We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Incredible family vacation”
A covered living area to enjoy your time outside in the warm weather.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A covered living area to enjoy your time outside in the warm weather.
A stunning five level villa build for the amazing views. The master bedroom with ocean views from the private balcony where monkeys will visit balcony.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
50 reviews
A covered living area to enjoy your time outside in the warm weather.
A stunning five level villa build for the amazing views.
The master bedroom with ocean views from the private balcony where monkeys will visit balcony.
Master bath with gorgeous decor and whirlpool tub.
Open-air kitchen and dining room with ocean views
Guest full bath on the main level, one of 6 on the property
View of the ocean and Manuel Antonio National Park from the pool
Beautiful décor of the large master bedroom facing the ocean
Enjoy the ocean breezes underneath the covered sitting area.
Queen bedroom with beautiful decor.
King bedroom on the game/entertainment room level with ocean and jungle views
The master bedroom also has a balcony with some visitors, monkeys that come around
Balcony above the pool and overlooks the Pacific Ocean
Lower-level studio with TV and en-suite bath
Stunning pool with great views.
Game and entertainment room on the 3rd level
The top-level crows nest king bedroom has an en-suite bath and incredible ocean view
Private pool and deck has a BBQ for your group to enjoy a fun place to party
Outside view of the guest casita just steps from the main house
Full bath on the 3rd level with direct access to the king bedroom and game room
The villa is surrounded by a tropical jungle but is close to shopping, restaurants, and the beach
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Manuel Antonio, Province of Puntarenas

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 50 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Spanish first
Any
English first
APRIL S
Smithfield, Utah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
“Incredible family vacation”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We spent 7 days at Casa Samba with our family. It was an incredible experience. The house was amazing and the views were beautiful. The beach was close by and we used the local buses, alot. Our cook Junior was amazing, it was 5 star food every meal we had. We will be going back next year, no complaints at all.

Date of stay: March 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 28, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of your stay at Casa Samba. Junior is the best, we agree! The entire Escape Villas team enjoyed having your group and we are so happy you had a memorable experience in paradise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
katyashwo...
Aurora, Illinois
1 review
“Beautiful home, amazing view!”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

It was an amazing home! We were lucky enough to be surrounded by the beautiful jungle, monkeys, iguanas and the occasional sloth. That made the trip for my 2 kids. Our chef Junior was outstanding, went above and beyond for us. The maid service was the thing I miss the most now that I am back home cleaning up after myself again. The one disappointment was our Host. We saw him one time and didnt hear much from him for the week we were there. Luckily we met some locals who gave us much better information and pointed us to the best adventures and prices in Manuel Antonio!!

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 24, 2017
Thank you so much for your wonderful review of Casa Samba. Your kind comments about the house staff are certainly appreciated as well. We do offer our apologies for your disappointment in the service provided by our host. Escape Villas has always taken great pride in our customer service and any time we let our guests down, we take it very seriously. We have taken steps to ensure our guests are always given the best service in Manuel Antonio. We would love for you to come back someday so we can provide you with the proper service you deserve. We are glad you did have an overall fantastic vacation in paradise!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaptJack3...
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful Vacation Rental with an excellent chef - Choko!”
Reviewed August 7, 2016 for a stay in August 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I recently stayed at Casa Samba in Manuel Antonio for a week with my extended family and had a great time. The house is conveniently located in MA, is beautiful and has a great open air feeling to it with plenty of places to hang out and enjoy the ambiance and incredible view of the beach. Daily visits from the monkeys were always enjoyable and swimming in the pools was a nice relief from the humidity. The monkeys thought so as well as we had Capuchins in the upstairs pool pretty much every day! The common areas were not air conditioned, but he bedrooms were which made sleeping much easier.

The daily housekeeping was done by a very nice lady and we always enjoyed coming back to a cleaned and organized house with the beds made and the towels laundered. I only wish that I had that kind of service at home!

The best part was our Chef, Choko who served up incredible food for breakfast and dinner and took care of us like family. I cannot recommend him enough as he not only was an excellent chef that could make traditional dishes but also took our special requests in stride. Seriously, the highlight of the visit was always figuring out what we were going to eat every day and would end up with meals that looked like they would be served in a 4 star restaurant. He also gave us some excellent recommendations for beaches and other places to go in the area and and when we come back we will ask for him again!

There were only a few things to note for those interested in Casa Samba. As others have said, there are stairs everywhere so if you are traveling with anyone that doesn't do well with stairs this may not be the best place. Also, we took our kids, 2 and 4, and the lack of railings on ledges means that you have to keep a close eye on the little ones, but we knew that going in so it wasn't a deal breaker for us. The only other thing is be prepared for bugs as none of windows or doors are screened and the entire upstairs is open. That is just a part of the CR experience so bring bug spray and don't worry to much about it.

All in all, it was a great place to spend a week in MA and would recommend it to others, just make sure you ask for Choko as the food was outstanding!

Date of stay: August 2016
How helpful were the directions to the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Chef Choko and the Monkeys!
Liked least: Bugs and Stairs
Traveling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 14, 2016
Thanks for the great review. Lots of good info in there! We're glad that you all had such a great time. Chef always makes you feel spoiled! We hope to see you all back here again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenlake...
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Beautiful scenery with great services!”
Reviewed January 11, 2016 for a stay in December 2015

The house had a lot of steppe steps, 55 just to get to house,and another 51 to the top floor. Housekeeping and a chef come with the house,just pay for the food. Our chef Hairo was amazing. Air only in bedrooms,which does not work that well.we own 3 houses ourselves,so we are pickly. The pool needs to be retiled,and some wood rot in main bathroom. The house was clean and beds good.becasuse of no air the refrigerator did not work well.The host Ricky made us feel welcome. On two nights the security team came climing all over the hill and on the patio and said alarm,alarm,but could not speak English. So we had no clue what was going on,scary!

Date of stay: December 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: So many steps
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 18, 2016
Thank you for your comments and review. We are glad you enjoyed the house and staff, both Hairo and Roxinia are a great addition to any stay at Casa Samba. As well as Ricky!

We appreciate the feedback about the issues you had during your stay. We have already retiled the pool, and we have also had our maintenance crew do a maintenance check of all the air conditioners in the house.

The tropical, jungle climate that we live in makes issues like wood rot challenging, but we do our best to keep all of our villas, including Casa Samba, as well maintained as possible. For the security of our guests, we have an alarm system behind the villa and as well guards on duty at night. The alarm system can be sensitive at times to animals and/or tree branches and therefore was activated during your stay. The guard responded when he heard the alarm and therefore went to investigate as to what set it off - nothing serious, just an animal. We apologize if this made your family nervous and we have spoken to our guard about the proper way to handle this situation and as well will be informing our guests about the alarm and the guard´s response to it in the case it is activated.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luso2011
Miami, Florida
1 review
“Relaxation heaven, Pura Vida!”
Reviewed October 29, 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Spectacular views together with nature on every corner. We enjoyed all its amenities, pool,jacuzzi, outside decks,pool table etc. Great house, very central location in Manuel Antonio. Fully equipped, clean & comfy together with an awesome team that provided great service. Want a wildlife show?...all you need to do is sit back on one of the many lounge chairs and watch the monkeys entertain. Show times are early in the morning or late afternoon. To our new friends, Ricky, Fernando, Valerie & Lorena the housekeeper...you guys were great, Thank you!.. We will be back! ...Pura Vida!
ps.... tip for a good monkey show, they love the meat of the coconuts!

Date of stay: October 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peacefulness,view & wildlife
Liked least: humidity
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 2, 2015
Luis,

Thank you so much for the kind words and hope to see back soon in paradise.

Fernando Ray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LiLBrit
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Spectacular Casa Samba!!”
Reviewed August 11, 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The villa had everything our group of 9 could need - 4 adults & 5 teenagers had plenty of space to spread out, enough bathrooms to make everyone happy, bedrooms were comfortable and clean, top deck was wonderful for cocktails at sunset and serious pool competitions and the swimming pool was perfect to cool down. The views were outstanding and the wildlife surrounded us - we loved it! Ricky - villa manager - was knowledgeable and always available, Roxie kept the house spotless - not easy! And Chef Hairo cooked up a wide variety of deliciously fresh meals for us every day. The service could not have been better and we hope to return one day. Thank you for a great trip! Pura Vida!!!

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 13, 2015
What a great review about Casa Samba and all so true! So glad that your family enjoyed the villa and it's beautiful surroundings. As well that our staff helped make your stay a great one. Hope to see you again at Casa Samba or one of our other great villas.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murray W
Quito, Ecuador
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“10 Days in Paradise”
Reviewed April 20, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

A group of 9 of us were in Costa Rica for the Offshore World Championships and chose Casa Samba because of its proximity to the event.

We couldn't have been more pleased with the property. There was absolutely nothing wrong with it. All the rooms were great and Ricky, our concierge gave us all the information we required.

Both pools and all common rooms were beautiful.

We highly recommend using Choco the chef as much as possible. The food he prepared was excellent and was always there when required.
I'd definitely stay at Casa Samba if you're in the Quepos area.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View and chef Choco.
Liked least: All good here.
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 22, 2015
Thanks for the kind words!
Chef Hairo or "Choco" has been a great addition to Casa Samba, we are so pleased he made your week even better!
Hope to see you all again in the future, maybe at the next fishing tournament?!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing