We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Informative and personal tour... highly recommend it” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Aguila Tours

Aguila Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Manuel Antonio National Park, Mangrove boat or kayak tours, country birdwatching tours. Here at Aguila Tours we enjoy to share our country nature wonders and teach others about conservation. Juan Luis Brenes
Portland, Oregon
1 review
“Informative and personal tour... highly recommend it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2011

I went on an afternoon tour with the guide Edgar. He was super friendly and knowledgable and the tour was just me and my boyfriend by ourselves. We saw all three types of monkey species and Edgar was great at pointing out many other animals we would have never seen such as colorful spiders and grasshoppers. He also went out of his way to make sure we got the best pictures possible and used our camera with his teleoscope to get amazing close ups. I would highly recommend anyone interested in taking a tour to use this company. Hotels charge at least $45 per person for the same service and we only paid $25 pp, so $50 total for a private tour.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank kandatravelers14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    106
    4
    3
    1
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
83 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed the time with Aguila Tours. Friendly, extremely educated about the area, & FUN!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2011

As we were planning our time in Manuel Antonio, our great trip planner Marina at travelexperta.com recommended that we use Juan Brenes and Aguila Tours. What great service from this company! First tour-kayaking thru the mangroves. We were picked up on time in a nice van, with introductions made and friendly conversation taking place the whole way to the start of the kayaking. We were the only family on this tour-they stopped to get us drinks along the route, made sure everyone had sunscreen, hats, etc. The guide was fun along the way, even stopped at an island where his mother lived, showed us several different fruit trees, fixed us coconuts, star fruit, and mango for us to sample!
Our second tour with them was with Juan on a walking tour through the national park. While our group again was small, only six, there were crowds of sightseers all along the road through the park where we were walking. Juan made sure that our group didn't miss anything-the comments you read about having a guide are really true. You could walk through the park on your own, but you cannot imagine the things you would miss! Juan is such a knowledgeable, professional young man who loves this fabulous area and is gifted in sharing it! We took many wonderful pictures through his telescope and learned so many interesting facts about some of the animals and plants that are so different from what we have at home.
One of the best meals we ate in Manuel Antonio was a a little cafe where they took us after the kayaking tour. Tiny, local, yummy! We were very impressed with our two trips with Juan and Aguila Tours.

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank weeswap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Teaneck, New Jersey
1 review
“Incredible Tour with Unparalleled Personal Attention”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2011

My wife and I received Juan's info from our friend, who highly recommended him - and for good reason. Juan not only took us through a wonderful 3+ hours of sightseeing, he also recommended a fantastic hotel, was flexible with the schedule and even gave us a lot of helpful tips for visiting Costa Rica. He is one of those guys that thinks outside the box and try to go out of his way to make sure you're having a good time. The actual tour was probably the best one we had. He took us through the Manuel Antonio Nat. Park and was so professional and even used our camera to take pics of us and the wildlife we saw. I highly recommend using Juan. He will be very honest with you, make great tour recommendations and will definitely give you your money's worth. Thanks, Juan!!!

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
Thank ecnaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful Experiance, knowledgeable guides”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2011

Thank you Pablo and Juan! If you are looking for a guide you can trust, look no further. Juan and his team are great. During our tour of Manuel Antonio Park, Pablo would say "Stop guys! Look up there!". We would stand, looking around. 300 feet up, in a tree barely visable, is a 3-toed sloth. Eagle-eye Pablo had spotted a wonder example of Costa Rican wildlife. We would have walked right by, missing a great opportunity to view what we were there for.

On the day of our planned Mangrove tour, it was raining a typical "green season" rain in MA. We got to the dock, ready to depart. But Juan decided we would not see anything due to the rain, and rescheduled our trip. There were other guides there that took other tours out. Not us. We went back 2 days later and had a great tour, including a WONDERFUL monkey experience that will live in our children's memories (and ours) forever.

It is nice when you have a good tour. It is GREAT when you make friends with the tour guides in the process. Keep up the good work, Juan!

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
Thank Lisa_S0313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Il
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“The best vacation ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2011

We chose Aguila Tours based on TripAdvisor reviews and absolutely loved it. We took Manuel Antonio National Park and Mangrove boat tours. Our guide was Edgar. He was very knowledgeable with great English. We learn a lot about wildlife and nature. He had telescope and helped us to take pictures through it. During the break at National Park we ate a pineapple that Edgar brought for us. This was the best pineapple I ate in my life. I really recommend these tours.
Juan Luis Brenes. AGUILA TOURS
Cell:(506) 8892-1132
Fax:(506) 2774-0497
USA/Canada:408-668-9369
Website:http://www.aguilatours.com/

Visited March 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aguila Tours also viewed

Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
Manuel Antonio National Park, Province of Puntarenas
 

Been to Aguila Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing