We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Enjoyed our visit” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio

Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio
Book In Advance
$55.00*
and up
Manuel Antonio National Park Hiking Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We saw many insects, lizards, capuchins, howlers and a few birds. It's a very easy walk mostly flat surface. The beaches are wonderful and it's worth preparing to stay after the trek.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank PAMRUTH176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,950 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,713
    1,302
    632
    200
    103
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Nice outing - suggest you get there early”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

We arrived at around 7 a.m. and got parking really close which is nice as it's quite a walk in the park to the beach. It was also good to get there early as it got really busy as the day went on. Saw howler monkeys, capuchin monkeys, sloth, deer and baby, the famous Blue Morpho butterflies and others.Great beaches here and some snorkelling. The park is quite nice but the drive thru the streets of Manuel Antonio is really busy even before 7 a.m. The signage to the park is not good but this seems to often be the norm for Costa Rica. One of those things we were glad we did but probably wouldn't do it again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank brendaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
(Mass.)
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Sloths and monkeys and lizards, oh my!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2013

My (39 yr old) son & I had a fabulous time in this well-kept park...WITHOUT an expensive guide. We found from others with guides that all we missed was a lovely tree frog. In fact, we were the FIRST to spot a 2-toed sloth hanging just above our heads on the edge of the beach. Guides called their flocks over to join us :) Watch out for the brazen capuchin monkeys; they WILL grab your glasses! Bring a camera & binoculars. Bring swimming gear and lunch--midway through the park trail is a gorgeous cove with picnic benches. As you enter the park area by car, you will be accosted numerous times to "park here - last chance!" - don't fall for it! Just keep going right to the park entrance and find a lot with a person "protecting" the parking area (worth it for the peace of mind). We left our car there all day with no problems. We had a great inexpensive meal at the Cafe Agua Azul (a Thai restaurant) on the main street.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeckiAndTom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
columbia, sc usa
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Tropical paradise”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Great park. We took the Guided Nature Walk and it was amazing what the guides were able to spot from the colorful insects, to the tree top sloths and monkeys. Well, worth the price of admission and then you end up on the fabulous beaches.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank psand22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Snoozefest!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2013

Three of us decided to go on a girls' day while our husbands fished. We left Los Suenos and headed to Manuel Antonio, stopping on the way to a do a monkey tour, then lunch in Queopos at El Avion. Both of those were wonderful experiences! We had heard the park was a must-see and that we had to get a tour guide. I was initially under the impression that the tour guide was $20 for a group; it was actually $20 per person, on top of the $10 per person entry into the park. Five minutes into the tour, we immediately were regretting it. I think after hanging out with the monkeys on the tour we did before the park, we were expecting more, but seeing lizards and sloths through a telescope just was not doing it for us. We ditched the tour guide and headed straight for the beaches. The beaches were lovely and are the only reason I rated 3 out of 5. Otherwise, a big waste of money, in our opinion.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shannon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Parque Nacional Manuel Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing