We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Average park for CR standards” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio

Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
$95*
and up
Mulguri Waterfalls Tour and Horseback Riding in Manuel Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Manuel Antonio Costa Rica Nature Tours is a local tour company, located in Manuel Antonio, Central Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. We offer nature adventure tours focus on wildlife observation and nature photography (birding, night walk tours, Rainmaker Park, national park guided walk, waterfall tours, mangrove tours, etc.) Our nature specialists certified tour guides are always iaming to overpass people expectations
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Washington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Average park for CR standards”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

While many here rave about MA, I had a so-so experience. We were there around 9AM, which is considered late for CR standards, especially if you want to see lots of wild life. We saw many Capucin monkeys soon after arrival, and they stayed for another hour or so. While a good guide can point out many more wildlife, we thought MA is not as amazing as other parks such as the private park owned by Si Como No or Cano Negro. The beach is OK, but the water is far from crystaline. Certainly not a place for snorkeling. Other than a family of racoons and a capucin monkey in the Cathedral trail, I did not see much wildlife at the beach. It is still a pretty place of course, and the view is spectacular. I guess my expectation was too high after all the reviews.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank po c c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,633 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,521
    1,220
    606
    192
    94
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The spot for nature and beach lovers”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

Manual Antonio is a beautiful place. The trails are nice, and because of some of the more dangerous wildlife, it's a good idea to stay on them. Because of this, you'll want a guide. The good ones are certified and bring along a telescope so that you can really see the wildlife.

The beaches are also extremely beautiful, and the beaches within the park are much less crowded than the public beach.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Nice beach in a National Park”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

Although the park is one more of all the others in Costa Rica, one big asset is the access to a private beach. Now curious enough there a 3 and the Playa Gemelas is the unknown one :) most people go the the one close to the entry with all the monkeys coming to disturb you.

The outpost is a nice walk with a great view.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Donald D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Minnesota
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Spend some time at the beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013

The water was fantastic. Bring your suit and enjoy. This is also a place where the wildlife gathers, so you get it all. During our short stay, we saw aguanas, raccoons, sloths, and white-faced monkeys.

They have a fresh water shower slightly up the hill.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Myrtle Beach, South Carolina
Level Contributor
74 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Get there early”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

The park is small but very well maintained. The trails were well marked and clean. We arrived when they opened and were able to hike most of the trails before the crowds showed up. There is plenty of wildlife in the morning but sightings slowed down as the crowds increased. This is a nice park with great beaches but get there early.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank pine1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing