little pricy -but was worth the expense. The airplane bar & story make this an experience all on it's own! A must do when in Manuel Antonio!

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Deborah621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Avion also viewed

Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to El Avion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing